We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Open the Window"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Somma Lombardo
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“"Open the Window"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

It's Africa-hot in Europe right now--unseasonable for most parts, I understand. But an 85-plus-degree hotel room is only slightly less acceptable than the front desk's response: "Open the window." Forget what you think you know about Crowne Plazas in the States. Here we have an ugly facility in an ugly corner of Lombardy that would have been utterly forgotten even by the locals save for its proximity to the airport. Apparently, SOME of the rooms have working a/c. But it's also apparent that the staff here doesn't really care which room anyone gets. Frankly, I would rather be bedding down for the night in a hallways at the airport--I expect to get rather less rest here for rather more money.

Room Tip: Come during the winter; maybe the heat works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitty2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salvatore M, Manager at Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest good morning,
We apologize for any inconvenience during your stay.
Unfortunately we faced an unexpected technical problem to our air conditioning system during a terrible peak of unexpected heat. Fault was resolved the next day.
Best regards.
Salvatore Giuseppe Mazzola
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    293
    179
    57
    42
See reviews for
74
240
58
255
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
190 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I had to stay night near Malpensa Airport and selected this hotel.
Surprisingly I found a very friendly and well equipped hotel, in a small and quiet village, 10 minutes drive with a shuttle from Malpensa Airport.
The staff was very friendly, especially Lotfi Ben Hassine who was very attentive to my inquiries.
The breakfast was good and after a quite and relaxing night sleep, I was ready to start my business day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boazweiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west hills calif
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Very convenient to airport. About 15 minute drive by hotel van.
Free shuttle leaves every half hour.
Perfect for 1 night in or out of Malpensa.
Food was surprisingly good for airport hotel.
Staff very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Had to stay here recently because of an early flight and thought we would be in for a terrible experience after spending 2 nights in 2 mediocre hotels. Wow - what a surprise this was - easy check in and showed to a delightful and very nicely furnished room. Very large and extremely comfortable bed with really good bed linen, a lovely well equipped bathroom and excellent tea/ coffee making facilities. An extremely tasty dinner in the hotel restaurant - we will definitely return when we need to stay over at the airport - also well priced.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V_McC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We arrived at reception about 9.15pm after an agonisingly long wait for baggage to roll off at Milan airport. There were two staff dealing with one guest who was enquiring about some issue.
We waited patiently for about five minutes for one of them to make themselves available and to check us in.

My wife is an Ambassador Platinum Priority member so we use this group of hotels whenever we can and thought checking a guest in would probably be the most important thing to do when they arrive - particularly at that time of night.

Getting to the room the first thing my wife wanted to do was to have a shower after our long 22 hour flight from Australia. So we were not impressed when the shower was just luke warm. We were really looking forward to a nice steamy hot shower to help clear out a bit of congestion we had picked up. Back down to reception I went as they did not answer the phone (must have both gone back dealing with that guest).

The male reception person came upstairs with me to check the temperature. Another five minutes trying to convince him that hot water normally generates steam in the room led to another person having a look at the temperature. We finally managed to get some hotter water through the system but still not hot enough to produce steam.

In the morning the water was so hot that even on the coldest water setting it was far too hot - we couldn't win and just wanted to get out of the place.

To their credit breakfast was a good acceptable range of items.

This hotel needs to recognise that the first choice for travellers for Milan airport accommodation would be the Sheraton which one immediately sees when coming out of the airport. So to continue to maintain the loyalty of regular travellers such as ourselves there needs to be a focus on the absolute basics - such as prompt service (and hot water at all times of the day).

We used the hotel shuttle service getting to the hotel and were quite lucky with the timing as we only had to wait about five minutes before it departed the airport. But travellers should know that if you just missed the shuttle the wait would have been at least another 30 minutes.

This is one hotel we will not be using again in the future.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank BrisbaneKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salvatore M, Direttore at Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest good evening,

we apologize for any inconvenience during your stay.

Regarding the hot water we had a problem that has been resolved promptly, regarding the 5 minutes waiting for the check-in I will do my best to reduce the waiting time.

Best regards.

Salvatore Giuseppe Mazzola
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Somma Lombardo hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
130 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

The rooms are fine, quiet with all modern amenities. Hotel staff is overworked not enough people to handle things when large groups of people arrive or depart. allow plenty of time for checking out because of this. Staff is not helpful and restaurant is disappointing. They will try to talk you into getting breakfast at the hotel but it looked horrible. Better to eat at airport. For dinner, a short walk away is Samaranda a local place, much better. Shuttle system to airport is great. Allow 20 -25 minutes.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salvatore M, Direttore at Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest good morning,
we apologize for the inconvenience during your stay.
The only thing that I can not understands is why our breakfast is terrible, we serve both continental and American breakfast with a wide selection of quality products.
Thank you for choosing our Hotel.
Best regards.
Salvatore Giuseppe Mazzola
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Province of Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
82 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

If you need to go to the airport before 6 then they will charge you for the bus only after 6 it's free. Also if your not lucky you will get a room that has a connecting door to the other room so if you don't like that you should request that.
It's around 10 minutes from terminal 2 and the bus doesn't go to terminal 1. Service at the bar of the restaurant is very cold. In my opinion next time I will stick to the Sheraton in the malpensa airport it costed some more but is much better !

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salvatore M, Direttore at Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest good morning,
we apologize if we disappointend your expectations.
We would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel.
Best regards.
Salvatore Giuseppe Mazzola
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somma Lombardo
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Milan Malpensa Airport Hotel & Conference Centre
0.9 mi away
MOXY Milan Malpensa Airport
MOXY Milan Malpensa Airport
#2 of 10 in Somma Lombardo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
First Hotel Malpensa
First Hotel Malpensa
#1 of 10 in Somma Lombardo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
0.3 mi away
Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa
Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa
#3 of 10 in Somma Lombardo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport
Address: Case Nuove Via Arturo Ferrarin 7, 21019 Somma Lombardo, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Somma Lombardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Somma Lombardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Milan-Malpensa Airport, an upscale 4 star superior hotel located just 2 minutes away from Milan Malpensa International Airport. Take advantage of our complimentary shuttle running to/from Terminal 1 on a scheduled basis and Terminal 2 on request. Alternatively, the airport offers a 24hr free shuttle service between the two Terminals with a bus stop just 500m from the hotel. Choose one of our contemporary and elegant rooms and stay connected with your family and colleagues using Wireless and Wired internet connection. If you need to work while dining either in our bar or restaurant, Wi-Fi connection will be on us! Treat yourself to a mouth watering Italian meal in our restaurant La Brughiera , recently awarded the Food & Beverage Excellence prize for 2008. The bar I Celti with its variety of snacks, healthy options and international drinks, represents the perfect place to do business or to enjoy moments of relax. After a tiring working day or before a long flight why not to unwind or exercise in our complimentary Health & Fitness Centre featuring cardio-fitness circuit, sauna and Turkish bath. Whether looking for a breakout room for interviews or a location for your next annual conference Crowne Plaza Milan-Malpensa Airport hotel boasts a modern conference centre equipped with the latest technology. Enjoy your stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport Hotel Somma Lombardo
Crowne Plaza Somma Lombardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing