We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of First Hotel Malpensa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
First Hotel Malpensa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Somma Lombardo
Certificate of Excellence
tucson
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

This is an excellent hotel, run very efficiently, very close to Malpensa. All staff were very friendly and helpful. You can get ice at the bar downstairs. The shuttle is very convenient, during the hours they operate, for a 5 minute ride to the airport for the trains/buses into Milan. We got a last minute deal, but the value offered by this hotel (compared to others near the airport) is outstanding. Quiet, safe, comfortable. The free breakfast was great. Good free wifi.

The only thing I didn't like was that the management has blocked customers from using the TV as a monitor. We couldn't watch movies from my laptop, and there were not many English speaking channels. Overall, this was a minor negative. Highly recommend this property for a no hassle stay near Malpensa airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rvcarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    382
    136
    29
    19
See reviews for
152
447
89
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Had a short night here, hotel is close to airport.
the room was very nice.
the restaurant not. lamchops too rare, no salt and pepper, neither any on the table.
potato means 2 slices of potate. vegetables something like 20 grams.
The Tiramisu was terrible. Any supermarket sells better. synthetic taste.
advise:
take a rest in the hotel, don't take the food. the big M is better

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bevelsborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

I just stayed one night so that I could catch my flight in morning. We were three people in total.

Since we do not have a car, we went to the airport first and try to find our way to the hotel. And it was the worst idea ever. The taxi would not take us the hotel since it is too close. At last, we took a shuttle bus from the airport to the Case Nuove area and we walked like 25mins at late night to find our way. The hotel was in such a bad location that we could not find it. After the help of local restaurant, we finally arrived. If you are not planning to drive your car there, please do not choose this hotel.

The service was nice, the staff are helpful and can communicate with english. I ordered juice in very late night, they still could serve me what I want. The breakfast was buffet style which was very ok. The basic amenities were provided.

Room Tip: Please drive your car if you choose this hotel Basic amenities like shampoo, shower gel and glasses...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yautung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raanana
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Booked via booking .com the day before. Immediate confirmation and response to request for information.
The hotel was only 5 minutes drive from airport and well signposted.
No shortage of parking
Pleasant reception and comfortable room : good size . Quiet and restful.
The hotel restaurant looked fine and the menu seemed varied at reasonable prices . We preferred to go out for a walk and the staff mentioned that the only pub in the village also served meals. We appreciate their honesty since they didn't put pressure to use their restaurant .
We didn't need an early breakfast and I can't remember the exact time but I remember thinking that it was possible to have breakfast earlier than in most hotels .Useful if you have an early flight
Happy with our choice

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dtsraanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
w0rldtraveller-360
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

It's definitely just for an overnight stay just to be close to the airport if you have an early morning flight.
We were waiting 40 minutes for the hotel shuttle to pick us up (we were told 10- 15 min). Once we got to the reception one of the women behind the desk (the blond one with a bad dye job), was kind of sarcastic and we ended up with a room on the main floor at the back looking into the parked cars. Kind of depressing but it's an overnight so .... Who cares .
The wifi was slow but worked. The breakfast was ok . The rest of the staff was very nice.
I really wanted to stay at the Sheraton which is the only hotel inside the airport but it's not fully finished and was sold out.
I will try it next time.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank w0rldtraveller-360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Well located airport hotel for Milan Malpensa. Efficient return shuttle service (phone for shuttle on arrival at terminal). Comfortable accommodation, quality bedding, spacious rooms, overall boutique atmosphere. Pleasant outside terrace area. Staff were friendly and efficient which is a big plus. Breakfast only adequate, but sufficient. Area around hotel fairly uninspiring so you would only stay for airport access convenience. Rates reasonable when we booked. Recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms on one side of hotel face a busy road and traffic noise can be heard, if this matters to you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davestan12016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

First Hotel Malpensa is in many ways a typical airport hotel - close to the terminal with a basic range of convenience focussed facilities. However, the quality of service on offer at reception makes it stand out from the host of alternatives in the neighbourhood. Nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel very welcome by the front desk staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HairyMcClairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somma Lombardo
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport
1.1 mi away
MOXY Milan Malpensa Airport
MOXY Milan Malpensa Airport
#2 of 10 in Somma Lombardo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Milan Malpensa Airport Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport
0.2 mi away
Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa
Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa
#3 of 10 in Somma Lombardo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Malpensa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Malpensa

Property: First Hotel Malpensa
Address: Via Francesco Baracca 34 | Case Nuove, 21019 Somma Lombardo, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Somma Lombardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Somma Lombardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel Malpensa 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
. An independent hotel where the guest is the focus of our attention.Only 1 km away from Milan's International Airport "Malpensa", we provide a shuttle service between 4:30 am and 01:00 am.Our wireless connection service covers all areas of the building; free use are included with bookings. All rooms, completely soundproof, are under constant and accurate revision to ensure best possible comfort for our guests. The restaurant is at the guests' services with its different, internationally inspired menus.The bar service offers a little menu and its support to those wishing for a snack, even at late night. Two meeting halls offer room for assemblies, job interviews etc. It will be our pleasure to try and fulfill any further or particular wishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, LoveHolidays and Hotels.com so you can book your First Hotel Malpensa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Malpensa
First Hotel Somma Lombardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing