We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little rough around the edges but overall a great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Yeovil, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Little rough around the edges but overall a great place to stay!”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We booked the Cleve Spa for a valentines break & had an excellent overall experience! The staff both in the evening & the following day were friendly, welcoming & helpful & provided excellent service. The room we stayed in (the Langford room) was spacious, very comfortable, well furnished & very clean. The décor both in our room & throughout the hotel was modern & well thought out however it could do with a bit of a touch up, hence a little rough around the edges! The restaurant had a good choice on its dinner menu & the food itself was excellent. Breakfast was buffet style with a good selection of both cooked & cold choices. The Spa facilities were, like the rest of the hotel, good but in need of a bit of a touch up. This didn't detract from our use of them however & we enjoyed relaxing in the pool/sauna/steam room & indoor Jacuzzi. Part of our stay included a treatment which we enjoyed in the couples room & left us feeling relaxed & refreshed. In-between using the pool etc & our treatment we were able to relax in the "relaxation room" & enjoy the complimentary refreshments provided. Overall our stay was excellent & I'd recommend the Cleve Spa to anyone looking for a relaxing spa break in the Somerset area!

Room Tip: Star Rooms very spacious & comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MetalmouthAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    78
    37
    16
    9
See reviews for
49
76
20
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a lovely stay. The staff were all great - really helpful and friendly. Our room was lovely in terms of decor and comfort. It could maybe have done with a little table instead of the foot rest between the two chairs by the window but that wasn't much of an issue. The bathroom was very clean but small, you can't walk round there if the door's open as it blocked access. The bed was extremely comfortable - lots of pillows and a good duvet.

The hotels spa was lovely, you're given a quick tour when you arrive and are given a spa dressing gown and towel. We booked in for a couples aromatherapy massage which was really good, could have stayed in there all day! The pool was very nice, as was the jacuzzi. There was also a steam room and sauna and a little gym - all very nice and clean.

The food at the hotel was one of the highlights - lovely food and good sized portions! The selection for dinner was good (you must try the brownie, it's a huge slab of gooey loveliness!) and the breakfast's were really good. A big choice of cooked breakfast, croissants, salmon... all cooked to order.

One thing we found was although our booking said we only had 90 minutes worth of spa use on the 2nd day, they encouraged us to spend the whole day in there if we wished. It's not a 'set rule' as such, we could come and go as we pleased.

Overall we had a lovely break away at the Cleve Spa and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the car park, if you want a room with a view, you'll want to check in to one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J0Rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We spent New Year's Eve at the Cleve Spa, and stayed the night. The staff are very welcoming, the rooms are very comfortable, the food is good (although limited in choice for vegetarians), and the spa facilities are excellent. The breakfast buffet is superb. As well as massage treatments available, there is a well-equipped gym, a sauna, steam room, jacuzzi and a nice little indoor heated pool. In Summer, the gardens would also be pleasant for outside dining, with fine views over the rolling Somerset countryside.
It's an excellent spot for a long weekend break, as Taunton, Exmoor, the Quantock and Blackdown Hills, and the North Somerset coast are all within easy reach.

Room Tip: We had the Sheldon room, and would choose it again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The room was clean, although rather small, so was the bathroom. The staff were great and helpful, the location made the stay great, the pub downstairs has a great view. breakfast was good, but not something special. overall a good stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoutmanEliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This is a nice hotel set some way back from the road in its own grounds. There is more than ample parking. The staff are polite, professional and friendly. There is a small sitting area and also a bar. The morning buffet breakfast is excellent. The rooms are clean and comfortable. It is highly recommended if your are in this area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skottlandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We met up with some friends for a pre-Christmas meal and stayed the night. This was not a Party Night. On the whole the staff were friendly, however if you use the spa/pool you have to take the towel from your room and then they expect you to pay £2 per towel to change the wet towels! Our towels were changed by reception but reluctantly.
The hotels system make it very difficult to split the cost of a bottle of wine between two rooms, then when you question why you get a mouthful from the waitress. It is not the guests fault that the hotel systems are obviously inadequate but ultimately it's the guest that suffers. The duty manager and the other waitress did their best to remedy the situation, however the damage had already been done.
The hotel has potential, maybe we just picked a bad weekend? The hotel was cold with the sofas pushed up hard against the radiators so that the heat did not circulate. There was a log fire in the lounge but only appeared to be for decoration. We did not stay for breakfast so are not able to comment on that. Our evening meal was A la carte but was nothing special.

Would we visit again, no. Many changes would need to be implemented before we would even consider staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This was my first visit to cleve spa I cannot comment on the rooms or food as went just for treatments, and after having had two signature treatments, I would recommend both of them. The ritual and the Body ritual, my skin was amazingly soft for days after the body ritual. The therapists I had were lovely, took time, and explained everything and spa was calm and very relaxed, not like some spa's where you feel like your a body on a conveyor belt, truly relaxing in a wonderful location and will be back soon. Excellent

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fisherman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellington
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Wellington Somerset Hotel
8.9 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
6.5 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#6 of 17 in Taunton
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
140 reviews
19.3 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
235 reviews
6.2 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cleve Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cleve Hotel & Spa

Property: The Cleve Hotel & Spa
Address: Mantle Street, Wellington TA21 8SN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cleve Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cleve Hotel, in Wellington, Somerset, is a commanding former Country Gentleman's Manor House. The beautiful building and surrounding grounds are steeped in local history, and afford a timeless charm, spacious feel and excellent facilities to those who visit. Situated in the heart of the West Country, The Cleve Hotel has striking views across the Devon and Somserset hills and offers guests a gentle pace with friendly, professional service. The Cleve is family owned and run for more than thirty-five years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Cleve Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cleve Hotel Wellington
The Cleve Hotel & Spa Wellington, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing