We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a wonderful place to enjoy time with your...”
other travellers have booked this property
Park Farm - Peace and Charm in secluded location - 17th Century luxury farmhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Park Farm - Peace and Charm in secluded location - 17th Century luxury farmhouse
Flagstones, Aga and everything you could need in your dream farmhouse kitchen!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
75 reviews
Park Farm - Peace and Charm in secluded location - 17th Century luxury farmhouse
Flagstones, Aga and everything you could need in your dream farmhouse kitchen!
Kitchen with views up towards the woods
Inglenook fireplace with log burner, flagstones and comfortable sofas
Television/sitting room with excellent selection of DVDs,  toys, books and games
Playroom/TV  room just off sitting room for children, movies, table football and relaxation
Elegant dining room for up to 14 - Wooden floors, Inglenook and log burner, Butlers Pantry for wine!
Dining room elegance
Baby grand piano graces the library sitting room with leather sofas and oak furniture
A fabulous selection of books with hard covers - Fine paintings & Eastern rugs grace the floors
Master Bedroom - oh so much space and leading into huge bathroom/shower room and dressing room
Beams and oak floors with patchwork quilts make for a wonderful attic bedroom (1 king + 2 singles)
Country bedroom promising a good nights sleep
One of the double bedrooms
Log burners - lit before your arrival (in cold weather) so you arrive to a lovely warm house
Utterly sublime huge Master ensuite - walk in shower, claw foot bath and Juliet balcony with view
Relax and take in the view in your clawfooted bath with views up towards the woods!
Another view of Playroom/TV Sitting Room - within a few steps of main sitting room
Kitchen island with oak top for extra preparation space!
Oak ornaments bedeck a beautiful antique Georgian chest of drawers in a bedroom
Kitchen with American fridge freezer, larder cupboards either side and Electric Aga
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Langport, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 75 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
OzPair
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place to enjoy time with your friends in great comfort”
Reviewed 2 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We wanted a large place for a group of 12 friends to just have a fun weekend together and this exceeded our expectations. It was spacious, tastefully decorated, with the wonderful Aga warm kitchen as a place we all seemed to congregate in and then move to sitting room with log fire.

John and Franceska really want you to enjoy yourselves in this lovely home and with gales of laughter at all times from us we certainly did. There was a very welcoming basket of goodies waiting for us and after a tour of all the facilities, corks were popped and we just chilled out.

We managed a couple of walks through the woods for some fresh air but just lovely to return back to the warm home afterwards...we are talking November after all! I think this place would be heaven to stay in any time of the year and would love to return for a summer weekend sometime.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2015
We knew when you arrived that you were going to have a fun weekend as you ware all so positive and being together created such an energy! Thank you for choosing us and remember to look us up when you next want a break as we would truly love to see you all again. It was an utter pleasure.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanlo
2 reviews
“Great house for a great weekend!”
Reviewed 18 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Stayed at Park Farm recently to celebrate my partners 30th birthday with friends and couldn't ask for anything more from this property. It had all the facilities you need, plenty of space, log burners in every reception room, a huge kitchen and loads of outside space which was great for the dogs. The house was in walking distance to the village and had many different walking routes around the country side. I would highly recommend this place to rent! We will definitely be visiting again.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2015
Thank you for your Review of Park Farm. The house seems to be very popular as a house for larger groups and again came into its own over the weekend you were here. Come down again if you would like another weekend away! Warmest wishes to you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethan H
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing country get away, in a beautiful setting, with wonderful hosts.”
Reviewed 17 November 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I would thoroughly recommend staying at Park Farm. The farmhouse is wonderfully charming and in an idyllic setting. We stayed here for my friend's hen do and we had a fantastic time. We hired a hot tub, did a live model drawing class and visited a local vineyard. The grounds were stunning and we enjoyed sitting outside having a BBQ. Franceska and John were incredibly helpful and went above and beyond to make our stay one to remember. We can't wait to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful, peaceful setting.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2015
Thank you so much for this review. It was our pleasure having you all to stay and we are so glad the hot tubs worked out so well. We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy R
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent facilities and location for a holiday for an extended family”
Reviewed 4 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

A family party of 15, we had a wonderful week staying at the Farm and Gardener’s Cottage. The facilities for children of all ages were excellent - the four children in our group entertained themselves for much of the time either inside or outside in the fine garden with its swings, tennis court, extensive lawns and even a ride on tractor for the two year old! We also had a couple of very pleasant short walks in the adjoining woods. The spacious accommodation was very much appreciated: cozy woodburners in three rooms, a generous-sized, very attractive kitchen which became a gathering place for the clan, and plenty of space in the other large rooms for all members of the family to ‘do their own thing’. The location is also excellent: we visited Glastonbury Tor, two National Trust Houses (several are close by) and the Fleet Air Museum. The owners were very helpful and we were made welcome from the word ‘go’!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and facilities
Liked least: The Aga tooke some time to get used to
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2014
We were delighted to have the house filled with such a happy and energetic family. It brought us much pleasure to see the various facilities used so well and we were pleased to hear that you managed to visit some of the local places of interest. We do hope to see you all again next year when our new property at "Riverside" will be up and running (on the other side of the Levels)! Many thanks again for this generous review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday_R...
Somerton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Perfect Venue for a Wedding or Family Gathering”
Reviewed 9 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Our daughter wanted a very different kind of wedding. This required a wood for the ceremony itself, a large level lawn for a marquee and caterer's tent, a large comfortable house for immediate family and very close friends, space for outside entertaining and parking for up to 100 guests. Oh yes and it also had to have beautiful countryside views of the county of Somerset where she had grown up. It also needed flexible and amenable owners who could cope cheerfully with any last minute changes to plans!

In Park Farm we found all this and more! The 17th century farmhouse is just stunning. It is well equipped and spacious with beautifully decorated rooms for family groups or groups of friends. The principal bedroom ensuite bathroom and dressing room was just perfect of the bride and her bridesmaids on the morning of our family wedding. Three delightful sitting rooms - though we had amazing weather and didn't require the log burners with a limitless supply of logs! The courtyard area ideal for welcoming guests, eating al fresco or just relaxing. The croquet lawn with its wide countryside view perfect for the serving of canapés and family games on the morning after! The walk to the wood and it's clearing just a magical experience. (See other reviews and owners web site for BBQs and walks in the woods).

Finally the owners! If the house itself is just about perfect the owners, John and Franceska are just such lovely people. They really do go the extra mile to make you welcome and for us the use of the four wheel drive to move items back and forth to the clearing and making items available from their eclectic collection of old farm items added an extra element when combined with the wedding flowers.

As you can tell from this review we have had the most memorable wedding - one declared by many of the guests "Just the best wedding we have ever been to."

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything - impossible to single out any one thing!
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2014
Thank you for this wonderful review. It was our absolute pleasure to have such a lovely family here over the weekend of this very special occasion - your daughter's wedding. You & your family and friends, were all a joy to have around. It was such fun to see items such as the old dog cart and tin bath (ice bucket) being used in the marquee, along with other props such as the old trunks and suitcases filled with dressing up clothes which were a hoot! All the beautiful decorations and the effort and energy put in by family and friends to make the marquee, gardens and woods just perfect were a tribute to you all. It was truly magical to behold. The house seemed to hum with joy at being so thoroughly enjoyed and the happy couple could not have looked happier! The sun shining must surely have been the cherry on the cake! Thank you so much for choosing Park Farm. We wish the newly weds much happiness together and all the best for the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
myhollyda...
london
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house in a magical setting”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed at Park Farm for a week in June with our family and friends. The house and surrounding area are simply stunning. The house has a lovely feel to it and we settled in straight away. The scenery is second to none, beautiful woods with ancient paths that lead to the village of Pitney that has a fantastic pub and farm shop. Franceska and John made us feel very welcome with a lovely welcome pack full of treats and info on the local area whenever we needed it. There's a mini electric tractor that our daughter loved playing on and John let her eat strawberries from the vegetable patch (maybe a few too many!). It really is idyllic country life. We can't wait to go back again next year. Thank you so much John and Franceska for creating such a wonderful place.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2014
Thank you for your review. It was very good to know that you felt at home straight away and had such an enjoyable visit. We enjoyed meeting you all and look forward to a seeing you all again. Very best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
natsnotts
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Absolutely Idyllic”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We arrived at the house to be greeted by the owner who gave us a thorough tour. The owners were truly lovely and were very welcoming. They left us a few treats and left us to it leaving their contact details in case we needed anything. The bedrooms and bathrooms were amazing and even better than they looked in the pictures. There was so much room and so many different rooms with antiques and real charm. We spent a long weekend there for a civilised hen do and played all sorts of games and explored the beautiful gardens and grounds. We had such an amazing time here and will definitely return for other events with family. I would definitely recommend to anyone as it was so easy to organise and it was an incredible house and occasion.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gardens and grounds
Liked least: The internet connection wasn't very good
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2014
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Park Farm. The house comes to life when families and friends walk through the door and it is a great joy to see the happiness that a few days together can bring. We hope we will see you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing