We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unusually unsatisfactory for Holiday Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Somma Lombardo
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Unusually unsatisfactory for Holiday Inn”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed here with my family overnight whilst we waited for our flight. Usually, Holiday Inn rooms are fine for overnight stays whilst waiting for a flight but this was highly unsatisfactory. We arrived in the evening and, since it was raining heavily, opted not to walk down the unlit road to find the pizzeria round the corner. Instead, we ate at the hotel. I ordered a basic cheese pizza, but service was slow and when my pizza arrived it was cold and overcooked. It made me feel highly sick, and half way through the night I ended up being ill.

The room itself was ok, though the bed was hard and the covers weren't thick enough. I accept I visited in July, but it would be nice to have a few more covers in case it's cold, like it was when I visited.

Breakfast the following morning was unsatisfactory. Everything looked and tasted unappetizing, so in the end I ended up just buying breakfast at the Airport instead.

Whilst the shuttle bus to the airport was free, that was the only good thing about it. Firstly, the bus was late upon arrival, which was stressed me out since we had a flight to make and being on time to an airport it key. Secondly, there weren't enough spaces on the bus, which resulted in the bus driver getting off the bus and yelling at all of us, before forcing a family with kids who didn't have a flight to catch get off. In the end, there was room for the family but they missed the bus due to the unorganisation of everything. If there was a proper system to the bus, then it wouldn't have been so hectic. The actual bus itself smelt stale and was damp. The he driver was angry and drove so recklessly that I had to hold on to the handles. I felt uncomfortable with him driving. He was rude when we got off the bus - didn't help us with the luggage, and walked away as we tried to say thank you. If I had to travel through Milan Malpensa again I would stay elsewhere.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Freya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Freya H,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I’m very sorry to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    709
    256
    75
    40
See reviews for
390
533
105
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birkirkara, Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We only spent one night in this hotel while we were on our way to Desenzano del Garda. We arrived in Malpensa at 2am and phoned the hotel for the shuttle service. We didn't wait for long. for the bus to arrive. Rooms very clean and spacious. Quite happy with the customer service and breakfast was good too. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

I always stay at this hotel before my departure from Milan-Malpensa airport. The rooms are awesome and price/quality plus the location are just stunning. I'll always come back here to spend the night before my departure from Italy.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank JMorales80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beograd,Srbija
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The location is fantastic, 5 minutes from the airport .
I stayed with my family in this hotel 2 nights,the first and the last night of our journey.
We arrived late at night,so we used free bus between terminals (station CASE NOUVE).
The staffs is friendly and the check-in is fast.
Room was very clean, spacious and modern.
Free wifi.
Breakfast is very good.
We would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzana_Bata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
233 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I BOOKED THIS hotel for 2 nights and even loosing money I stayed only one.

Mold in bathroom, dirt is the room, dirt towels, very bad neighbourhod, etc.

The hotel did not refund my money, as this was the fare. This seens to be a trap, you arrive at the hotel and check that this is a very bad place and leave after the 1st night.

Beds were sagging.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MF018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear MF018,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please accept our sincerest apology for the issues you had with your room accommodations. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. We want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. We have sent you a private message to obtain some additional details. Thank you for staying and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Landed late at night and it was dark, would have struggled to find without sat nav, but fortunately had waze on phone and arrived within 10 minutes of leaving airport.
Rooms clean, food ok, only gripe the beds a little hard for my taste, but overall would use again as so convenient.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stuart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herzliya, Israel
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel 2 nights: first night and last night of our tour in Italy
The hotel is very clean, spacious and modern rooms
The staff were polite and helpful
There's a free shuttle from the hotel to the Terminal in both directions
Breakfast is very good for Italian standards
Excellent noise insulation
This is highly recommended hotel for those who need to be near the airport
excellent value for money

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david130566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somma Lombardo
0.8 mi away
MOXY Milan Malpensa Airport
MOXY Milan Malpensa Airport
#2 of 10 in Somma Lombardo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Milan Malpensa Airport Hotel & Conference Centre
0.3 mi away
First Hotel Malpensa
First Hotel Malpensa
#1 of 10 in Somma Lombardo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport
0.2 mi away
Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Cervo
Hotel Ristorante Cervo
#6 of 10 in Somma Lombardo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport
Address: Via Francesco de Pinedo | Case Nuove, 21019 Somma Lombardo, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Somma Lombardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Somma Lombardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport, the closest hotel to the Terminals.Located only 500m from the Milan Malpensa International Airport, the hotel represents the ideal place to either meet for work or relax after a long journey.Take advantage of our complimentary shuttle service to/from Terminal 1 of the airport available on a scheduled basis, and to/from Terminal 2 on request. Alternatively the airport offers a 24h free shuttle between Terminal 1 and Terminal 2 with a bus stop just 200m from the hotel.The brand new Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport combines contemporary style, comfort and convenience thus representing the smartest choice for travellers attentive to value for money. Start your day on a good note with a reinvigorating power shower experience and a complimentary extensive buffet breakfast.Modern technology and fresh look are the strengths of the brand new Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport hotel which offers 124 comfortable bedrooms all equipped with soundproof windows, WiFi internet connection and wooden floor. Ample public areas designed with lively colours and refined materials are available to our guests who will be able to surf the internet by using the dedicated internet points or by simply connecting to the wireless net.Complete the offer free parking facilities and a meeting room able to host up to 40 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport Hotel Somma Lombardo
Holiday Inn Express Somma Lombardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing