We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Somma Lombardo
Reviewed 20 July 2014

You don't expect much from an airport hotel, but this one did not meet a basic requirement which is the ability to check in for a flight and print a boarding pass. There is one computer in the lobby which was so slow that even with staff intervention check in was not possible. They are also very stingy with wi-fi, a real deficiency. I was given a handicapped accessible room (not by my choice), which may explain the strange bathroom arrangement in which the shower had a cheap, unappealing plastic curtain, and the only soap dispenser was labeled "For hands body and hair". Yuck!. To be fair, unlike the experience of other reviewers the shuttle to the airport worked well during my stay, and at least some of the staff (Vanessa in particular) tried hard to be helpful. A disappointing end to an Italian trip.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michael393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salvatore M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for submitting your comment.
We are sorry for the technological inconvenience you have reported to us. We are confident that our staff was pleased to help you with printing boarding pass directly in our back office printer.
When the hotel is fully booked, our disable rooms are assigned as standard rooms. We are aware that this room type obviously has special equipments, but we trust that these feautures do not compromise the comfort of the guests who stay there.
As per Holiday Inn Express standard of service, the courtesy line provides basic amenities and is composed by good quality and multi purpose products, in order to limit waste and help environment.
We are glad you appreciated our shuttle service that we are trying to make it even more efficient for our guests.
We hope you will soon have the opportunity to have a more positive experience with our country and our Hotel.

Kind regards,
Francesca Brasolin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,591)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

422 - 428 of 1,591 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

Any other accommodation near Malpensa would be better than this. They told me by phone that their bus ran every half hour. When we arrived, they told us it would be 50 minutes before they got there.The room was bare-bones: no closet, no bedstand or light on one side of the bed. Worst of all, though most guests do not come by car, and they are not within sight of anyplace to walk to, yet they have no restaurant! For wi-fi they give you 5 minutes free and then charge you. The perfect conclusion to our stay was when we were leaving I noticed a scale in the lobby conveniently located so that you could weigh your luggage before heading to the airport. They charged a euro to use it.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ilmagnific0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salvatore M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Guest,
thanks for having shared your comments with us.
We would like to give you some clarifications regarding the problems you reported to us.
Our shuttle bus has a fixed timetable in order to guarantee a wide coverage during day and night. It runs every half an hour in rush hours (early morning and evening), and every hour during the central part of the day. The timetable is available in our website, we usually send it attached in our confirmation letter. I suppose that you did not specificy your arrival time, so the front desk staff gave you a partial information regarding the timetable. We are sorry about it and we will try to explain at the best for the future to all guests.
Holiday Inn Express offers convenience and value by offering everything your travelers need and nothing they don’t. The concept and brand identity it’s fresh, easy, smart, very appreciated all over the world. In our website all these features are explained by a rich photogallery and a complete list of rooms features and services offered. Our rooms are equipped, among others, with an open closet, lights built into the headboard of the bed, little bedside table, double glazed windows providing a perfect sound abatement for a good rest, workdesk, parquet flooring. Holiday Inn Express standard doesn’t provide a restaurant inside the hotel, but we offer a snack bar available 24hours with quick and light snacks accompanied by a wide choice of international soft drinks, wines and beers.
One hour Internet access is available complimentary to all our guests to remain always connected. In addition in the lobby at guests disposal 2 internet stations are available.
Regarding your last point, the lugguage weight is an additional service, the usage is on charge and it is clearly stated on it. Guests can decide to use it simply inserting coins.
We hope to have fully and clearly answered to your comments.

Kind regards,
Francesca Brasolin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Our first problem was getting there. We called the hotel who told us to get the free shuttle in 5 mind from outside the pharmacy. So we stood there for over an hour phoned the hotel 3 times to then be told it's now too late you can't get the shuttle! We tried to get a taxi but the taxi drivers refused to take us as it is such a short journey. We didn't walk as it was pit pitch black and we had no idea whe re we were going. We eventually figured out the free bus that runs between terminal 1 and 2 stopped near the hotel but we had to walk up an alley in the dark - I don't recommend!! We also missed the stop and had to come back on the bus!

Once we got there, there was no apology. The man on reception was pleasant enough he gave us free wifi as it was already 1am.

The room itself is fine for a pit stop at airport, clean linen and a clean bathroom. Breakfast wasn't very good with rubbery scrambled eggs and ham and cheese. Left a lot to be desired.

An average hotel at an airport you get what you pay for!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Smsox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salvatore M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We regret to read that you experienced difficulties to reach the hotel with our shuttle. Transfer service to/from the airport is active throughout the day and night at shedules times.
We might not have been not able to understand and act in a prompt and adequate manner to your needs and we sincerely apologize for that.
We are pleased to read you enjoyed the cleanliness of our room and bathroom, while we regret that the breakfast was not up to your expectations, in fact we try every day to please our guests, offering a wide range of breakfast products. Because of the subjectivity of tastes, there is no doubt that we are not always able to satisfy everyone equally, even in basic preparations there are many variations in way of cooking and consistency.
Daily we concentrate our efforts in taking distance from the definition of “average hotel”, offering comfortable hospitality, courtesy and professionalism. Hopefully it keeps getting better.
Hoping to welcome you in the future, we thank you once again.

Kind regards,
Francesca Brasolin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

we stayed one night at this hotel upon our arrival to milano late at night.
the hotel was very nice, welcoming staff and service, clean rooms !
would go there again!!!
the staff at the front desk were very nice!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abigail a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salvatore M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for sending us your enthusiastic comment!
We are really happy in hearing that your stay with us matched your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your future trips.
Kind regards,

Francesca Brasolin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

To make it clear, the mention "average" refers only to the accomodation part of our stay. Our room was clean, basic but comfortable for one night, even if the soundproofing could have been better.

Regarding the breakfast (included in the price), do yourself a favor: skip it and go elsewhere. This should have been the worst breakfast we ever had in the most depressive room ever. Bread, coffee, orange juice, croissants, all as tired and bad-looking as the waiter in charge. I’m pretty sure that even the personnel of the hotel would rather have breakfast at home than eating something in this hotel.

Last point: the hotel location is a bit remote, so make sure your GPS is working.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PHV009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salvatore M, Direttore at Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear guest good afternoon,

we apologize if our choice of breakfast was less than your expectations.

Our breakfast includes 2 types of cakes, croissants, 3 kinds of bread, juices, coffee, cappuccino, latte, yogurt, fresh fruit, scrambled eggs and more.

We would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel.

Best regards.

Salvatore Giuseppe Mazzola
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel provides adequate accommodations for travelers flying through Milan. Upon arrival, there were no signs for the hotel, in the terminal.
After searching for upwards up a half hour, I found the bus station, for the hotel connection. Buses run hourly, which is less than ideal for those arriving after a long flight.

The room was comfortable enough, but, even with the window closed, I could hear hear jets departing Malpensa.

All in all, this hotel is sufficient for a one-night stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank a_drouault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salvatore M, Direttore at Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear guest good afternoon,

we would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel.

It is nice to hear from you that room was confortable.

Regarding our shuttle bus we suggest everybody to contact the hotel before arriving so that we can send the shuttle time table with all the instructions how to achieve our hotel and because in some rush hours bus run every 30 minutes.

Best regards.

Salvatore Giuseppe Mazzola
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed our last night in Italy in the Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport. Once we finally found the hotel, which was a bit challenging (be sure and call the hotel for an exact address if you are using a GPS system), we found the room to be large, clean and with a large bathroom. It was an American-style hotel, conveniently located only about 7 minutes from the airport via the complimentary shuttle bus, which ran frequently and on time. Free wifi was limited.
The breakfast which came included was more extensive than expected, including eggs, ham, cheeses, cereals, breads, fresh fruit, juices, coffee/cappuccino, etc. A good hotel for coming into or leaving the country by way of Milan.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somma Lombardo
0.8 mi away
MOXY Milan Malpensa Airport
MOXY Milan Malpensa Airport
#2 of 9 in Somma Lombardo
1,489 reviews
0.3 mi away
First Hotel Malpensa
First Hotel Malpensa
#1 of 9 in Somma Lombardo
1,220 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Milan Malpensa Airport Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa
Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa
#4 of 9 in Somma Lombardo
969 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport

Address: Via Francesco de Pinedo | Case Nuove, 21019 Somma Lombardo, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Somma Lombardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Somma Lombardo
Price Range: £46 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport, the closest hotel to the Terminals.Located only 500m from the Milan Malpensa International Airport, the hotel represents the ideal place to either meet for work or relax after a long journey.Take advantage of our complimentary shuttle service to/from Terminal 1 of the airport available on a scheduled basis, and to/from Terminal 2 on request. Alternatively the airport offers a 24h free shuttle between Terminal 1 and Terminal 2 with a bus stop just 200m from the hotel.The brand new Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport combines contemporary style, comfort and convenience thus representing the smartest choice for travellers attentive to value for money. Start your day on a good note with a reinvigorating power shower experience and a complimentary extensive buffet breakfast.Modern technology and fresh look are the strengths of the brand new Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport hotel which offers 124 comfortable bedrooms all equipped with soundproof windows, WiFi internet connection and wooden floor. Ample public areas designed with lively colours and refined materials are available to our guests who will be able to surf the internet by using the dedicated internet points or by simply connecting to the wireless net.Complete the offer free parking facilities and a meeting room able to host up to 40 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport Hotel Somma Lombardo
Holiday Inn Express Somma Lombardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing