We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
First Hotel Malpensa
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Somma Lombardo
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Just what we needed”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed here the night before our flight back to the states. It was a perfect choice, just a short hop to MXP. We also took the train into Milan the day before we left, and the shuttle got us to the airport and picked us up without incident. Good breakfast, clean room, helpful desk people. This is not a "charming" hotel, but it is an excellent choice for someone waiting to fly out of Milan.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolverine73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    521
    405
    141
    31
    20
See reviews for
161
475
97
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Our flight from Malpensa airport left early in the morning, so we chose the First Hotel as an overnight stop; it did not disappoint. The rooms were neat and clean and the staff friendly and helpful. The wifi was good (but did go down twice). Breakfast is 10 EUR, otherwise American coffee and biscuits for free.

The town around the hotel is mostly desolate (almost eerily so), but there is a good restaurant (slightly expensive) right next to the hotel for dinner. If one crosses the traffic light next to the hotel and continues straight, you reach a canal and next to it a river with a beautiful meandering pathway, ideal for an evening stroll (you may even spot some rabbits and raspberries).

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank stefanvdwalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickerington, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel is an excellent stop before or after your flight into Milan Malpensa. It is slightly upscale with contemporary feel. The staff are very good and extremely accommodating. We arrived at 11:00 p.m. and they went out of our way to be sure we had everything we needed to be comfortable including food and drinks. The rooms are very nice, clean and comfortable. The shower and bathroom area are very nice and new. The staff even went out of there way to mail us a piece of jewelry that we accidentally left in the room! Excellent service!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waileagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We ended up stranded an extra night due to airline problems and when we checked back into the hotel the staff brought us a plate of fruit to our room! We were very happy with airport shuttle and service. Didn't have breakfast because of early am flights but dinner was good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan9296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel for our final night in Italy ahead of an early morning flight out of Malpensa.
On arrival the receptionist was very friendly and super efficient, as was the porter who managed our luggage without any fuss. Before we had actually checked in the receptionist had already arranged our early morning transfer to the airport.
The room was spacious, relatively modern without any frills but for the price we paid, we were happy.
Everythjng worked as it should, tv, shower, air con etc.
The restaurant was closec so we were advised to visit a small restaurant just outside the car park (La Quercia)....wow, so glad we did as every element was fantatsic, menu, food, wine, service and price.
We both slept very well in the bed and checked out quickly with the shuttle driver waiting for us right on time.
Overall, we had a great stay and would reccomend the First Hotel, in fact we'll go back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights either end of our holiday in Lake Como and it was superb. A tip, when you arrive at the airport phone the hotel to come and pick you up, then when you exit out of the front of airport turn right and head to pick up point 10, you can't see the sign saying 10 until you get there but it is the right place.
The hotel has everything you could want, friendly reception, free Wi-Fi, clean comfortable room, outside bar area/patio, bar and restaurant.
My only criticism would be breakfast, not a lot of choice which makes the 10 euro cost expensive.
Don't bother staying anywhere else near the airport this place is excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddie8105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Great location to stay before starting or finishing your Italian holiday. Breakfast was good value, beds comfortable, and wifi good. Shuttle to the airport was efficient and free. Staff friendly even at midnight.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank CanberraAussieMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somma Lombardo
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport
1.1 mi away
MOXY Milan Malpensa Airport
MOXY Milan Malpensa Airport
#2 of 9 in Somma Lombardo
1,342 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Milan Malpensa Airport Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Malpensa
Hotel Villa Malpensa
#1 of 1 in Vizzola Ticino
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Malpensa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Malpensa

Property: First Hotel Malpensa
Address: Via Francesco Baracca 34 | Case Nuove, 21019 Somma Lombardo, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Somma Lombardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Somma Lombardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel Malpensa 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
. An independent hotel where the guest is the focus of our attention.Only 1 km away from Milan's International Airport "Malpensa", we provide a shuttle service between 4:30 am and 01:00 am.Our wireless connection service covers all areas of the building; free use are included with bookings. All rooms, completely soundproof, are under constant and accurate revision to ensure best possible comfort for our guests. The restaurant is at the guests' services with its different, internationally inspired menus.The bar service offers a little menu and its support to those wishing for a snack, even at late night. Two meeting halls offer room for assemblies, job interviews etc. It will be our pleasure to try and fulfill any further or particular wishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your First Hotel Malpensa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Malpensa
First Hotel Somma Lombardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing