We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family stay”
Review of Swiss Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swiss Holiday Park
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Morschach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lorrach, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great family stay”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My kids and I stayed here in February 2013 for a few nights in the hotel. We really enjoy it. We do not ski, but instead went sledding and enjoyed the indoor/outdoor pool with the slides. We had fun at the bowling alley and game room. The kids club was very nice, too. The food in the restaurants was very good. The property is beautiful. We used the parking garage, but did not need our car while we were there. We plan to go back next month and sty in the apartments for a longer stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate_KG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    116
    35
    18
    6
See reviews for
146
66
4
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corunna, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed here for a timeshare week this September 2013. We had a lovely comfortable room with a full kitchen. Our view was very nice looking over the mountains. A floor up would have been a nicer view though I think. The reception was quite helpful. The pool area is beautiful . We only used it once as our interests were elsewhere. I did find men and women using the same change rooms rather weird. Paying extra for the waterslide and sauna I found poor as well. We did not sample any of the restaurants as the prices in Switzerland are almost extortionate. There is a small grocery store in the complex where we bought a few things. Mostly we bought food at the Coop in Brunen and cooked ourselves. I didn't realize when we booked this place that it is half way up the mountain in the small village of Morschach. Not a lot of English spoken in Morschach or at Swiss Holiday Park. Hiking trails abound here though and this is the main reason I loved it. We did the ridge trail from Klingenstock and the views were amazing. One day we took the ferry to Luzern, lovely day trip but take the train back to Brunen as the sail is lengthy. One of our favourite finds was a park bench at the top of the hill looking over Lake Luzern, where each night we watched the sunset and enjoyed a bottle of wine. ( Just a short walk from the Apart holidays building. We would definitely return to this area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mmmcrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed at the small Apart Hotel complex which is connected to the Holiday Park but a separate entity. The one-bedroom apartment was spacious and simply but well-furnished and supplied with all necessary utensils. Service at reception was good and friendly. Although slightly separate from the Holiday Park we were able to use the pool and facilities.

The town of Morschach itself is small, up on the hill above the lake next to Brunnen, and has great views all around. A really pleasant location, within easy drive of scenic towns and the cities of Lucerne and Zurich.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilipRylah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The hotel is very well located with a fantastic panoramic view on the local mountains. Most of the hotel dates from the 80's but the renovated parts are very nice and cosy like the Italian and Swiss restaurants belonging to the park. I got a small room on the main street of the village (which can get pretty noisy in early morning) but it was very clean. The bathroom was spotless but the basics were missing: I just got a tiny body lotion bottle, that lasted 2 times. No cotton pads, the body lotion didn't get replaced ... For 160 CHF per night for the single room, you expect a bathroom kit. By the way, other colleagues of mine got bigger rooms where there was even space for a sofa and were pretty happy with them.
The Spa area is huge and offers many possibilities, including a corner for babies and kids. There are also plenty of sports possible like squatch, badmington, climbing, karting, ... This is also a very children friendly place; there are couple of places where kids can play indoor and outdoor.
The hotel also offers three restaurants: the Italian one is definitely very good (try the pizzas, yummy!), the Swiss is also not too bad (you only get cordon bleu with porc meat and not veal meat, which is a bit a pity!) and finally the panorama that I only tried over lunch and that offers a buffet. The latter is lacking freshness, offers average cantine style food.
One thing that definitely needs improvement is the WIFI connection: it keeps on logging you off and in order to log in again it takes ages, it doesn't work from the first try. Another thing is the bed: somehow I got back pain every morning. Some colleagues of mine complained that the bed is too hard. This is always something personal but I usually don't get easily back pain in hotels.
Reception desk is very friendly and helpful and service in different restaurants as well.

Room Tip: Get yourself a big room NOT facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kizkouz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at SHP in mid August (took two 3-day packages, which felt were ok value - considering it's Switzerland!), in the hotel proper section.
Our daughters, 2 and 4, absolutely loved the swimming pools, kids club and playgrounds (especially the large one after the parking - or before it if coming from Brunnen). There's also children's bowling, mini-golf and go-karts, which would be great for older kids.
Food is very good, with dinner at the Panorama excellent. It's a large but not huge selection (which at some level could be said of the breakfast buffet too) but what they offer is of good quality, with generous portions. Didn't try the Swiss-specialties restaurant. The Neptun bar, next to the pools, offers light snacks which are good for a quick lunch.
Rooms are very large, with ample storage space, and a small terrace. No a/c, but even in high summer leaving the door to the terrace open during the day is sufficient to cool the room. The bathroom is ok, given overall size perhaps could have been designed to include a bathtub and not just shower - not an issue for us, just for info. Also, there is no mini-bar/fridge (perhaps there is in the holiday apartments section, not sure), on the grounds of energy conservation - fair enough, again not an issue for us but for info (services directory says that they can provide a mini-fridge for baby milk/food or medicines, on request).

Scenery is really nice and picturesque. View of lake Lucerne from the edge of the large playground is spectacular. Everything, everywhere, spotlessly clean.
Came by train from Zurich to Brunnen, then bus from Brunnen to SHP (every half hour; it's timed to have a 10 minute gap with arriving trains) - bus stop is right in front of hotel.
Highly recommend to do a day trip to Lucerne, one leg by train and the other by boat/ferry - about CHF 65 per adult (kids pay from 6 years old). Tip: buy the combined ticket at the Brunnen station when you arrive, and then can already include bus trip from/to SHP.

People are absolutely charming, helpful and efficient (particularly Tatjana at reception and Jacqueline at the Panorama restaurant). Everybody was very nice and kind to (and patient with!) our daughters.

Regarding some comments about having to walk on your bathrobe to the swimming pools, there is a tunnel under the road going from the main hotel to the pools area (which also passes by the indoor climbing and racquet sports areas); and the changing rooms are very well equipped (even clothes dryers), with lockers controlled electronically by room key - no need to come already in swimsuits.
Wi-fi works ok in the hotel area; each code lasts for 4 hours only, but reception will provide as many as you want, free.
There is a shop in the recreation center open every day (although closes early on Sunday), with a small selection of supermarket goods (including fresh fruit and milk).
Oh, and although German is definitely the predominant language, most staff (if not all, and most guests too) are fairly fluent in English (and French, and quite a few in Spanish too).

Highly recommended for a different sort of summer vacation, for fresh air instead of sand. Ines is already asking when are we going back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ceemea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

What we loved: breakfast fantastic, staff lovely and helpful and very friendly, hotel set up for kids, pools quite nice, room and hotel very clean, Schwiizer Stubi restaurant was fantastic, very relaxing
What could be improved: hotel room decor is dated, only one flat pillow per person and very hard mattresses. No air conditioning (which is fine with me) but you then must have the windows open and we heard all guests coming and going, speaking quite loudly all through the night. Quite pricey for what it was--380 CHF for one night in a family room (2 kids aged 7 years and 8 months).
All in all was a nice overnight (we live 30 minutes away) and a great diversion--kids had a ball in the pools. I don't think I would come if I didn't know the weather would be good.

Room Tip: Don't go for rooms that end in 10 (ie 110, 210, 310) as those are directly over the main entranc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EUtravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We stayed in the REKA section of the Hotel. We were 2 adults and 3 small children. We had a 2 floor suite with 2 bathrooms, 3 bedrooms, 2 balconies, a living room, a dining room, a small kitchen. Around 90 m2. It costs us around 550 CHF Everything relatively modern and comfortable. The beds were great, very comfortable. As I said in the title, we had only a few hours of sun during the 4 days we were there but many of the facilities are indoor so we always had something to do. The swimming pool is temperated, and you have an outside and inside part, it was so great to be in the pool and feel the rain falling on you :-). The kids loved the water pipe. The staff was very friendly. You have all sorts of indoor sports, bowling, ping pong, billiard, etc. The prices to rent some of the facilities are a bit too high, this might be an issue for some people.

I did not give this place an Excellent rating for a couple of things. When we arrived they could not find the keys of our suite, it took them around 30 minutes to find them. But at the end they offer us a free massage and free parking for all the days we were there. The cleaning of the suite costs 90 CHF. I think that is a bit too expensive.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjzv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morschach
1.0 mi away
Schmid und Alfa
Schmid und Alfa
#2 of 4 in Brunnen
71 reviews
1.1 mi away
Seehotel Waldstaetterhof Brunnen
2.3 mi away
Seminar- und Wellnesshotel Stoos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Park Hotel Vitznau
Park Hotel Vitznau
#1 of 6 in Vitznau
302 reviews
4.8 mi away
Seeblick Hohenhotel
Seeblick Hohenhotel
#1 of 1 in Emmetten
196 reviews
7.0 mi away
Zum Schwarzen Lowen
Zum Schwarzen Lowen
#1 of 2 in Altdorf
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Holiday Park

Property: Swiss Holiday Park
Address: Dorfstrasse 10, Morschach 6443, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Schwyz > Morschach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Morschach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Swiss Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Holiday Park Hotel Morschach
Swiss Holiday Park Morschach
Swiss Holiday Park Switzerland/Morschach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing