We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wellington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Selby House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 17 Wellington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My husband and I along with our 9 year old travelled to Somerset from Scotland and stayed here whilst attending a wedding, we could not have chosen anywhere better. Ellen is just the perfect host, not intrusive yet fully attentive to all our needs. We were warmly welcomed. We stayed in the family room which was spacious, quiet, extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean with views over the pretty garden and surrounding fields. The shower was amazing, bed very comfortable and breakfast absolutely delicious with a super choice. Ellen even welcomed my elderly parents in one afternoon (they had been 'turned out' of their unfortunate choice of b&b up the road) and made them a pot of tea. The location just off the A38 is ideal for exploring. I cannot recommend Selby House enough, we will be back when we next visit beautiful Somerset.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

We cannot recommend this B&B highly enough. Wonderful accommodation which is clean, modern and very comfortable with lovely ensuite bathroom. A cooked breakfast in the morning was divine and set us up well for the rest of the day. The B&B is tucked away in the countryside but is very accessible as not far from Wellington or the M5. We ate in the pub in the next village which has apparently been taken over by new owners and we had a lovely meal with very friendly staff. Ellen was a very accommodating host and made us a fresh pot of tea on arrival which was very welcome and much needed! Looking forward to staying again in the near future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Welcoming and comfortable B&B run by friendly hosts. Lovely breakfast, spacious room with comfortable bed. Large bathroom ensuite. The detached house set in its own garden has far-reaching views and is very close to Wellington and Cothay Manor. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surferhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We travelled to Wellington for a wedding and chose this B&B on the basis of previous reviews; we were not disappointed! We were warmly welcomed despite arriving later than expected due to traffic. Very convenient private parking. We stayed in two different rooms over the weekend- both were light and very spacious. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms well-equipped and beautifully decorated. The locally sourced and homemade breakfast was excellent and offered more choice than most hotels I have stayed in. Ellen was extremely attentive to our well-being throughout our stay. We would definitely aim to stay again if back in the region.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cloudyclear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I arrived to be shown to my room and it was huge! Great place with an ensuite tv room/ lounge and great views over countryside. Nice to be able to return to own room after a hard days treking and choose from in house DVDs and relax in own comfy settee and have a coffee. Great shower room and hosts very very friendly.Breakfast was fantastic and loads of off road parking. Very comfy bed and warm and cosy, can't wait to return and have another stalk.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs front room- massive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VizslaCalledMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I arrived on a sunday night about two hours late but i was greeted at the door with a big smile and a warm welcome a nice full pot of tea and fresh home made Eccles cakes, My room was large comfortable warm and it felt like home, the decor of the B&B throughout was first class warm and homely, The couple that run Selby House Ellen and Peter are like meeting old friends and make you feel part of their family, the beds are comfortable the rooms and en suite facilities first class.

in the morning they will accommodate your start time so you choose the time of your breakfast and that brings me onto the best part, The food, all food with the exception of branded cereals are locally grown or produced and the eggs with there big golden yolks come from their back garden, the food is first class and will fill you up for the day from the traditional full English to many other variations they will accommodate your needs whatever they are, rated 5 for food hygiene and preparation they also are 4 star 'Enjoy England' rated and hold the 'Enjoy England' Silver award as well as the 'Enjoy England' Breakfast award, i can not praise Selby House and Ellen and Peter high enough with plenty off road parking and very open wide country views an out of the way quiet location but only 5 mins from the M5 and central enough to be within a short drive for Somerset and Devon locations, a very relaxing place to come home to after a long day of work or sight seeing around Somerset or Devon. Well done Ellen and Peter a lovely friendly welcoming home, Highly recommended.

Room Tip: during my two weeks stay i used two different rooms and both were excellent and the beds so comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stayed at Selby House early March for 1 night to attend a funeral, what a fantastic place Ellen is a wonderful host she can't do enough for you, the place is spotless and a credit to her.
My wife mislaid her handbag Ellen was straight on the case phoning places where we had been,
yes she located the bag for us and it was returned safely and intact, a Big thank you Ellen x.
If you don't like Ellen's breakfast which is superb, [there is something seriously wrong with you see a Doctor].

Room Tip: We only stayed the 1 night so cannot comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
1.1 mi away
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wellington
289 reviews
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Wellington Somerset Hotel
0.5 mi away
Backways Farmhouse B&B
Backways Farmhouse B&B
#9 of 17 in Wellington
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Old Vicarage
The Old Vicarage
#10 of 17 in Wellington
30 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#4 of 17 in Wellington
35 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beambridge Inn
Beambridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Sampford Arundel
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selby House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selby House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Pleamore Cross | Sampford Arundel, Wellington TA21 9QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wellington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range: £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selby House offers quality accommodation in an attractive rural setting just one mile from Wellington. Award winning breakfast using local and home produce. All rooms contain original features and en-suite facilities. One room on ground floor suitable for people with limited mobility. Large mature garden. Single £49 Double/Twin £69 per night. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Selby House Bed & Breakfast Wellington, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing