We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel on a unique location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pousada de Ourem - Fatima Historic Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ourem
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Rotselaer, Brabant, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel on a unique location!”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Very nice hotel, unique location with superb views, very kind and professional staff, delicious meals and a breakfast with a lot of choice for everyone.
You really need a car to get there and make some trips in the neighborhood
Just one small negative point: at the end of the day when returning from sightseeing you can't find a sunny place at the hotel to get some rest from a busy day. All the terraces and the swimming pool are situated in the shadow.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rcl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ourem, Gerente at Pousada de Ourem - Fatima Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Mr.

Thank You very much for your opinion, about Pousada Conde Ourém.
It is a pleasure read these gentils words about Pousada.

We strive daily to exceed our customer´s expectations and we are pleased to know that we were able to provide you memorable moments.

We liked to have you with us, and we hope that this was the first of many moments at Pousadas de Portugal.

Receive our kind regards.

Sara Pereira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    94
    29
    8
    4
See reviews for
62
114
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spakenburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The ancient little town of Ourem is situated on top of a rock from which you have a nice view on the new city of Ourem and the countryside below. There is an old castle and a friendly Pousada which is made of a couple of medieval houses. A swimming pool also with a view is just on the other side of the narrow street. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the food is excellent. Nearby is the famous pilgrimage village of Fatima and Tomar with the Convento do Christo, also worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ourem, Gerente at Pousada de Ourem - Fatima Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience and for the nice comments about the staff and ambience.

We are delighted to know you have enjoyed our Pousada, and we can exceed your expectations

We hope to welcome you again at Pousadas de Portugal,

Best regards,

Sara Pereira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This property is in an ancient village on top of a hill and lies below the ruins of a castle. The reception staff were friendly and helpful and the pool was located in a quiet walled and tree lined garden across the road from the hotel ... the whole package was unique and this property is a 'must stay at'! We dined in the restaurant (it was too long and winding a road to drive down to town) and I have to say that we were disappointed with the food on offer. What we had was very bland and, for what it was, was expensive. The service was good but the dining room staff were not especially friendly or helpful. A great place to stay but ... note comment on dining experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank THBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ourem, Gerente at Pousada de Ourem - Fatima Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousada de Ourém and for taking the time to post your opinion.

Such comments certainly help us motivate our staff and, most importantly, assist us to provide a more personal and efficient service.

We deeply regret that your dinner did not meet your expectations, and we would like to apologize for the inconveniences.

We hope you can choose again Pousadas de Portugal.

Best Regards,

Sara Pereira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed for 2 nights. The hotel is at the top of a hill, and the road towards it is pretty steep.
But you get rewarded by the magnificent view and the beautiful town on the hill.
The rooms are very nice, bathrooms are fine and the nights are absolutely quiet.
The swimming pool is located behind an other building across the road (there is just not enough space on the hill), but that is no problem, there is no traffic anyway.
The staff is very friendly but service in the bar and near the pool, is quiet slow, and the waiter hardly understood English. The restaurant service on the other hand was very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tineke_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ourem, Gerente at Pousada de Ourem - Fatima Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your time to leave your opinion, with your nice comments.

We are delighted to read the kind comments about your stay at the Pousada do Conde de Ourém and specially about our Staff members and all the ambiance.

We hope you can choose again Pousadas de Portugal.
Best Regards,

Sara Pereira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

While visiting Fatima this summer I stayed in the Pousada de Ourem . If you have never stayed in a Pousada, you must try One. This is one of several government owned hotels that are located in historical buildings or locations that have been converted to hotels. This particular location used to be a hospital located next to a castle. It is on top of a hill and has beautiful views of the area. The room was on the small side but the lovely balcony extended the area with its great views. The location is remote so a car would be advised, especially if you are visiting Fatima as it is 10-15 miles away from here. The staff were exceptionally helpful and the food was good enough. The price was very good and if you are a senior there are discounts for your stay. All in all it was a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GramgramDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ourem, Gerente at Pousada de Ourem - Fatima Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comments regarding your last stay at Pousada Conde de Ourém.

Effectively we are proud of our Castle and strive daily to achieve the legitimate expectations of those who visit us, we are pleased to know that we were able to provide you memorable moments.


We liked to have you with us, and we hope that this was the first of many moments at Pousadas de Portugal.

best regards,

Sara Pereira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

This was a very cute Pousada that rests at the top of the hill near the Castle. It has a great pool overlooking the town below and I was happy with everything.

The wifi worked pretty well but you had to keep inserting the codes which was a pain at all of the pousadas. however, this was the only pousada where my wifi worked in the room.

Staying in this town was one of my favorite experiences for my trip.

Tip: There is a restaurant called Taberna Do Costelo which is about a min walk from the hotel and was one of the best culinary experiences I have ever had. It is like having a great chef as your personal cook. Very intimate , very different type of dining experience. It is also very cheap which is just an added bonus.


Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Morgan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ourem, Gerente at Pousada de Ourem - Fatima Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Dear Mr. Morgan,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience and for the nice comments about the ambience.

We are delighted to know you have enjoyed our Pousada.
Looking forward to welcoming you again in a not too distant future!

best regards,

Sara Pereira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

I know I'm repeating what other reviewers have said but the location is what makes this Pousada so special; it's perched on a hill and converted from original village buildings just below the ruined 12th century castelo.
The designs of the rooms are constrained by the conversion and so they are not particularly big but comfortable. The outdoor pool is a pleasant bonus.The hotel internet only seemed to work in the public areas.
The weakest part of our stay was the restaurant. Due to the remote location we ate there more that we would otherwise have liked. Maybe the menu is a bit ambitious for the kitchen staff but there was a series of disappointments: steak served on a bed of sliced potatoes with half the potatoes not cooked through, meat with a tepid accomanying risotto, the blandest mushroom tart imaginable. And a first for me in Portugal: no salad appeared on the menu although it was available if requested and then bizarrely (if you have visited Portugal you will know what I mean) I had to specially ask for oil and vinegar to be brought to the table to dress it.
Nevertheless, overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Westyorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ourem, Gerente at Pousada de Ourem - Fatima Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousada de Ourém and for taking the time to post your opinion.
We deeply regret that your stay did not meet your expectations, and we would like to apologize for the inconveniences you might have experienced. We will take the necessary steps to improve the quality of our services.
The feedback from our Guest’s and friends are to us a stimulus and an opportunity for improvement
We hope you can choose again Pousadas de Portugal.

Best Regards,

Sara Pereira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ourem
9.8 mi away
Hotel dos Templarios
4.8 mi away
Luz Houses
Luz Houses
#1 of 39 in Fatima
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
4.9 mi away
Dom Goncalo Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Estalagem Santa Iria
4.6 mi away
Hotel Anjo de Portugal
Hotel Anjo de Portugal
#2 of 39 in Fatima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Avenida de Fatima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada de Ourem - Fatima Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Ourem - Fatima Historic Hotel

Property: Pousada de Ourem - Fatima Historic Hotel
Address: Largo Dom Joao Manso | 2490-481 Ourém, Ourem 2490-481, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Santarem District > Ourem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ourem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada de Ourem - Fatima Historic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada do Conde de Ourém is a charming historic hotel set in a medieval town, between three major touristic sites: Batalha, Tomar and just 10 km away from Fátima. The hotel has a garden with an outdoor pool and sun terrace. The restaurant serves local cuisine and the bar serves a variety of drinks. All of the rooms have air conditioning, a minibar and a TV. Within Ourém there is a 15th-century castle, also known as Paço dos Condes de Ourém and the Serras de Aire and Candeeiros Natural Park is about an hour away by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pousada de Ourem - Fatima Historic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Ourem Fatima Conde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing