We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Studio Farrows

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Langport, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
natalie_h...
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Could have been better.”
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I went away to Studio Farrows for 3 nights with 7 other friends. The Studio only had beds for 6 of us, but we didn't mind, and ran it past the owner before we booked it if it would be okay to have 8 people stay and she agreed. The day before we set off to the Studio, I called the owner to double check everything was okay with the Studio and if we needed to bring any extra towels/ bedding etc as we only expected her to provide for 6 of us as that was the amount of beds there. On the phone I was told the Studio was fine and that it was set for our arrival the next day. When my friends and I turned up at the Studio, we discovered the oven was broken, after buying food on the way down, thinking we'd be able to cook it by the time we got there as we were all starving. According to the owner, the oven WAS broken before our arrival, and she expected the new one she had ordered to have arrived by the time we got there, but somehow she forget to mention this on the phone the night before when I called asking if everything was okay. Considering my friends and I had paid for the Self Catering option, we expected to have a working oven, as that was what we had paid for. Subsequently we had to go out for dinner that night, and also could not cook the food we brought that night until the next evening, when we used the owners oven in her house, nor could we cook breakfast the next morning. After 2 days without a working oven, the owner gave us the broken oven on our last day, saying we could use it, just that it if we did we need to make sure we unplug it from the socket as the two hobs on the top of it remain hot even if you switch it off at the socket so you need to fully unplug the appliance. THIS was the reason we received for the oven being broken. So on our last night we managed to use the oven, discovering that actually we could have used it all along throughout our stay.

Not only this, do not be fooled. The Studio seems like, from the pictures, that it is an independent building, away from the owners, when in fact it is a stones throw away from their house. Throughout our stay, my friends and I felt like we were constantly being watched, and because we are Students, we felt the owner automatically felt we would damage the place, when we left the property in a fit and tidy state with not an ounce of damage.

As much as the owners seemed to be nice to us, we got vibes that they didn't want us there, yet we behaved in a perfectly respectable manner, treating the Studio well as we knew it was an extension of the owners home, with artwork and sculptures the family had collected. The Studio itself is a beautiful place, but our stay was rather disappointing, as my friends and I felt like the owners took advantage of the fact we didn't have an oven, when it actually worked fine, thinking that as we are students it doesn't matter how our stay is. Like I have previously said, the Studio is stunning, but we weren't allowed much privacy and we felt we could not fully relax throughout our stay. I would recommend this place for families or friends in a group smaller than 6.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBJB2012
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place to stay”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This is such a lovely place to stay. So different to everywhere else we have ever been to that I am not sure anywhere else will compare now. We stayed with our 2 kids (3 and 8) for 1 week and could not have been happier. The owners are so lovely and friendly and really do make you feel very welcome (really enjoyed my chats with them). The studio itself is just divine. So creative and inspiring, and has so much soul. Perfect if you love to lose yourself in a good book or dream up something fabulous. We had friends and family come to stay with us and enjoyed long lazy BBQs, watching the kids play in the beautiful garden while we all chilled out listening to good tunes and enjoyed a few drinks. Simply heaven. Don't think we could top this holiday. We came home relaxed, happy and full of energy. The very nearby swimming pool (excellent) and brilliant playground area made it a great base for kids too - not to mention the rabbits which my kids fell in love with. Langport is lovely and a trip to Glastonbury Tor is a must. Simply, if you book Studio Farrows, you won't be disappointed. I want to go back now.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KayteBu
Henley on Thames
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed 26 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Just returned from a long weekend with girlfriends, who all agreed the website, fab as it is, still does not do Studio Farrows justice. This is a beautiful, creative and peaceful place inside and out. I cannot recommend highly enough and we will be back!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianaDia
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just lovely!”
Reviewed 5 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Perfect getaway for the weekend with friends. Tracy the owner is gracious, helpful, and kind. She provides a delicious breakfast and warm setting and inviting grounds.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The beds and artwork!
Liked least: No cooking available, but bbq outside if you would like
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beingsara...
London
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Refreshing, relaxing and inspiring!”
Reviewed 2 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

I've just returned from a weekend at Studio Farrows with some close girlfriends. We thought that it looked fabulous on the website and we were not disappointed. You won't find anywhere like this again in a hurry! It's spacious, comfortable and gorgeous, reflecting the creative originality of its artist owners, Tracey and Paul. There are feasts for the eye in every nook and cranny and we left determined to inject some of its lovely eclecticism into our own homes. Aside from the look of the studio, some big pluses were the relaxed and friendly hospitality from Tracey, the super-comfortable beds, the generosity of the space we had to ourselves, and the fact that we were able to enjoy the lovely breakfast provided by Tracey whilst still in our pyjamas. In the immortal words of Arnie, we'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its utter originality
Liked least: Having to go home.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alig481
Oakley, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quirky and quiet”
Reviewed 16 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Studio Farrows was perfect for our requirements which combined a small family reunion and a visit to Somerset for a family party. The Studio was very clean, comfortable and plenty of room to spread our selves out. The log fire made it wonderful and cosy. The owners were very friendly and helpful. The only criticism we had was the cooking facilities were not ideal although we managed due to a bit of forward planning. Overall we all agreed we would like to return at a later date.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriWD
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way.”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I hesitate to write this review as I don't want the world to know about our great find! What a lovely lovely place. It's in a semi-rural location on the Somerset Levels. Beautiful countryside around for walks and picnics and easy access to the coast and Glastonbury. The accommodation was amazing; so much attention to detail with original art work and quirky touches all over the place. We were greeted by our lovely host Tracey who brought us warm focaccia and wine to revive us after our long drive. My favourite part was sitting on the verandah looking down the garden and at night looking at the amazing stars whilst sitting by the fire. We picked salad and fruit from the garden at Tracey's invitation. Our bedroom opened out onto the garden which was perfect for tea in bed. Lovely products in the bathroom too. I can't recommend this place highly enough; we will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting on the verandah by the fire.
Liked least: Intermittent wi-fi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing