We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true culinary and sensory esperience”
Review of Mimoza Restaurant

Mimoza Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 46 Restaurants in Gumusluk
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
İstanbul
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A true culinary and sensory esperience”
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Excellent food,discerning service,incredible views and environment...Seafood ,regional herbs and great tasting dishes..we spent a whole afternoon enjoying what was originally lunch...

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Faron83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    54
    26
    32
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“hidden pleasure of gumusluk.. waiting to be discovered!”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

you will enjoy walking along the beach to get to this jewel that lies in gumusluk, the setting is very serene and calm, with very nice selections of music playing softly in the background. everything is white which gives it a very summery airy feel... the selection of turkish mezza (salads & cold appetizers) is very wide... i savoured every dish we ordered! the hot appetizers are mouth watering stuffed with pastrami and cheeses... yum!! it was truly a delight for me and my palette! the service was excellent, the hostess is very pleasant and the waiters are very attentive! the shrimp baked with cheese, peppers and onions was marvellous, as was the shrimp sauteed with mushrooms and garlic and a hint of pepper...the wine list is great, definitely try the sarafin savignion blanc which is a local turkish wine that went perfectly with the food!! i wish i could back there now!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zewey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 471 helpful votes
“Pricey would be an insufficient expression. 'Ripoff' would do fine.”
Reviewed 6 September 2012

As recent TA reviewers Margeritta and TravelWins correctly observed, Mimoza is the worst ripoff fish restaurant in Gümüslük, and probably also in the entire Bodrum peninsula.

I must admit that the ambiance, freshness of the food, as well as presentation of Mimoza is admirable, these aspects are not sufficient to justify outrageously high prices. Fish restaurants have the highest profit margin in Turkey (due to the fact that the customers accept extremely high markups in alcoholic beverages and fish as compared to supermarket prices). Therefore, it is absolutely obnoxious to add further markups (read:profit margins) to already high markups.

If you are willing to spend an additional 30 or 40 percent more at Mimoza rather than having the same food in the next Gumusluk restaurant, Mimoza is the right place for you! If not, try any other Gumusluk fish restaurants next door, with the same amazing view but slightly less impressing surroundings...

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank gezgin_dromedary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I feel sad when I read reviews below”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I feel very sad when I read reviews below. Because Mimoza located best place of Gumusluk. Location, sea view, local foods evertyhing perfect to create a real touristic icon except money minded management. There is no menu and no price, thats why you cannot know what you pay. Your table location and service quality set based on how much you spend. Overpriced bill should not be a surprise. Always check the bill because when I check the bill I figured out some items added that I havent ordered. As a local reviewer I recommend avoid this tourist trap restaurant if you looking good food with good price.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank GokhanTercan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrible Attitude”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

I tried to book a table here as a single traveller and then again with a group of friends.

As a single traveller I tried to book a table and they did not want to know. They made every excuse under the sun as to why they could not give me a table even though I was trying to book two weeks in advance. I reluctantly accepted this as, at their busy time of year,I assumed it made poor business sense to have a table occupied by one person when it could accommodate four. Their attitude was appalling however.

When we returned as a group we booked well in advance and specifically booked a table by the sea. 'Yes, yes we can do this' was the response. When we arrived they tried to put us in a table in the middle and when we pointed out that we had reserved they tried to put us on a table miles down the beach. We left and will not be returning. Go to Zeytin or Fenerci - the food is better there and the wine cheaper and the people are so much nicer.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mimoza Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mimoza Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing