We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible - stay away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ristorante Cervo
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Somma Lombardo
Reviewed 29 May 2007

We had a horrible experience at the Hotel Cervo in Malpensa. Based on the service and attitude of the management, I strongly advise against staying there.
On its Web site and brochure, it boasts air conditioning, satellite TV, and a mini bar in every room of its newly renovated hotel in a quiet area. The air conditioning did not work, and the temp in our room was 30.6 C and rising when we checked in. When we asked about it, we were old they were waiting on someone to fix the system. When we asked again about an hour later (as we were literally sweating in our room), the person at the desk was less than helpful or concerned and said that the AC was not turned on until the end of May anyway...so why were we complaining..."last week people were begging us for heat." When we asked to be let out of our reservation because the facility was not what was advertised or confirmed in our reservation, the response was that we were free to leave AFTER we paid the full charge for the room because we had "used" it. We would not have even checked in if they had told us beforehand that there was no AC. As soon as we set foot in the room, we had used it, and they would not back down on their stance. Nor would they even discount the room for all the inconveniences: no AC, no satellite TV, and bugs that came in the room when we had to open the window to get any fresh air.
And their definition of "newly renovated" is laughable. Our room had chipping plaster and many black scuff marks on the walls, peeling ceiling, and black soot-like stains on the ceiling at the AC/heat vent. To top it off, the toilet seat was not attached to the toilet, which was quite a surprise to discover, as you can imagine.
And the "mini bar" consisted of 2 bottles of water. Period. And that "quiet area" noted on the brochure? Our 2nd-floor room overlooked what seemed to be a main road into Malpensa at a stop sign so we got to listen to all the vehicles stopping and starting, in addition to a pack of neighborhood dogs howling for well over an hour around 10 p.m.
The ONLY positive thing about the place is that it is about 5 minutes from the Milan airport. But with the excellent transportation options to the airport from inside Milan proper, I'd stay in Milan and use those rather than put up with such horrible service, accommodations, and attitude.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank KYtraveler27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2007

Cheap place to stay before you head off to the airport. i wouldn't stay more then one night, and I would stay in the city till late and then go to the hotel- but it was fine. Room was clean, Breakfast was good and the shuttle picked us up and took us to the airport(for a fee of course) but you can't get a room for 100 euro in Milan- so I say go for it!

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gretman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2006

We also spent our last night in Italy here and found it adequate but by no means memorable. I rate it average because, let's face it, it is a fairly low cost, and will meet basic needs of sleep and sustenance, and I'm sure all of its customers are heading out of Malpensa early the next day. It was a very small room with only adequate service. The food in the restaurant was average as well. It is also in a little neighborhood with no other commercial ventures around, which was kind of quaint, but made it hard to find. I have no particular complaints, only that I did not think it rated a three star rating.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnonymousDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Hawaii
19
Reviewed 19 September 2005

I spent my last night in Italy at Hotel Ristorante Cervo as it was close to the airport and the reviews I had read were all positive. My single room was on the bottom floor of the older section of the hotel. My room reeked of smoke. The smell of smoke was so strong that it seemed as if the person just left an hour earlier after smoking three packs of cigarettes with all the windows closed. My room had two windows. The bedroom window had bars on the outside. The bathroom window opened up right into the parking lot at a level, which made it pretty easy for anyone to climb inside. I tried leaving the windows open for about an hour to see if I could air out the room but it did not help. After a couple of hours, the mosquitoes started coming in. I had to close the bathroom window for the night, as it was not safe to leave this window open. I left the bedroom window open a tiny bit with the curtain closing off the opening to try to limit the mosquitoes. Across from my room was a little neighborhood, which ended up being quite noisy with some sort of construction work going on much of the night. Dinner at the hotel was just so so. The menu was very limited. I did not sleep well that night and could not wait to get out of that room in the morning. For a three star hotel, I was not impressed. The bathroom amenities consisted of a sliver of soap. The buffet breakfast was again just ok.
Perhaps my bad experience at this hotel was because I was staying in the older section of the hotel, but still, I personally would never stay here again. A very disappointing last night in Italy!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Maurino968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank luarcost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank 平耕
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somma Lombardo
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport
0.2 mi away
First Hotel Malpensa
First Hotel Malpensa
#1 of 9 in Somma Lombardo
1,220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
MOXY Milan Malpensa Airport
MOXY Milan Malpensa Airport
#2 of 9 in Somma Lombardo
1,489 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ibis Milano Malpensa Aeroporto
Ibis Milano Malpensa Aeroporto
#2 of 6 in Cardano al Campo
1,515 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Malpensa
Hotel Villa Malpensa
#1 of 1 in Vizzola Ticino
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ristorante Cervo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ristorante Cervo

Address: Via Francesco de Pinedo 1, 21019 Somma Lombardo, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Somma Lombardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Somma Lombardo
Price Range: £38 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ristorante Cervo 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why Choose Hotel Cervo  Just 1 Km From Malpensa Airport  Shuttle Service From And To The Airport  Internet W-ifi Connection In All The Hotel  Family  Short And Long Term Parking Place  Rental Car With Collection And Delivery In Hotel  Family Management At Your Service H24  Delicious Home Made Food  Large Bedrooms Renewed  Air Conditioning And Lcd Tv Room  Bar For Aperitifs And Drinks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Ristorante Cervo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ristorante Cervo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing