We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A 4 star hotel with charm, in the countryside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Gallo delle Pille
Ranked #3 of 27 Monzambano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
105 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A 4 star hotel with charm, in the countryside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

We have fallen into the habit of visiting the area of the Mincio every year, and this year we picked this BnB which looked nice and was close to Valeggio sul Mincio. After little trouble with the navigator, we found our way thanks to the indication that the host had written on the web site (do print it out). Located in a very traditional italian courtyard, the rooms of Gallo alle Pille are located in one side building that overlooks the countryside. We were placed in the top bedroom, which has a rollaway bed where the kids slept. The room - in theme with the rest of the building and bnb premises - is nicely decorated and carefully furnished: (clean) nets on every window, a/c, tents, bathroom looking new and spotless clean. Flat TV screen and refrigerator. Wifi. It is a traditional house yet worked out with a modern eye, really pleasant.
Then the host, a very nice woman, prepared a breakfast that could have pleased a king.
Last but not least, the price was absolutely fine. Just keep in mind, they take no c/card.
Definitely would go back again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMcGonagall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
99
136
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

Our family of 2 adults and 2 children aged 5 and 2 stayed in the Balila room on the second floor for 3 nights during May 2012. The room was extremely clean (it was cleaned every day during our visit – as we discovered, this was not mandatory for B&B in Italy), uniquely decorated and equipped with a small refrigerator, a large bathroom and adequate storage room. The room was large enough for all of us and the children shared a sofa bed during the night. Michela and Mario, the couple that owns and manages the B&B, hospitality was extremely warm and kind. They gave us great recommendations about nice restaurants in the near villages and local events in the surroundings – we had a great time shopping for fresh products in the local farms in a local event that took place during our visit based on their recommendation. Breakfast was excellent with all what we could wish to have in a breakfast including local products such as home baked cakes, yogurts and juices as well as fresh bread, butter, cheese, jams, fruits, eggs, coffee and tea. Every day a new surprise was waiting for the children – either a chocolate egg (laid by a ceramic chicken) or a set of nice coloring pencils. They gave us a tour in the family's old cars collection and in the large yard where they have a small pool (unfortunately the weather was too cold for us to use it) and a nice pony horse the children adored. The place is located in a green, quite area near Monzambano village within 20 minutes ride from the south Lake Garda attractions. The location is also great to travel the Mantova area either by car or bicycle. The vineyard views from the room are lovely and the place is very quiet. The place is highly recommended to anyone who looks for true Italian warm hearted hospitality in a wonderful quite area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

This is a beautiful farmhouse property just south of Lake Garda, surrounded by rolling hills. Mario and Michela have created a little piece of heaven in this tiny hamlet south of Peschiera. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable, decorated country-style, in an old stone building that was completely renovated. Our room had a sitting area as well as a spacious bathroom and sleeping area and we could not have been happier with the excellent shower and the comfort of the bed. Waking up in the country with none of the noises of the city we are accustomed to was magical. There's a pool on the property and an outdoor dining area for the warmer months (we visited in January, but will be back!) and the views sweep south over farms and fields.

What's great about this place is that it is both remote and very centrally located: Verona airport is about 25 minutes away, and you are within 30 minutes of great attractions: Verona, Lake Garda, and the Roman ruins of Sirminone. Slightly farther are Mantua, Vicenza, Brescia and the wine regions of Valpolicella, Franciacorta and Soave. For students of Italian history, you can visit the touching memorials to the war of independence that was fought in this area. Also nearby is the International Red Cross Memorial which is a lovely, quiet spot for contemplation and reflection. From the Verona station, you can grab a direct train to Venice (amazing) or Padua (Giotto's Scrovegni Chapel frescoes are one of the greatest works of Italian art from the Renaissance) for a day visit. Do not miss the tiny hamlet of Borghetto on the Mincio River about 10 minutes from Gallo del Pille - a little village built on the river with water-powered mills and beautiful views over the river. We are thinking of bringing our bikes next time because the rolling countryside is perfect for long rides of moderate difficulty.

Mario and Michela are gracious and generous hosts, taking the time to explain the area and help with suggestions for visits and restaurants. The breakfast was great - particularly excellent were the local cheeses, salami and yogurt, accompanied by good bread and excellent coffee (B&Bs do not always have great coffee, and this was a pleasant surprise). There is a full buffet of breakfast items for those who have bigger morning appetites, and I look forward to returning in warm weather to enjoy breakfast on the outdoor patio.

Within 5-minute walking distance of Gallo del Pille is an excellent small restaurant called Le Quattro Gatti which is great for not having to drive to dinner! I had an excellent Fiorentina steak of the local breed of cattle there and would recommend this place as well. The menu there is simple and features many local dishes, and everything we tried was exceptionally well-prepared.

Mario is also a sommelier and has created a "Gallo del Pille" wine label that you can enjoy as an aperitif in your room or in the gardens. The white was exceptional: crisp and very refreshing. It was a great way to start the evening after driving a few hours from Turin. I had known Mario from his sommelier work in Verona and was really impressed by his first foray into making his own wine.

Overall, we thought this was a highlight of our trip to the Veneto and Lombardy regions and are already planning to come back and use this as a base for our next visit. For those looking for seclusion, peace and quiet without being overly remote, this is an excellent choice.

Room Tip: As for one of the rooms in the detached farmhouse, very quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deconstructoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsey, New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

Gallo delle Pille is an exceptional B & B located in what seems to be the middle of nowhere but actually is quite easy to find and close to Verona. The property is pristine, well manicured and has an excellent panorama. There is an outdoor dining area with a wood burning stove for when the weather is good. A pool for swimming and antique cars and vespas for your viewing pleasure. A secluded sitting area offers a romantic respite from your hectic life.
Stepping into our room in the B & B was like being in New England. Extremely quaint with a homey feeling that makes you feel welcome from the minute you arrive. The bathroom is well appointed with a forceful shower with space to spare. Those who travel in Italy know that a good shower is not easy to come by. There was plenty of hot water and the plushist towels with a towel warmer. Another wonderful surprise. There was a basket with many bath and shower gels to choose from as well as toothpaste, shampoo and moisturizer. No detail was overlooked.
Our room had the sleeping area as well as a sitting room with a flat screen TV and a refrigerator that was well stocked along with snacks.
Breakfast was as delightful as was the hospitality and cordiality of Michele and Mario Cicalese, the proprietors. Their home is equally welcoming and quaint. The kitchen is exceptionally well appointed with a beautiful country stove and feel.
Breakfast was wonderful. Available to eat were cornetti, both plain and ricotta, fresh home-made bread baked by Michele that very morning. Cheese, procioutto, fresh artisinal yogurt with cheeries, apricots, honey, apple. Hard boiled eggs from the farm, local honey, marmolata - fragole, apricot and cheery
Tea, cappachino, coffee all served to us by Mario.
As we are friends of the owners we were treated to an exceptional dinner with the family which includes 2 young boys with exceptional manners, 2 cats, one large dog and a pony. The dog and the pony did not join us for dinner but the cats were a delight and there for your petting pleasure if you are so inclined.
For breakfast I had the yogurt, the most exceptional I have ever eaten, a cornetto, fresh and flakey to which I added the local Fragole jam and excellent cappachino. Mario insisted I taste the ricotta cornetto which I could not finish but wrapped up for our car ride. It was too good to leave behind.
As the first American to stay at the B & B I would highly recommend it and plan on returning there in the near future. It is located about 30k from Verona.
There are incredible wineries in the area as you are in Lombardia but a stones throw from the Veneto region.
Do not think twice about staying at this extremely affordable, secluded, homey, welcoming Bed & Breakfast.

Sally Ann & Franco Bengasi
sallyanndesigns.com
wineemporiumny.com

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

Excellent! A baeutiful place, surrounded by nature. Very close to Lake La Garda and very easy to get to and from Verona Airport. My sister and I chose this place for the first night and decided we must be back there again before leaving Italy, so much had we enjoyed there!
The hosts are very kind and willing to explain about any attractions and trips in the area - we found their advices and recommendations very helpful.
The rooms are clean and well-designes, there is a large garden to sit and relax in, and the whole property is interesting to explore. Breakfast is generous and varied.
We strongly recommend this B&B for anyone who looks for a comfortable, fair-priced B&B in Verona and La Garda area. We surely will love to visit there again, when traveling to Italy.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shlomit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monzambano hotels
0.4 mi away
Agriturismo Lupo Bianco
Agriturismo Lupo Bianco
#1 of 3 in Monzambano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
3.2 mi away
Agriturismo La Casa del Mandorlo
2.1 mi away
Corte Uccellanda
Corte Uccellanda
#2 of 3 in Monzambano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
B&B Al Tramonto
B&B Al Tramonto
#1 of 2 in Castellaro Lagusello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
1.9 mi away
L'Isolo bed and breakfast
L'Isolo bed and breakfast
#4 of 27 in Monzambano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Pille B&B
Villa Pille B&B
#9 of 27 in Monzambano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Gallo delle Pille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Gallo delle Pille

Property: B&B Gallo delle Pille
Address: Strada Pille Tarsi 3A, 46040, Monzambano, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Mantua > Monzambano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Monzambano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your B&B Gallo delle Pille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing