We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“If Carlsberg did 50th birthday weekends.........”
Tone Dale House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tone Dale House
Drawing room Games room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Tone Dale House
Drawing room
Games room
Breakfast room
Hall
Kitchen
Dining Room
Hall
Stables bedroom
Laundry bedroom
Nursery bedroom
Railway bedroom
Bathroom
Study
Party Room
The garden
The garden
The garden
The gazebo
The beautiful Blackdown Hills nearby
Views from the Blackdown Hills towards Wellington
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
15 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 31
Wellington, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sophie b
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“If Carlsberg did 50th birthday weekends.........”
Reviewed 1 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We have just come back from Tone Dale House where we celebrated my 50th birthday. What a weekend! What a place!! Right from the start Peter and Beverley did absolutely everything they could do help - from arranging our Thai Banquet - which was delicious and cooked completely from scratch on the premises - to a masseur who was brilliant - to putting our guests names on all the bedroom doors. When we arrived we were met by Anthony who was really really welcoming and informative. We were then left to party all weekend - the games room was there for the competitive among us, although i'm not sure if we managed to actually hit the ping pong ball at all, the drawing room with the roaring fire allowed us to relax during the day and then meeting there again for pre dinner champagne before starting all over again..... The party room was fantastic - it did exactly what it should!! All the bedrooms were comfortable and each had its own character, and as for the Laundry Room, well, it was exquisite. All in all, a memorable weekend with fabulous friends - all made possible by the beautiful surroundings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2016
What a great time you had and I'm so pleased that we could help towards that. We love to make your stay here run as smoothly as possible, so if we can arrange anything for you, it gives us great pleasure. Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, we really appreicate it.
With best wishes, Anthony.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susannah...
1 review
“Love this house”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Tone dale house is a gorgeous big house and it was perfect for my 40th birthday party. I looked at loads of houses before deciding on Tone Dale and was delighted I chose it as it is a beautiful house, has lots of character but is also set up incredibly well for big parties. No down sides to it, everyone in our party of 19 loved it. Very highly recommended.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2015
We're so pleased you had a great time for your birthday. We really like to make sure our houses have everything a big group needs, makes life so much easier doesn't it? Thank you for choosing us! Best wishes Peter.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjc02392
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quite simply, this place is superb.”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

It is not the simplest of tasks finding accommodation for 26 people that gives ample opportunity for mingling yet lets everyone feel like they have their own space, but Tone Dale delivers on both counts. One of the stand out things for us was how well catered for everything was; ample dishwashers and fridges and all that other practical stuff. Seems a boring feature to mention but it makes the world of difference with a large group of people. Above all this though, Tone Dale is a very special place and for however long you stay you are immersed in a different world, which is both relaxing and luxurious. And the party room is a bloody nice touch too!

I cannot recommend Tone Dale highly enough along with all the team that make the booking anything but difficult.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house itself and all the facilities.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2014
I am delighted you found Tone Dale House superb! It is a great pleasure to receive reviews that acknowledge that we have tried to think of everything to make you stay 'easy', mind you we have been doing it for nearly twenty years now so we have a lot of know how.
You are welcome back anytime and please remember we offer returning guests £500 off their next stay.
Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rach033
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Romantic setting - great for wedding or anniversary celebrations”
Reviewed 22 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Very Impressive house and garden with historic feel but tastefully decorated. It was a great setting for my friends' wedding celebrations. The large dining room and party room suited our needs pefectly. I slept in the Stables adjacent to the main house. It was nicely decorated with a lovely cosy bedroom. My only criticism is that the pipes made an awful noise when the tap was turned on upstairs but it was bearable for a weekend. The fridge in the Stables was also not working very efficiently which was a mild inconvenience. Despite the minor facility issues, I'd still recommend the main house for a stay with a big family of group of friends. The games room is brilliant.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Beautiful gardens and games room
Liked least: Noisy pipes in the Stables
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2013
Thank you for letting me know about the pipes - they have been checked out now and hopefully sorted! The fridge had been turned down to '0' so I reset it it to '6' and it is working fine. It looks like these things didn't stop you enjoying the weekend but I am so sorry you had to put up with them.
Kind regards
Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks
Reviewed 22 September 2011 for a stay in May 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing