We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic!!! Can't recommend enough!”
other travellers have booked this property
Park Farm - Peace and Charm in secluded location - 17th Century luxury farmhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Park Farm - Peace and Charm in secluded location - 17th Century luxury farmhouse
Flagstones, Aga and everything you could need in your dream farmhouse kitchen!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
75 reviews
Park Farm - Peace and Charm in secluded location - 17th Century luxury farmhouse
Flagstones, Aga and everything you could need in your dream farmhouse kitchen!
Kitchen with views up towards the woods
Inglenook fireplace with log burner, flagstones and comfortable sofas
Television/sitting room with excellent selection of DVDs,  toys, books and games
Playroom/TV  room just off sitting room for children, movies, table football and relaxation
Elegant dining room for up to 14 - Wooden floors, Inglenook and log burner, Butlers Pantry for wine!
Dining room elegance
Baby grand piano graces the library sitting room with leather sofas and oak furniture
A fabulous selection of books with hard covers - Fine paintings & Eastern rugs grace the floors
Master Bedroom - oh so much space and leading into huge bathroom/shower room and dressing room
Beams and oak floors with patchwork quilts make for a wonderful attic bedroom (1 king + 2 singles)
Country bedroom promising a good nights sleep
One of the double bedrooms
Log burners - lit before your arrival (in cold weather) so you arrive to a lovely warm house
Utterly sublime huge Master ensuite - walk in shower, claw foot bath and Juliet balcony with view
Relax and take in the view in your clawfooted bath with views up towards the woods!
Another view of Playroom/TV Sitting Room - within a few steps of main sitting room
Kitchen island with oak top for extra preparation space!
Oak ornaments bedeck a beautiful antique Georgian chest of drawers in a bedroom
Kitchen with American fridge freezer, larder cupboards either side and Electric Aga
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Langport, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 75 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
beth608
Surrey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic!!! Can't recommend enough!”
Reviewed 7 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Franceska and John were absolutely fantastic from our first enquiry onwards! They were so friendly and helpful and the house was gorgeous! Really spacious, comfortable and homely. I stayed here with my bridesmaids, their partners and one little dog for my wedding weekend and the house was perfect - even more beautiful in real life than in the photos! Everyone commented on how lovely it was! We were made to feel so welcome and John even drove my father and I to the wedding in his classic car!
Thank you so much for helping to make our weekend so special!!! Xxx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The customer service was fantastic - Franceska and John were both so helpful!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2016
It was lovely to have you with us Beth and we were honoured that you chose Park Farm to be the base from which you got married. John very much enjoyed driving you to your wedding and we are delighted that the house lived up to your expectations and more! We both wish you all the very best for your exciting new Married Life and hope that you may one day return! Thank you very much for such a glowing Review! It was a real pleasure. Warmest regards Franceska and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte...
1 review
“Perfect Venue for a Big Event”
Reviewed 17 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

12 of us stayed at Park Farm for 2 nights for my sister's Hen Party. From before we went. From the moment I enquired about availability Franceska was superb, offering all sorts of helpful advice, ideas for in-house caters and events for the party.

On arrival the house was stunning, with plenty of room for all of us to sleep and enjoy ourselves. John and Emma showed us round and then left us to enjoy our weekend, with the promise that if we needed anything at all, all we had to do was shout. The grounds are huge and the croquet provided great entertainment. Bedrooms are lovely country themed rooms, and the bathroom for the master bedroom is absolutely gorgeous.

I would highly recommend this venue for big groups looking for a peaceful, countryside weekend with space to enjoy themselves.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning location
Liked least: The wi-fi is a bit intermittent
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2016
Thank you very much Charlotte for your lovely review. It was a pleasure having you all to stay and we were so pleased that everything worked out so well over the weekend. Your group were a joy to host and the house seemed to work absolutely perfectly for you. We really enjoy meeting our guests and your positive feedback is very much appreciated. We would love to see you all back here again in the future and wish your sister a wonderful wedding and fulfilling and happy married life. All the very best from all the team here at Park Farm.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bettybc12...
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional accommodation for a large group”
Reviewed 21 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We visited Park Farm as part of a family celebration and it could not have been more perfect. It's beautifully furnished and Francisca and John have thought of absolutely everything - it really is a home away from home, even down to the play room with children books.
There are a number of different living areas which makes it brilliant for a large group of mixed ages, as everyone can do different things if they want to. The grounds and location are just stunning, and there was more exploring to be done than we could fit into a weekend.

How easy was it to book the property?
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for your Review which we very much appreciate. It is lovely to see large families congregating and enjoying the farmhouse and gardens and it looked like your laser clay pigeon shoot was a great success! We very much hope you will all come again. Best wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie S
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed 9 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

An amazing week at Park Farm. The owners Franceska and John were so welcoming and made it feel like home. The house is so spacious with plenty of living and sleeping room for everyone. It was fantastic to have a dining table we could all sit around comfortably for meals. We visited as part of my 50th birthday celebrations and it was a perfect location for our whole family. We loved the peaceful location and the children (ranging from 8-18) loved the freedom and space. Can't think of one negative thing to say - we will definitely be returning!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gailhollo...
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So good we didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed 8 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We found this fabulous house just perfect to celebrate a special birthday. John and Franceska made us so welcome and couldn't have done more to make our stay perfect.
The house is beautifully maintained and is so homely, we settled in so well none of wanted to leave. The children were completely safe to run around the grounds and enjoy the tennis court, swings etc. The dogs had a great time running free and meeting 'Churchill' John and Franceska 's dog.
The house was so big we could be together or have quite space . The dinning room is fab, we had all 13 of us around the table for dinner, such a treat. Cooking on the Aga was new to us, but we loved it, expert tuition from John..... (Invented in Sweden by a blind engineer 1922 )

Thank you for such a wonderful week, an annual trip is now on the cards!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character and room in the house
Liked least: Can't fault it!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katpb2016
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful Weekend”
Reviewed 7 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Franceska and John couldn't have been more friendly, welcoming and accommodating. We were 12 adults and 5 (under 2s) babies and there was plenty of space. The house is just incredible with spectacular views of countryside and woodland for miles and miles. We sat by the fire; all ate around the huge dining table; played pool; sang around the grand piano; walked to the local pub through wild flower filled woodland; played garden games on the croquet lawn. All this was topped with comfortable beds and fluffy white towels not to mention the most magnificent master suit with roll top bath overlooking the views! We will certainly be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enny011
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Suited our needs perfectly”
Reviewed 16 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We booked this for a large family gathering which was a surprise for my mother's 70th birthday. We made several enquiries to properties but from the moment we made an initial enquiry we decided on this place due to Franceska’s warm responses, it was evident this was a family home “loaned” to others and a labour of love. The booking procedure was very easy and Franceska gave us a recommendation for Figs Catering and The Devonshire Arms - both absolutely excellent and we would use both again. Also sorted out the hot tub booking which added that Je ne sais quois.
The house itself is just lovely, has enough rooms that people could take time out or as some of our party had to do – work :-( . On our arrival we were met by John who gave us the tour and what a fabulous character, again making sure everything was in order for us and ensuring we knew all the quirks of the house – ghosts and all..!!!! The master suite is stunning and my mother felt like royalty staying in it.
The dining room easily seats 12 and the table is incredible, made from reclaimed floorboards by John.
We chose this location as many of our family are local to the area and on the Saturday we had the rest of them over during the day for a BBQ 20 in total with 4 children under 10, they loved the toys and ride ons, but were beside themselves when John took them off in his mini tractor through the woods, we could hear the laughter back at the house, it made their day instead of having to be on their best behaviour with all the grown ups.
Sunday night chilled and movie night in the snug, big enough for us all to relax and a very cosy room.
The house is absolutely pitch black at night and very quiet, great for a relaxing break, not so great when you wake up in the middle of the night in the attic and need to go downstairs…. This caused much hilarity the next day at my expense.
We were also very lucky to see a barn owl every day out hunting in the paddock behind - what a beautiful sight swooping low and then surveying from the fence.
The walk through the woods starts very steeply so not suitable for those who have difficulty walking, but it was fine for us.
Overall everyone loved the house and thought Franceska and John were the perfect hosts available if needed but not intrusive and left us to our own devices.
Highly recommended. And we have all discussed a return trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The family feel, and little touches like books / games
Liked least: Getting stuck in the attic in the dark ;-)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2016
Dear Kat, Thank you so much for your kind words. We so enjoyed having you all with us and are so glad that all the arrangements and recommendations worked out so well. I'm sure Amanda of Figs Catering in Somerton will also be thrilled! I am delighted that your Mother felt like Royalty in the Master Bedroom and that the house provided such a great backdrop for a happy family weekend and such an important occasion. It was so nice to hear the children enjoying themselves playing tennis and games and the peels of laughter were just lovely to hear! We very much hope you will return and you can be assured of a very warm welcome. Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful summary of your weekend which we both really appreciate. Our very best wishes to you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing