We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Somma Lombardo
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is rubbish. Service is horrid it's expensive the food tastes like paper the staff is rude. If I burned what I paid for the room to keep me warm as I slept on the street id be much happier. Do not stay here stay anywhere else

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Joel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,750)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

337 - 343 of 1,750 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

The Hotel Idea was a good idea which suffers from execution. The grounds are unkempt, the fountain is full of algae, the staff appears to do you a favor by allowing you to stay overnight, the walls in the rooms are scuffed and the veneer on the furnishings is pulling away. The shuttle from the terminal runs on a schedule, and if you arrive midday (between 11 am and 6 pm), you have to take a cab. The room is clean and so is the bathroom (but we had to ask for soap). The included breakfast is very good. Internet is free only in the lobby, where they offer keyboards on which the letters have been mostly worn off and computers with seriously outdated programs. One of the best things about this hotel is that is close to a very nice local restaurant (Sanmarcanda, rated separately) where you can enjoy a nice meal and friendly service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geifried09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This hotel is really good… They deserve very high marks. Rooms, breakfast, service – all is good. Nice people at the front desk ( you are lucky if you meet there Michele or Ennio!).But…
You must be prepared for some unusual trick. The hotel is good – it's one story, but to be sure I am right on that you must get to the hotel from the airport Malpensa. When you read info on the hotel's (or all the others) site you see very comforting words : they have got an airport shuttle. One more BUT: when you book your flight check the time you land at Malpensa, because actually the hotel's airport shuttle works ONLY till 10:30 in the morning and after 6 PM in the evening. It was my experience in May 2014 (room 201).
Try your best to be in Malpensa in the morning or after 6 PM. If you can't make it there is one more problem. The only transportation to the hotel is a taxi cab. The distance is about 3 miles (or 5 km), but sly local taxi drivers know «the shuttle trick» and they will be happy to bring you to the Idea Hotel just for… 60 or 70 euros. Which is more than a rip off.
So, if you want to stay at the decent and very good Idea Hotel, please make a good home work and get there when their shuutle is in service.
alftul

Room Tip: as for me all the rooms are good because of a nice aura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alftul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I read some comments about the hotel being within a walking distance to Malpensa! well it's not the case.It stated that you have free internet access but that is only in the lobby and only on the 3desktops they have.The wifi is very costly,especially that I booked that hotel to get some sleep before my next tiring flight. Not worth to pay 7euro for 2hours use! no free water available and every thing in the minibar is overpriced.The room walls were stained.I enjoyed the shower though and had a quiet few hours sleep.My advice is to book this hotel just to get some rest don't expect anything else.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ktnayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is probably the closest hotel you can find nearby to both Terminals of Malpensa Airport, except the expensive one located just in front of the hub.
You'll get 7 minutes sharp by car from the hotel to the Terminal 1; they offer also a cheap and convenient "airport taxi service" to go to the airport in case you don't have your car or decide to leave it there.
It is ideal for those who need to stay overnight not far from the hub.
Booking service, checkout and reception desk were excellent and the room was clean and fine.
According to my experience, everything but the noise was ok.
My room was located in fact on the front side of the hotel and every hour the bell of the next-to-the-hotel church woke me up.
What is more, the street ground was not firm and loud every time one car was passing.
My personal advise is asking for one room located on the back side to the reception and not to forget to carry ear caps with you.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kea75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

A client booked my into a suite at this dump. He actually told me he stayed here and it was "nice". Upon arrival, there had to be 20 people ahead of me in line, with one besieged desk clerk on duty.

When I got to the front of the line, it took him at least 7 minutes to find my prepaid reservation. I headed up to my "suite" only to find a minuscule room with two double beds. I went back downstairs- he said, "oh, sorry". Went back up to the same type of room this time with a king bed. Oh well, I said, it's only for the night. Went to log onto the internet-, had to go back down for the password, and a 7 Euro charge PER DEVICE for 24 hours. Came back upstairs to work a little and was sweating. Each time I put the A/C on, it shut off. Back down to the front desk I went, only to find out the A/C is controlled wholly by them, NOT by the controller in your room.

The bed and pillows are rock hard, and the walls are totally stained and dirty. The room though was clean enough, except maybe for the large cockroach that greeted me upon my return from dinner. Oh, about dinner, don't eat in the overpriced restaurant in the hotel. Right outside the hotel is a very decent local pizzeria, frequented by locals..it was fine..but much better than the hotel.

When I came back to my room, (and the cockroach greeting), it was freezing. I had to go back down to the front desk, wait ten minutes for their next line to clear, to tell them to make it warmer in there.

There has to be a reason this hotel is rated #7 of 7 in this town. If I were you, pay 10Euro more and stay elsewhere. Next time, I will for sure.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the airport side where I am- Church bells ring every hour and you hear the planes tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sockster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We came in a group and decided that it made more sence to take the cab instead of wait for that shuttle. When you fill a car with 4 people, €15 is not too bad.
Good room, decent breakfast. They serve dinner. The computers in the lobby have keys without letters, all worn away. That is really stupid.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somma Lombardo
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport
1.1 mi away
MOXY Milan Malpensa Airport
MOXY Milan Malpensa Airport
#2 of 9 in Somma Lombardo
1,504 reviews
0.2 mi away
First Hotel Malpensa
First Hotel Malpensa
#1 of 9 in Somma Lombardo
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Milan Malpensa Airport Hotel & Conference Centre
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa
Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa
#4 of 9 in Somma Lombardo
979 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Cervo
Hotel Ristorante Cervo
#6 of 9 in Somma Lombardo
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport

Address: Via Della Chiesa, 27 | Fraz. Case Nuove, 21019 Somma Lombardo, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Somma Lombardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Somma Lombardo
Price Range: £40 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing