We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, great service, bit noisy”
Review of Devonshire Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Devonshire Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Langport
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Lovely location, great service, bit noisy”
Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a Sunday night. Lovely location, fab room, very friendly service, great food in restaurant downstairs, big breakfast.

We were in room 1. One note of caution if you book this room. It's directly above the kitchens so quite noisy until the kitchens closed at 11pm (and a vague whiff of cabbage too ;-)) though no noise in the morning when they were preparing Bfast luckily.

Though the room has a huge bathroom with lovely big bath.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markpilks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    66
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
80
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We live quite near to the Devonshire Arms and consider it as a real treat to dine or lunch there. The Sunday lunch is always wonderful - important things like hot plates, beautifully tender meat, lashings of excellent gravy and extra pork crackling (if you ask nicely) make each and every visit a wonderful experience. I haven't stayed in the rooms, but know of family of friends who will stay nowhere else in the area. Dinner is yet another festival of flavour and everything so fresh and appetizing. The wines are always good and the staff - well I don't know where they come from but they are inevitably charming young people with good attitudes, friendly dispositions and have obviously had great training as they never forget anything and treat you with respectful yet approachable professionalism. Well done Devonshire Arms - keep changing the menu and keep impressing us and we will keep coming back! Oh one more thing, in the summer you can sit outside and eat wonderful salads and sip gorgeous wine at the back in the courtyard or in the front. Never been disappointed! Even had my 40th there (though a few years back now). Try it!

Room Tip: Views over the village green may be worth picking! I gather the breakfast is good too from friends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franky53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

A lot here is very well done - decor, food, friendly efficient service. So it was a real pity to find the ridiculous shower-room in bedroom 5. It is in a tiny cupboard of a space, you can't stand straight in front of the pathetic miniature basin because the loo pan is in the way, there is no shaver plug, and the water volume in the shower is mean.

All so unnecessary - a lot of work has been put into the high-quality of everything else here, and the bedroom could have been reduced in size to allow something more comfortable.

Oh and while I'm thinking of our room, the bedside lights were for effect and inadequate for reading, there was no waste-paper basket, and the television was ridiculously oversized.

This is really a fine restaurant with overnight rooms rather than a hotel. There is no space set aside for staying guests to relax and read comfortably and quietly with good light, just a space for four in front of the restaurant fire.

Room Tip: Check the bathroom! Ask for a room overlooking the village green .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 61MarkH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

This was a by chance stop for dinner and so glad we did, the duck was so tender and the bream was a dream.

The puddings trio of which I had to stop myself from licking the last bit from the bowls! the waiters just perfect knew the menu and where it all came from ( the marmalade icecream was a great surprise,) will be back there again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We are still talking about our fantastic meal at The Devonshire Arms. The food was delicious, and the only reason that we've given a '4' rather than a '5' rating is because we were abandoned straight after we were shown to our table and had to wait ages to order a drink let alone get one! We would have happily had a glass of wine while perusing the menu, so the Devonshire would probably have sold an extra bottle of wine had they been a bit more attentive. This was our only gripe, don't let it put you off if you're thinking of going.

We ordered a nice but not over the top red wine and the waitress asked if we would like it to be decanted. We took her up on her offer.

My partner's duck pate starter was 'magnificent'. Three of us had lamb as main course, one friend had duck, all delicious.The puddings - trio of crème brulée, treacle tart with vanilla ice cream and chocolate fondant were all fantastic.

We can't wait to go back, but will order wine at the bar before we go to our table!

Room Tip: Sorry, accidentally ticked 'sleep quality' and don't know how to delete it. We didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guernseygirl357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iver, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We stayed just one night at the Devonshire Arms. We were given a superb large room with a spotless, excellent bathroom. Very comfortable and relaxing. We enjoyed both our evening meal, great choice of local produce which was beautifully presented and breakfast which was quiet with a good choice and met our needs. The staff were both friendly and helpful.
We had no problem with noise, perhaps because the property was not busy.
It was a totally relaxing stay and we would, most certainly go back. We were recommended DA by someone who lives quite locally.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COLIN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I have stayed here with my work on a number of occasions now and would recommend the Devonshire Arms to anyone. The accommodation is of a very high standard with recently refitted bathrooms, comfortable beds and is spotlessly clean. The food is excellent and the cooked breakfasts in particular are very good with high quality ingredients used. The evening menu is of a high standard and excellent, as is the beer. The service is good, with friendly and polite staff and nothing seems too much trouble.

I will continue to happily stay here any time I am in the area.

Room Tip: Room 6 is the best, but they're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonWrenHoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langport
3.0 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
250 reviews
8.0 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
354 reviews
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Yeovil Podimore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Unicorn Hotel
The Unicorn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Somerton
61 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Hollies Hotel
The Hollies Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martock
367 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Masons Arms
The Masons Arms
#1 of 1 in Odcombe
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire Arms

Property: Devonshire Arms
Address: Long Sutton, Langport TA10 9LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Langport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Langport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Devonshire Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Devonshire Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Arms Langport, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing