We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous place if in need of relaxation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Byre

The Byre; Luxury holiday cottage, Somerset
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Byre; Luxury holiday cottage, Somerset
Master bedroom with luxury furnishings and superb views Back garden with views over open fields
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
The Byre; Luxury holiday cottage, Somerset
Master bedroom with luxury furnishings and superb views
Back garden with views over open fields
Lounge, furnished in oak and leather, underfloor heating, log fire
Modern kitchen with quality built-in appliances
Dining area
Bedroom 2; twin , linking to superking double bed if needed
Bathroom
Ensuite to main bedroom
Front garden, with ample parking area
Bedroom
View from terrace. to open countryside
Luxury hot tub to rear of property
View from back garden
Swan with cygnets on canal
Canal
Hot tub
Hot tub
Local geese
Evening
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Wellington, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Brummie47
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous place if in need of relaxation”
Reviewed 28 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We stayed at the Byre for a long weekend, myself, husband, 2 adult daughters and the dog.
We had a lovely chilled out stay. Our days were spent walking the dog along the canal and back to chill in the hot tub. Our evenings were spent again chilling in the hot tub....wonderful.
The Byre is well equipped, everything has been thought of. Property is well looked after and all of the linen etc was very clean.
The area is lovely and the garden just overlooks fields for as far as you can see. The garden is a decent size, plenty big enough for our Golden Doodle and it is very secure so we could let the dog roam free.
There is plenty of room for parking - we used 2 cars, could even get a third vehicle on site if needed.
A wonderful stay, we will visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DayMrs
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely family break ”
Reviewed 31 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Stayed here for a weekend in January & had a lovely time. The property is spacious & well equipped with everything you need. The kitchen is particularly well stocked with plenty of utensils & cooking equipment etc.
The owner, Tim, was very friendly & helpful. We were greeted with some local cider & cake which was a nice touch.
The area is beautiful & very quiet so it's a great place to go & relax, however it's still very close to the usual amenities- shops/restaurants etc. The garden is a good size & secure so we could let the dog & child roam free.
A tip if you're having shopping delivered: Note a brief description of the Byre on the order, our delivery driver had a bit of trouble finding it as couldn't see the sign (I'm not sure if there is one).
The hot tub is a fantastic feature & despite the cold weather we still managed to make use of it, a favourite with our daughter.
Would definitely recommend the Byre & hope to visit again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornbury, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Joannebuc...
Somerset, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic sunny weekend”
Reviewed 3 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The Byre was super. It had everything you needed for a stress free break. The garden is secure so no worries with the dog. The canal was within metres of the Byre And was beautiful. If you like bird watching then ideal for the kingfishers.
The Byre was warm, welcoming and to add it had a great hot tub. We were well looked after and will come back without any hesitation. Tim is great, and the Byre is a real asset.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeeshD80
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday ”
Reviewed 6 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My husband and I plus our 4yr old stayed for a week and had a fabulous time. We were greeted shortly after arrival by the owner who came armed with a box of local delights for us.

Accommodation was brilliant, very comfortable, spacious etc throughout. The garden and hot tub are just fabulous!

We visited Lyme Regis one day which is an hours drive away. Then visited the outlet in Glastonbury on another plus visited wookey hole on route to our holiday from London.

We will most definitely be returning again for another holiday! Thanks for having us!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grainnete...
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great spot ”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Stayed here at the weekend for a wedding in nearby Huntsham. Very clean and tidy, plenty of fresh towels and lovely cider and local apple juice left in the fridge. Plus a lovely fruit loaf.

Hot tub was great!

Only issue during our stay was wifi not working, limited phone signal in the area so getting maps to work etc was hard. We got lost a few times.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing