We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced-misleading photos”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Somma Lombardo
Western Springs, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced-misleading photos”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

The photos on their website make the hotel seem far more luxurious than it really is. You also have to pay 7euro for crappy wifi PER DEVICE! The accommodations are okay, the staff is not helpful (had to call 3 times for the air conditioning to be turned on and it never was...after having to switch rooms because it wasn't working in the other room) I know you can charge more for an airport hotel but the only positive thing is the shuttle to the airport.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Molly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    529
    416
    245
    220
See reviews for
462
471
123
269
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I booked a night in this hotel after having to unexpectedly stay over night in Milan. I had a 6 am flight the next day from Malpensa so I was looking for something close to the airport and with free transfer.
There transfer from the airport to the hotel only leaves one time an hour after 6 pm and when O tried to get a taxi I was told that the fee was 15 Euros (notwithstanding the fact that it's 1 km away from the airport). When I did my check in and tried to book a spot on the 5 am transfer to the airport I was told it was full and that I would have to get a taxi instead (the hotel told me it would be 15 Euros again but when the taxi driver drop me at the airport he charged me 20 euros due to the time it was -not sure if I was ripped or it is actually like that-).
According to their website I was expecting to have free wifi in the hotel but there isn´t. You have to pay 7 euros for 24h or use one of the three computers they have in the lobby which are VERY SLOW (it took me 30min to manage to attach my boarding pass to an email to send it to the hotel for printing).
The room I got was ok (room 411) with two double beds and a decent size bathroom. The only problem was that the AC was on and I didm´t manage to turn it off or increase the temperature of the room… One nice thing is that they gave me a little breakfast bag since I left before breakfast time started (5 am).
I guess that for a one night emergency stay next to the airport is ok but nothing else.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Korphe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristianstad, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Restaurant dinner was terrible, courses ranged from bland and tasteless to uncooked and inedible. The "free drinks voucher" from check-in was half a small glass of watered down juice. Coffee tasted as if the machine is in desperate need of cleaning.

Room interior was worn down, edges of furniture chipped away, broken window, curtains not hung properly, poor and visible repairs in bathroom, loud fan which cannot be turned off, walls were absolutely filthy, no shower curtain, a string switch in bathroom which didn't seem to be for anything.


Internet is €7 per device, although free access is offered at 3 computers in the lobby, these see a lot of traffic and are seldom accessible.

Church bells ring every half an hour, throughout the night.

Breakfast was average.

On the plus side there were loads of tv channels.

Shuttle service was on time.

Also strange, it seems like the entire area was boarded up suddenly, very strange.

Room Tip: Just find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Min_the_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Somma Lombardo hotels

Limassol, Cyprus
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Ask the receptionist to advice you how you can get to airport by bus. Walk approximately 10-15 minutes and take the bus for free. It stops you at terminal 2.
Very clean and restfully rooms. However, if you choose to book at this hotel you should consider first the time of your flight because there is a timetable for the bus shuffle.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Constantinos1p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Have to agree with the general consensus on this hotel, it lacks in nearly every area.

We chose a room because it could accommodate three people close to Malpensa airport at reasonable cost....but certainly wouldn't recommend this establishment for anybody expecting "normal" hotel standards.

The location is four and half kilometres from Terminal one, the best deal is twenty five Euro by taxi each way or risk the "morning" shuttle bus service.
As others have mentioned the bus runs in the morning and late afternoon only, possibly following on the traditional Italian custom of afternoon siesta.

There are no alternative food options other than the hotel itself as it is located away from any services, and do not have high expectations of breakfast.

The unnecessarily noisey bell tower at the front serves no real purpose other than an aesthetic addition to a small residential/semi-industrial area. Request a room on the opposite side if you wish to sleep before midnight.
The hotel reception staff are generally quite unfriendly, the whole facility is poor maintained, from filthy seats in the hotel lobby, badly marked walls, dirty floors, and this before you open the hotel room.
The shower head water outlets were so badly calcified, the water was blasting horizontally into the walls and would pool in the shower base due to hair and soap scum in the drain.
Broken light fittings, a power point coming out of the wall, holes in the badly marked walls, but perhaps the most memorable thing was......no mattress protectors, just a sheet on top of the mattress!
The double glazed window would not seal correctly at the top due to a broken fitting, so although away from the bell tower noise, the delivery guys at three in the morning could be heard extremely well.
As previously mentioned the air-conditioning is controlled from the front desk?! The previous control mechanism is still in the wall, not working, but apparently guests can't be trusted to make their own decisions on this matter?

This facility is more back-packer accomodation than hotel.

Room Tip: Opposite side to bell tower, check to make sure the window actually seals correctly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mal555tas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Tempted to say it is a cheap hotel but at E70 plus mini bar at E10 it is not low cost. Wifi Is an extra E7 plus a daily fee for parking. Free Shuttle bus to/from Malpensa works as promised. Breakfast is included and is adequate but it is one of those where you need to keep your eyes peeled on the serving lady as some trays are empty which she eventually refills and then are promptly emptied. Rooms are clean but beat up. Bed ok. Noise not a problem. Bathroom fine and large flat screen tv in front of bed works once you figure out how to turn it on. Has English channels. There must be something better at Maplensa but this hotel is ok for an over nite at airport. But do not look forward to going back.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Cyclists1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is rubbish. Service is horrid it's expensive the food tastes like paper the staff is rude. If I burned what I paid for the room to keep me warm as I slept on the street id be much happier. Do not stay here stay anywhere else

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Joel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somma Lombardo
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport
1.1 mi away
MOXY Milan Malpensa Airport
MOXY Milan Malpensa Airport
#2 of 9 in Somma Lombardo
1,348 reviews
0.2 mi away
First Hotel Malpensa
First Hotel Malpensa
#1 of 9 in Somma Lombardo
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Milan Malpensa Airport Hotel & Conference Centre
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Malpensa
Hotel Villa Malpensa
#1 of 1 in Vizzola Ticino
301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport

Property: Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport
Address: Via Della Chiesa, 27 | Fraz. Case Nuove, 21019 Somma Lombardo, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Somma Lombardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Somma Lombardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing