We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spa break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
tavistock
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely spa break”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I went with some friends for a spa break at this lovely hotel. The staff were friendly, helpful and kind. The rooms were nice, clean and comfortable. and the spa luxurious. We had two treatments, swam in the pool, bobbed in the jacuzzi and used the sauna and steam room. The food was lovely. We thought the weekend was fantastic value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildwomanswimming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    75
    34
    16
    9
See reviews for
46
73
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Me and my partner booked in for a couples spa day during the Valentines weekend.

The main receptionist was quite rude, and reluctantly took us downstairs to the spa, where we were greeted with a much friendlier face.

We arrived late missing our early 9 o'clock treatments due to major flooding near by, we were not allowed a refund, however, we were able to re-book for later on in the day, albeit slightly different treatments (separate times, separate rooms).

After being shown around, me and my partner were left to our own devises.

The one thing i really enjoyed about this spa was that it wasn't busy! It wasn't rammed with children, or gossipers, and was very chilled and relaxed.

The carpet was a bit dated, and i wish i took flipflops as had nothing to wear on my feet which did feel a bit unhygienic.

The relaxation room, the pool and the hottub were tidy and clean, but dated.

The food, was okay! A cheese ploughmans for lunch was all we really needed before our massages.

The massage was lovely! The best part of the day, would recommend the back massage (30 mins).

Overall we did have a lovely day, but that may have been down to the time we got to spend together rather than the spa experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grace H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

My overwhelming impression was of all the lovely friendly staff. Really everyone was smiley and happy to help. A little bit worn in places and the carpet is a bit crazy. We thought the room was excellent and the food was lovely. The treatments in the spa were great and very affordable. A new towel in the second day would have been appreciated. More of a hotel with a spa than a Spa hotel I thought, but this didn't bother us. Beautiful views. All in all a great stay. Would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cgixster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The spa has all of the facilities of a usual spa, and is kept clean. We stayed over night, and the rooms are warm and cosy. We had a nice large bath and a separate shower. There is plenty of space to move around. The staff are very relaxed and friendly, which conveys the general atmosphere of the spa. We had a massage, which was done very professionally and thoughtfully.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We booked the Cleve Spa for a valentines break & had an excellent overall experience! The staff both in the evening & the following day were friendly, welcoming & helpful & provided excellent service. The room we stayed in (the Langford room) was spacious, very comfortable, well furnished & very clean. The décor both in our room & throughout the hotel was modern & well thought out however it could do with a bit of a touch up, hence a little rough around the edges! The restaurant had a good choice on its dinner menu & the food itself was excellent. Breakfast was buffet style with a good selection of both cooked & cold choices. The Spa facilities were, like the rest of the hotel, good but in need of a bit of a touch up. This didn't detract from our use of them however & we enjoyed relaxing in the pool/sauna/steam room & indoor Jacuzzi. Part of our stay included a treatment which we enjoyed in the couples room & left us feeling relaxed & refreshed. In-between using the pool etc & our treatment we were able to relax in the "relaxation room" & enjoy the complimentary refreshments provided. Overall our stay was excellent & I'd recommend the Cleve Spa to anyone looking for a relaxing spa break in the Somerset area!

Room Tip: Star Rooms very spacious & comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MetalmouthAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a lovely stay. The staff were all great - really helpful and friendly. Our room was lovely in terms of decor and comfort. It could maybe have done with a little table instead of the foot rest between the two chairs by the window but that wasn't much of an issue. The bathroom was very clean but small, you can't walk round there if the door's open as it blocked access. The bed was extremely comfortable - lots of pillows and a good duvet.

The hotels spa was lovely, you're given a quick tour when you arrive and are given a spa dressing gown and towel. We booked in for a couples aromatherapy massage which was really good, could have stayed in there all day! The pool was very nice, as was the jacuzzi. There was also a steam room and sauna and a little gym - all very nice and clean.

The food at the hotel was one of the highlights - lovely food and good sized portions! The selection for dinner was good (you must try the brownie, it's a huge slab of gooey loveliness!) and the breakfast's were really good. A big choice of cooked breakfast, croissants, salmon... all cooked to order.

One thing we found was although our booking said we only had 90 minutes worth of spa use on the 2nd day, they encouraged us to spend the whole day in there if we wished. It's not a 'set rule' as such, we could come and go as we pleased.

Overall we had a lovely break away at the Cleve Spa and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the car park, if you want a room with a view, you'll want to check in to one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J0Rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We spent New Year's Eve at the Cleve Spa, and stayed the night. The staff are very welcoming, the rooms are very comfortable, the food is good (although limited in choice for vegetarians), and the spa facilities are excellent. The breakfast buffet is superb. As well as massage treatments available, there is a well-equipped gym, a sauna, steam room, jacuzzi and a nice little indoor heated pool. In Summer, the gardens would also be pleasant for outside dining, with fine views over the rolling Somerset countryside.
It's an excellent spot for a long weekend break, as Taunton, Exmoor, the Quantock and Blackdown Hills, and the North Somerset coast are all within easy reach.

Room Tip: We had the Sheldon room, and would choose it again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellington
8.9 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Wellington Somerset Hotel
10.5 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
Rookery Manor
Rookery Manor
#1 of 1 in Edingworth
846 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
635 reviews
5.2 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cleve Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cleve Hotel & Spa

Property: The Cleve Hotel & Spa
Address: Mantle Street, Wellington TA21 8SN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cleve Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cleve Hotel, in Wellington, Somerset, is a commanding former Country Gentleman's Manor House. The beautiful building and surrounding grounds are steeped in local history, and afford a timeless charm, spacious feel and excellent facilities to those who visit. Situated in the heart of the West Country, The Cleve Hotel has striking views across the Devon and Somserset hills and offers guests a gentle pace with friendly, professional service. The Cleve is family owned and run for more than thirty-five years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Cleve Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cleve Hotel Wellington
The Cleve Hotel & Spa Wellington, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing