We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to stay between the North and Southwest.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Backways Farmhouse B&B
Ranked #6 of 16 Wellington B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay between the North and Southwest.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

12 years ago we were looking for a B&B close to the M5, in the Taunton area, with parking for a car and folding caravan. Fortunately we found Backways and stay each year on our way to Cornwall. Ty and Vanessa are the perfect hosts. They provide a very comfortable home from home with thoughtfully furnished, immaculately clean guest rooms and fresh milk with the tea/coffee tray, a cosy sitting room and an amazing breakfast. The eggs are produced by the hens in the garden and the raspberries and redcurrants we enjoy in July are from their own bushes. There are options for a good evening meal not far away. As Backways is in such a good position for exploring the north and south coasts of Devon and many places of interest in between, we have stayed for more than 1 night recently and are planning a 3 night stay next year.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty G, Owner at Backways Farmhouse B&B, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for the glowing review; after 12 years we guessed you found it o.k! Our longest-standing customers having arrived soon after we opened, we look forward to enjoying your company each year and exchanging the year's news. Hope all will be well for a three day stay next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
10
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have stayed here twice, in 2012 and again last weekend. When we booked for last weekend, we kept saying to eachother how much we were looking forward to their breakfast. They do a B+B breakfast that is unforgettably delicious, and the eggs are from their own hens. It is also spotlessly clean, quiet and peaceful, and the owners are so friendly and helpful about the local area / driving directions etc. Also, I like the fact that the B+B has its own sitting room to enjoy of an evening, as well as a little front garden area for when its sunny. It really does have everything, this place. We won't stay anywhere else in Wellington anymore.

Room Tip: The double room at the front is massive. The room at the back is smaller, but has a nice view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoshandCharlott... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty G, Owner at Backways Farmhouse B&B, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thanks for your good and informative review which we hope is how you did find your stay. It was great to see you both again and look forward to next time - perhaps two years between visits is a little long? Trust your journey back was o.k. and that we can all enjoy the forthcoming summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed here on Sunday night this week, double room, single occupancy for £45 including a very nice cooked breakfast and FREE Wi-Fi.

Set back from the main road, it's a very quite place to stay.

My room was spotless as was the bathroom.

The owners were really welcoming and friendly so all in all a very nice stay indeed and excellent value for money.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone and will be staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenSpencer66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty G, Owner at Backways Farmhouse B&B, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Thanks for your recommendation and apologies for not having acknowledged it earlier - Xmas took over for a while! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

I stayed at Backways with my 12-year-old daughter for a night before a sports event to break up the journey. Ty emailed before our journey to let us know that we would be staying the same night as the Wellington carnival and gave me clear and friendly instructions to avoid any potential roadblocks and recommended a great place to get an evening meal when we arrived. We had a very friendly and warm arrival and our evening stay was very relaxed. Vanessa and Ty's home is relaxed, very clean and welcoming. We had lovely nights sleep and a superb breakfast, and we've suggested that the sports competition organisers recommend Backways in the future. Thank you and we hope to see you again! (Ps, Ellie won - must have been the breakfast and the perfectly warmed mask!)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty G, Owner at Backways Farmhouse B&B, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
A short but successful visit - another trophy for the mantelpiece! Many thanks for the review, just a shame you didn't have more time on this occasion to sample the area. Maybe we can entice you back?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

A good B&B is always better than some anonymous hotel chain on a business park and that is exactly what I found at Backways. I stayed here for five nights at the end of August 2013 in Bedroom 1. The farmhouse was a haven of peace and quiet, well away from the road and with an with an uninterrupted view from the window. I had a large comfortable room with a comfy bed and the sofa was useful for some quiet time to catch up on reading. The en-suite was large with a nice big shower. There were a couple of good pubs within walking distance for evening meals. As well as all the usual things you'd expect, Ty and Vanessa were happy to chill my bottle of wine for me and let me have it when it was sofa time. They also provided fresh milk for the tea-making facilities in the bedroom. The breakfasts were excellent with the home-made marmalade and jams being another great personal touch. And they were also very friendly and helpful, sharing their local knowledge.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty G, Owner at Backways Farmhouse B&B, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for your review. We also enjoyed your stay and your knowledge of the various National Trust buildings you photographed. Perhaps a return visit when it snows could be more picturesque? Thanks again for your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

My boyfriend and I booked Backways as it was half way between the surf and our next stop in Sommerset. We called ahead and spoke to Tai to check on amenities and he was very pleasant and happy for us to arrive a bit later. Unfortunately it was a bit rainy so didn't get the full benefit of the beautiful surroundings however we were warmly greeted upon our arrival by Tai who showed us through the house to our room. The house is an old farm house that conveniently splits into two so on the right is their house and the left is the B&B. The B&B has 3 rooms - we stayed in the best one so said Tai and it had an en-suite. The whole place was really really clean and looked like it had been recently decorated although didn't smell like paint so I guess they are just really on top of keeping it spik and span!! I was seriously impressed with how white the whole bathroom was, especially as there is no window to let steam out - not a spec of mold anywhere... The place was decorated with really interesting travel art..... not the usual bowl of fruit type stuff from a million years ago! In our room we had a lovely bed with the richest cotton sheets - felt really luxurious! We had a TV and sofa with complimentary tea/coffee/hot choc/biscuit tray. Plenty of room to put your things away, we were comfortable within minutes! We also had a gorgeous view,despite the rain! After Tai pointing us in the direction of the local chippy for dinner (also good!), he brought me a hot water bottle and the radiators came on as I was feeling the Great British Summer CHILL!! We had to dash in the morning so could stay for ages for breakfast but did manage to have our fair share of the cereals on offer, and cooked English and 2 rounds of toast with tea and juice to match - kept us going!! Again, all the furniture really interesting - made for good chat with the other guests around the breakfast table! I would definitely recommend and will return for sure, hopefully to stay a bit longer next time! Oh last thing is that I left my coat and Tai was quick to pop in the post for me - thanks both - it was short but sweet!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty G, Owner at Backways Farmhouse B&B, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
As we enter a 'heatwave', the chilly weather of a few weeks ago is hard to recall and no doubt the surf is doing what it didn't do when you were down. Thank you for your glowing and detailed review. It would have been interesting to discuss the travel experiences which made you notice the oddments scattered around the house. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to do so in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

We chose this B&B because of the high ratings, belatedly noting that these ratings are all very recent.
Ty and Vanessa were lovely hosts who were very friendly and interested in their guests. Whilst I hate to break the run of 5 star ratings, which Backways B&B currently has on trip advisor, this simply is not a 5 star establishment.
The twin room we had was inexpensively furnished and dated and the beds were simply 'clapped out' and uncomfortable. Overall the place appears to be run on a very tight budget, allowing for little in the way of luxury and frills.
If you want a basic, quiet, place to stay and don't mind basic standards then come here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petelincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty G, Owner at Backways Farmhouse B&B, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thank you for your comments on our hospitality and friendliness. We do not advertise ourselves as 5 star (nor charge accordingly!) and can only be happy that other guests have seen fit to rate us so highly on TripAdvisor! Readers may wish to view current photos of our rooms both here and on our own website to judge for themselves.
All of our spacious rooms are individually furnished and come with an excellent shower or bathroom, towels, shampoo/body gel, handwash, tea, coffee, herbal/fruit teas, hot chocolate, biscuits, digital TV, hairdryer, FRESH milk and scenic views! We also include Full English free-range breakfasts cooked to order with juices, cereals, fruit, yogurts, homemade jams and vegetarian options (all served with a smile!).
Nevertheless, we take our guests’ comfort very seriously and will replace the single mattresses in the twin room as a result of your feedback. We can only be sorry that our characterful farmhouse was not more to your taste.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellington
1.0 mi away
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
7.2 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
11.4 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel
0.6 mi away
BeamBridge Inn
BeamBridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Sampford Arundel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Old Dairy at Bishops Barton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backways Farmhouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backways Farmhouse B&B

Property: Backways Farmhouse B&B
Address: Backways Farmhouse Backways Lane | Backways Lane, Wellington TA21 9RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wellington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th Century comfortable farmhouse with modern facilities in rural setting but only 3 miles from J26 of M5 motorway. Private parking. Non-smoking. Easy access to Blackdown Hills, Exmoor, Somerset Levels, Quantocks, north and south coasts only 45 minutes. Free range breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Backways Farmhouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backways Farmhouse B&B Wellington, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing