We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Devonshire Arms
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveller rating
121
75
17
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
121
75
17
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvillage greenlambmain coursepatethe pubbirthday meallocal producesunday lunchlong suttonspacious roomstarters and mainsribeyeexcellent restaurantguinea fowlsmall villagesuperb foodgreat atmosphere
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 215 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The Devonshire Arms is located in a really nice setting in the village of Long Sutton. The big stone building on the village green oozes history, but the setting inside is modern and really well decorated.

We enjoyed a drink in the garden area out the back and then ate a delicious meal inside. The staff were all friendly and efficient and the room we were in (room 6) was clean, modern and offered a great view overlooking the green.

The shower was good and there was a big deep bath which neither of us tried. Breakfast was an excellent full English as well as fruit, cereal, yoghurt etc.

Overall a great stay.

Room Tip: Room 6 had a great view onto the village green.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxdeg44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We wanted somewhere to break up a long journey and found this hotel from TA reviews. First impressions were very good - the place has been tastefully modernised but it still has some soul. Our large double room overlooked the village green and had contemporary furnishings. The food (we had both dinner and breakfast here) were excellent - locally sourced produce, even local beers and cider from the village itself. The menu is imaginative and covers all tastes. A well chosen wine list too. The staff were casual but friendly.
My only one (small) complaint was that the bathroom seemed to be rather at odds with the rest of the place, e.g. towels weren't luxuriously fluffy or large and the decor wasn't well finished. However, a small price to pay for an otherwise perfect start to our holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsTHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

Charming gastropub/hotel in a beautiful, small Somerset village. Friendly welcome from the staff. Rooms out the back, by the courtyard, were private and newly decorated. Everywhere spotless. Good breakfast with great local produce. I was pleased NOT to see an overly-extensive range of superfluous breakfast items, which only encourage wastage.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonMuseo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We dropped in for lunch on spec, having always liked the look of the building. It exceeded our expectations in envy sense. Clearly the owners have invested a lot in the hotel and the lovely gardens. The service was excellent, the was a good choice on the menu of locally sourced food with a good price range.

We had the homemad burger and a chargrilled beef open sandwich, both of which were excellent. We'd go back like a shot!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cheddar_Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

Hotel was perfect great modern rooms , great service and staff wonderful food , great location , near to Glastonbury and all near to somerset wouid stay again. It was beyond lovely top hotel .this hotel is family run the staff worked very hard .

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahLouisej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews