We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Hostal El Cardon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Purmamarca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal El Cardon
Ranked #9 of 14 Purmamarca B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 November 2012

I found this hostal when I was looking for a place to stay in Purmamarca. It has nice and clean rooms. Good location, just few steps from main plaza. The price was also ok, paid 160 ars for a single with breakfast. Staff was nice. Nice views from rooftop of the Cerro 7 colores.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heka_BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2012

Booked a room more than a month in advance based on TA reviews. Local folks confirmed it twice for us -- including once within 24 hours. When we arrived, we learned the place was closed for renovation. Could have told us or our local connection when it was being reconfirmed. We had to scramble to find a last minute place (but our local guide helped out greatly). If it had been a busier week, we would have been really in trouble.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
Thank Phantphant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Book a room upstairs for a fantastic view. Really clean, comfortable and nice. Although there is a kitchen we were only able to boil water for hot drinks and not cook. We phoned ahead to make reservation but it was very quiet. Unfortunately the breakfast provided is very basic and not that good but the room and view makes up for it!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geronimoturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

While I havent seen or stayed in any of the other lodging in Purmamarca I can positively say this is the best place to stay! The hotel is small and quaint, clean and tidy and very accomodating.

The best part by far is the view! Between 9:00am and 10:00am the sun comes down across the Cerro de Siete Colores and the view from the hotel is priceless. Walk up the spiral staircase and watch it from their patio-BEST view in town I´m sure!

Room Tip: Try to get a room upstairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adastra05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Stayed one night in an upstairs room with spectacular views of the Cerro de Siete Colores! The beds were comfortable. The breakfast was good, yet simple. Fresh orange juice, toast and medialunas with coffee and tea.
It was hard to contact them to make the reservation but I was able to reach them by phone and everything went well.
The location is one block from the central square. We were able to park our car in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: ask for an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank newyorker79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2009

We were on a 6 day trip in the Salta region with an excellent guide David Martinez [--] and he arranged one of the two double rooms on the upper floor for us as these give better views of the coloured hills first thing in the morning. It was a clean basic room which was quite comfortable. As said by another poster the spiral staircase makes it difficult to get cases upstairs and when taking a shower you did have to go out of the room and plug in the pump to raise the water pressure but these are just minor things. The breakfast was fairly basis but enough for us. What you get at El Cardon is a great view of the famous coloured hills which surround this small village. There is a great restaurant in a road alongside the church and it is quite magical to sit in the village square at night. Whilst it isn't a 5 star luxury hotel El Cardon is perfectly adequate clean, comfortable no frills hotel for a one night stop unless you cannot bear to stay in a place which doesn't have internet access.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluebirdfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

I stayed here for 3 nights. It was my treat after staying in dorms for the past few months. I had a double room to myself. The place was the cleanest I have come across in Argentina and Chile. They cleaned so thorougly every day, they moved beds and really mopped the whole tiled floor. The linen and towels were nice and fresh, they also provided soap, shampoo and conditioner on a daily basis. It's a quiet place and the view from the second floor towards the 7 colour mountain is beautiful. Breakfast consisted of toasted white bread and little pots of dulce de leche, cheese and pate, tea/coffee and juice. The staff was friendly and helpful.
The hotel is very close to the main square and nice little restaurants. I can recommend the walk around the mountain and the trip to the salt flats by taxi. The road winds through impressive landscape and quite some altitude. The salt flats are very different to those in San Pedro de Atacama which are crumbly. They are similar to those in Bolivia I was told (less impressive as smaller) white and really flat but if you don't make it to Bolivia I would recomment to go to these.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rainbow22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Purmamarca
1.3 mi away
Mirador del Virrey, Cabanas Boutique
14.7 mi away
Cerro Chico
Cerro Chico
#2 of 15 in Tilcara
365 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marques de Tojo
Marques de Tojo
#3 of 10 in Purmamarca
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Colores de Purmamarca
Colores de Purmamarca
#1 of 10 in Purmamarca
305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posta de Purmamarca
Posta de Purmamarca
#1 of 14 in Purmamarca
208 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Valentina
La Valentina
#6 of 14 in Purmamarca
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal El Cardon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Cardon

Address: Calle Belgrano S/N, Purmamarca Y4619AAA, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Jujuy > Purmamarca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Purmamarca
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing