We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic week-end - John and Jacky - Harrogate”

Staple Cross Cottage Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wellington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Staple Cross Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 17 Wellington B&B and Inns
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic week-end - John and Jacky - Harrogate”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at Staple Cross as we were attending a wedding in the area. Monica and Roy made us welcome from the moment we arrived. Everything you could possibly need had been thought about - we wanted for nothing. Definitely 5 star. Our breakfasts were beautifully cooked and well presented, even had home made jams. Sorry to leave after a great week-end. Thank you Monica and Roy.

Room Tip: We had south-facing room. Excellent choice and lovely walk in shower. Got carried away filling in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackyS20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staplecross, Owner at Staple Cross Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. It was a pleasure to meet you both and hope to see you again should you be travelling back this way sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
17
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This was a great find for our 2 night stay in the area. We stayed in the double en-suite room, which was clean, well equipped (TV, kettle, etc) and the bed was very comfortable.
Roy and Monica were friendly, welcoming and helpful, they even offered to drive us to the wedding we were attending locally.
The breakfast was delicious with even a couple of homemade jams!
There is off road parking literally across the road from the B&B and the local Inn.
If we were looking to stay in the area again we would definitely try to book in here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetsetmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staplecross, Owner at Staple Cross Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for writing this review following your recent stay with us. It was good to meet you both & to know that you enjoyed your weekend here, just a shame we couldn't do anything about the weather!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

My wife and I pride ourselves on finding outstanding b & bs (usually with the help of Trip Advisor). Well, we've done it again. We stayed at Staple Cross Cottage while we attended a wedding nearby. It was lovely- like staying with friends, Spotless, well-appointed and very comfortable but most of all a very warm welcome. Roy and Monica could not have been more helpful. And the breakfasts - absolutely super with marmalade to die for.

We'll go again even without a wedding!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellandtee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staplecross, Owner at Staple Cross Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thanks so much for the review. It would be lovely to see you both here again sometime. I'll make sure I have that marmalade and the mirror here for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We just had 2 nights here at Staple Cross Cottage & it was so lovely & Monica & Roy could not do enough for us to make our stay so welcoming. Everything about the cottage was so nice, so clean & everything you needed. The full breakfast was awesome, anything you wanted they would do it for you, Monica has homemade jam too which was very nice to finish with some toast. We were there to visit my niece for her 40th Birthday & friends who have a pub in Holcome rogus which was just up the road from Hockworthy where the cottage is. We were quite happy to get a taxi to the pub from the cottage but Roy told us taxi's round there were expensive & offered to take us in his car & phone him when we wanted picking up, which we did. So kind of Roy to offer such lovely people. One of the Best B&B's we have stayed in, Thank You Monica & Roy & we will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staplecross, Owner at Staple Cross Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you Carol. It was a pleasure to meet you both last weekend & hope we may see you again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Booked in to Staple Cross Cottage on July 6th for 3 nights and we had a fantastic time. Rooms perfect in every way everything spotlessly clean and maintained to a very high standard. Fantastic breakfast, Monica and Roy run a FIRST CLASS Bed and Breakfast I’ve got to say that this was the best B&B I have ever stayed in on my travels .We all enjoyed our stay. VERY HIGHLY recommended and very relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael g G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staplecross, Owner at Staple Cross Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for your kind comments which are really appreciated. Its good to know that you all had a relaxing stay here with us. Should you ever be planning another trip down to the West Country it would be great to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Just back from a one night stay at Staplecross cottage, I have never felt so welcome at a B&B! The room was lovely and Monica and Roy are fantastic hosts, very amiable and incredibly helpful pointing out the best walks nearby and making sure we got a table for dinner at the bustling country pub next door. The B&B is in a beautiful spot surrounded by farmland and county lanes. I highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staplecross, Owner at Staple Cross Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We're really pleased you felt so welcome and enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2013

I was going to be in the area for a wedding in Huntsham, and needed a bed & breakfast for one night. The booking was made easily over the phone a few weeks prior to my visit.
On my stay, I found Monica & Roy to be extremely welcoming, helpful and good company. The room, as well as the whole cottage, were immaculate with everything you might need. I left after a good night's sleep with a delicious breakfast in my belly. And all very reasonably priced!
Thanks loads guys!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shark0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
2.8 mi away
The Old Dairy at Bishops Barton
6.1 mi away
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.0 mi away
Runnington Cider Barn
Runnington Cider Barn
#1 of 1 in Runnington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Beambridge Inn
Beambridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Sampford Arundel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Greenham Hall
Greenham Hall
#2 of 2 in Greenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
5.3 mi away
Backways Farmhouse B&B
Backways Farmhouse B&B
#7 of 17 in Wellington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staple Cross Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staple Cross Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Property: Staple Cross Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Address: Staple Cross Cottage Staple Cross | Hockworthy, Wellington TA21 0NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wellington
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious West Country bed and breakfast located in a peaceful rural hamlet on the Devon-Somerset borders amidst beautiful countryside. Immaculate guest rooms full of character are provided in this former 18th century coaching stables (1 twin & 1 double). There is also the added bonus of a great Inn right by for evening meals. Plus the M5 motorway is just a short drive away and a mainline train station too, allowing easy access to a multitude of destinations around the South West. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Staple Cross Cottage Bed & Breakfast Wellington, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing