We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bit of a shambles” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Somma Lombardo
Hull
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bit of a shambles”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Where to start with this?

We arrived at the airport train station and made our way to the terminal to get the free shuttle. There was no sign of it anywhere. The airport info desk gave wrong info and the number on the booking confirmation was for a different hotel. even the Holiday Inn website gave no info on where to get the shuttle from.

Anyway we finally got to the hotel (thanks Crowne Plaza Malpensa) to check in. This was total chaos, caused by the check in process taking so long for each individual booking. When we finally got to our room there was only one bed and no sofa bed so we went back to request a change. We go the change and went to the new room which was perfectly fine, before heading out for tea. On returning from tea the room key had stopped working, so another trip to reception was needed.

On a positive note the breakfast was good, the beds comfy and it was cheap. I forgot to mention the air con didn't work either.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gsk82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salvatore M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear guest good afternoon,

we apologize for any inconvenience during your stay.

For the future, We kindly suggest you to contact our Hotel before your arrival in order to have the best support and updated information about our shuttle service.

We would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel.

Best regards.

Salvatore Giuseppe Mazzola
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    680
    250
    73
    38
See reviews for
374
512
103
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belmar, New Jersey
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

If you have an early flight and need to return your rental car with a full tank ,this would be the perfect location for you. The hotel was a bit hard to find at night. The hotel feels like a by the airport hotel but they still managed to give it the warmth and inviting feeling that made the difference, modern look. The staff was wonderful (as a general rule wherever they spoke English we were happy lol ) helpful, patient, friendly, accommodating, The room was very clean, the beds was just amazing plush but just right (if you love a really firm mattress you might wanna reconsider), updated business style design, hardwood floors, pretty spacious, quiet. Free WIFI and Breakfast is included. Breakfast was OK the coffee was fantastic though! great value

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharonytweety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

we stayed at this hotel twice .. very near to airport and the rooms are ok and will equipped , A/C is running perfect and staff are very cooperative although they are very busy all the time due to continues check in and out of travelers but special thanks for Melina at the front desk for the help she offer by answering any question ... i wish they offer more choices at breakfast .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ahmed_m111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
487 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

The hotel is a great value for Italy. Well appointed rooms. Spacious and what you would expect from a Holiday Inn Express in the US. The surrounding area is nice for a stroll and has some good restaurants. Check In and Check Out went well - no issues. Breakfast was not to my liking, but overall a nice stay. Would stay here again if arriving or leaving from Milan Airport and needed an overnight.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bbbob84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Staff General 3 Star
Room 3 Star - Clean - View - arrived to late to see
Surroundings 4 - near the airport for that purpose
Internet 5
Bath 3 -
Convenience 4 - Airport Shuttle is NOT Free, even though it was sold to us that way

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELKgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValentinaBrambilla, Proprietario at Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear ELKGroup,
thank you for staying with us during your last travel. We always try to offer the best service, and we are delighted to know that your general opinion about your stay is positive. We would like to specify that our shuttle bus is free from 6.00 o'clock in the morning till 23.50 in the night. It is on payment only during few hours in the night and this is clearly written on our website. We hope to welcome you once again in the future. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KY
Level Contributor
134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

This property is convenient to the airport and it does offer a shuttle to and from the airport, but good luck accessing the shuttle from the airport. The van is not parked where the airports indicate the vans will be parked, when arriving you have no idea as to the schedule of the shuttle and we were unable to have the property answer phone calls from the airport concerning the shuttle.
Taxi to the property was 15 euros.
The property is clean, neat and well maintained. The bar is open 24 hours. The breakfast is a wonderful combination of European and North American foods.
The neighborhood the property is located in filled with vacant homes, boarded up vacant homes, with a B and B and a small Albergo in the mix.
This property is a sister property with a close by Crown Inn. It is a four minute walk to the sister property which we took to eat dinner. It was an odd walking experience, walking through this vacant neighborhood.
The internet. Upon checkin you are provided a password that is good for only one hour of use. It was the fastest internet we had had during our two week Italy vacation, but it was also the most restrictive.
Bottom line. Cheap clean place to stay while awaking a flight out of Milan.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pegrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Room great and very clean but far away from any other markets or shops, you cant walk to the airport as it is far away, we ended up taking taxi for 18 euros as the bus starts at 6:00 am . Very clean room and helpful staff

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yusr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somma Lombardo
0.8 mi away
MOXY Milan Malpensa Airport
MOXY Milan Malpensa Airport
#2 of 10 in Somma Lombardo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Milan Malpensa Airport Hotel & Conference Centre
0.3 mi away
First Hotel Malpensa
First Hotel Malpensa
#1 of 10 in Somma Lombardo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport
0.2 mi away
Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa
Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa
#3 of 10 in Somma Lombardo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport
Address: Via Francesco de Pinedo | Case Nuove, 21019 Somma Lombardo, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Somma Lombardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Somma Lombardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport, the closest hotel to the Terminals.Located only 500m from the Milan Malpensa International Airport, the hotel represents the ideal place to either meet for work or relax after a long journey.Take advantage of our complimentary shuttle service to/from Terminal 1 of the airport available on a scheduled basis, and to/from Terminal 2 on request. Alternatively the airport offers a 24h free shuttle between Terminal 1 and Terminal 2 with a bus stop just 200m from the hotel.The brand new Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport combines contemporary style, comfort and convenience thus representing the smartest choice for travellers attentive to value for money. Start your day on a good note with a reinvigorating power shower experience and a complimentary extensive buffet breakfast.Modern technology and fresh look are the strengths of the brand new Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport hotel which offers 124 comfortable bedrooms all equipped with soundproof windows, WiFi internet connection and wooden floor. Ample public areas designed with lively colours and refined materials are available to our guests who will be able to surf the internet by using the dedicated internet points or by simply connecting to the wireless net.Complete the offer free parking facilities and a meeting room able to host up to 40 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport Hotel Somma Lombardo
Holiday Inn Express Somma Lombardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing