We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tucked away pousada”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pousada de Ourem - Fatima Historic Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ourem
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here as part of a tour of 4 historic pousadas in Portugal. This one was the third.

As others have said, it is in a wonderfully scenic location and is quite charming. The streets of the viilage were too narrow for our coach, so it parked outside the village walls and we either walked or were ferried into the pousada by mini-bus.

Our room was smaller than in the other pousadas, but clean and comfortable and perfectly adequate for our needs. There is a small outdoor swimming pool in a separate complex just across the road, but unfortunately the poor weather meant we did not use it. It looked very pleasant though.

However, I do wonder if the pousada was fully equipped to cope with a tour party as well as other, individual travellers? I say this because one day we came back to the pousada at about 4pm to find that our room was still being cleaned. Some members of our group found the same, and some were quite cross about the fact that they could not get access to their room for almost an hour after their return. Likewise, on our first evening, the buffet meal provided was very much lacking in both variety and quantity - however, they did improve the next night. This could have been a problem given that there was nowhere else to eat in the village, but as I said, they improved on our second night. Breakfasts were always OK, standard buffet with fruit, cereals, little pastries etc.

Staff were generally friendly and did their best to be helpful.

The location is the real draw through. The whitewashed houses, ruined castle and magnificant views are quite wonderful. It's a pity the weather was not so great when we were there, but we still enjoyed it.

It is rather tucked away, and once you have walked round the village and seen the castle, there isn't a great deal more to do. There are two little bars near the pousada, but that's about it. This may be a factor for some people, but not for others. It is certainly very peaceful and restful up there!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the church will get the sound of the regularly striking clock. We had this but didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank joshuatrumpets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiago G, Manager at Pousada de Ourem - Fatima Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Mr. joshuatrumpets,

Thank you for taking the time share your experience and for yout kind words regarding the Pousada de Ourem.

I would like to inform you that your suggestions and comments, which we have taken into serious consideration, are highly important for us and certainly will help us to improve our service quality.

We are glad you were able to enjoy the peacefulness in the Pousada but apologize for any inconveniences you have been through.

We hope to see you soon again in our Pousada, if you need anything, please don’t hesitate contacting us.

With my kind regards,

Tiago Gonçalves
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

This was our first stay in a Pousada and we are impressed, a little difficult to find but once there it is a amazing place, clean comfortable rooms and a super restuarant good food and service.
Lovely village with unique castle, would recommend

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank cheshirefred_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiago G, Manager at Pousada de Ourem - Fatima Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear cheshirefred_11,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at Pousada do Castelo on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read your comments and I am happy that you had a nice experience with us and our Team met your expectations.

I will personally convey your gratitude to our Team which I am sure they will be grateful to hear that their hard work and enthusiasm has been commended.

Many thanks once again and if you ever do decide to make a return visit to Portugal please do bear us in mind.

Kind regards,

Tiago Gonçalves
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

If you drive a big car, you might have problems to drive inside the castelo area where the Pousada is located.

The Pousada is one of the newer ones (opened 2000), everything is in very good shape managed by Pestana Hoteis Group (no government as said in some reviews here). Rooms are spacious and nicely decorated, bathrooms modern - breakfast is standard pousadas (above verage!). The outside pool is in another building (where also some rooms are location).

We didn't try their restaurant but closeby are some tradional Cafes but no real restaurants (only in Nova Ourem). If you have time to explore the area drive to Fereirra do Zezere to "Restaurante A Grelha" - a BBQ place where you can grill your meat at table (as Korean BBQ)

Absolutely recommend to stay in the Pousasa for some days.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joe1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Very nice hotel with a great view. The hotel has a great swimming pool and a wonderful breakfast. There is not much parking but we managed to find a spot very close by. The castle is almost right out the door. This location is a very short drive to Fatima.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fasteddieusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stopped at the Pousada after visiting Fatima with a group of 10. Rooms are modest but fresh and well decorated. A great location and view from the top of a hill. A very friendly staff. Morning breakfast was well done and service excellent. An enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kseconomist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Pousada de Ourem
The big issue we had with the Pousada was finding it. The website refers to Fatima but it is actually up by the castle in Ourem. We spent a lot of time in Fatima looking for it. Not easy when you don't speak Portuguese. The drive up the hill got quite challenging as we got closer. Even when we reached it, it wasn't well marked. It did provide a nice walk around the local castle.
We found the room pleasant but the bar and restaurant quite sterile not in keeping with the exterior.
I would say that the trip up wasn't worth the effort.

Room Tip: We had a nice view but it was next to the church steeple which rang on time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mutenjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ourem, Gerente at Pousada de Ourem - Fatima Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate your kind review and recent stay with us.

We deeply regret that your stay did not meet your expectations, and we would like to apologize for the inconveniences you might have experienced

We liked to have you with us, and we hope that this was the first of many moments at Pousadas de Portugal.

Receive our kind regards.

Sara Pereira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

A beautifully restored building in a picture-postcard-perfect setting of a whitewashed village on a hilltop (with its own castle), narrow winding cobble-stoned streets and stunning views across the surrounding plains....and only minutes from Fatima. Room was very good, the pool setting and location incredible. Only down side (and given it's the only option "in town") was the quality of meals and service in the restaurant. However, to give the management their due they responded most positively to our concerns. Wait staff need some serious training.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cgmewatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Ourem, Gerente at Pousada de Ourem - Fatima Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your last stay at Pousada Conde de Ourém.

Such comments certainly help us motivate our staff and, most importantly, assist us to provide a more personal and efficient service.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in a not too distant future!

Sara Pereira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ourem
9.8 mi away
Hotel dos Templarios
4.9 mi away
Dom Goncalo Hotel & Spa
4.8 mi away
Luz Houses
Luz Houses
#1 of 41 in Fatima
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Hotel Lis Batalha Mestre Afonso Domingues
12.4 mi away
Hotel Casa do Outeiro
Hotel Casa do Outeiro
#1 of 4 in Batalha
367 reviews
12.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Batalha
Hotel Villa Batalha
#3 of 4 in Batalha
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada de Ourem - Fatima Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Ourem - Fatima Historic Hotel

Address: Largo Dom Joao Manso | 2490-481 Ourém, Ourem 2490-481, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Santarem District > Ourem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ourem
Price Range: £66 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada de Ourem - Fatima Historic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada do Conde de Ourém is a charming historic hotel set in a medieval town, between three major touristic sites: Batalha, Tomar and just 10 km away from Fátima. The hotel has a garden with an outdoor pool and sun terrace. The restaurant serves local cuisine and the bar serves a variety of drinks. All of the rooms have air conditioning, a minibar and a TV. Within Ourém there is a 15th-century castle, also known as Paço dos Condes de Ourém and the Serras de Aire and Candeeiros Natural Park is about an hour away by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pousada de Ourem - Fatima Historic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Ourem Fatima Conde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing