We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Bavarian guest house”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gasthof Zur Post

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gasthof Zur Post
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Unterfohring
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice Bavarian guest house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

This cozy little hotel offers no luxury but everything you need in good quality and with a distinctly Bavarian touch. Plus, for Munich, it is reasonably prized. The room (No. 1), not Bavarian-style, has obviously been renovated not too long ago. Beds were good, shower was excellent and the water hot. Breakfast is served in the Bavarian-style restaurant: cold cuts, cheese, jam, fruit, several kinds of rolls, boiled eggs (you can ask for scrambled eggs which are freshly made). Dinner is available Monday through Friday. Good Bavarian food. If you crave a salad with your dinner, you have to order it separately (the green side salad is fresher than a mixed one). The restaurant also includes a little beergarden.
If you plan on sight-seeing, the hotel is located less than 10 minutes walking distance from an S-Bahn stop. The train runs every 20 minutes to the city center and the airport. There is also a bus stop maybe 50 meters from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Screenname1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    18
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
7
Solo
0
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

My friend and I spent our last two nights in Germany here. We wanted somewhere close to the airport (for us to fly out), also with parking, and close to transit into the city though. We stumbled across this and did not regret it!

First of all, it was easy to find. Very quiet neighborhood. Close to the S-bahn stop going into downtown Munich. The hotel itself I found so charming. The halls and lobby areas were all decorated with a great collection of framed art. The dining area was super charming too. The room itself was decent. Nothing to scream about, but it was clean and quiet. Great prices too.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heatherct_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcliff on Sea Essex
Level Contributor
124 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

We booked this hotel for a trip to see Chelsea play (and win) in Munich for the Champion's League final. anticipating, correctly that the city centre hotels would be full or expensive, we opted for gasthof Zur Post in Unterfohring in the northern suburbs of Munich. It was fairly basic but the service was excellent and friendly and the rooms clean and serviceable. The breakfast was excellent and for 75 euro per night for a twin including breakfast it was fantastic value. If you're on a budget and fancy a trip to Munich then stay here; the station for the S line train service is a 7-10 minute walk away and the journey is 20 minutes into central Munich so hardly an inconvenience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
72 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2009

Some rooms are new, some are bit old. But all rooms are good cleaned. And breakfast ist very good. No Wlan.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ApALex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unterfohring
0.0 mi away
Hotel Lechnerhof
Hotel Lechnerhof
#3 of 6 in Unterfohring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel am Medienpark
Comfort Hotel am Medienpark
#1 of 6 in Unterfohring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel The K Munich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Gasthof zum Gockl
#6 of 6 in Unterfohring
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
2.3 mi away
Super 8 Munich City North
Super 8 Munich City North
#157 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
1.1 mi away
SportScheck Hotel
SportScheck Hotel
#5 of 6 in Unterfohring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Zur Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Zur Post

Property: Gasthof Zur Post
Address: Muenchner Str. 79, 85774 Unterfohring, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Unterfohring
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Unterfohring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthof Zur Post 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Gasthof Zur Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing