We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Location, No Maintenance” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lanjut Golden Beach & Golf Resort Kuala Rompin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lanjut Golden Beach & Golf Resort Kuala Rompin
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kuala Rompin
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
1 review
“Nice Location, No Maintenance”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

The first thought that came to my mind is that the hotel looks like it's going to be closed down soon. It seems that they do not maintenance the place at all. The gold field looks yellowish and there's an open burning on the other side. Didn't know the purpose, maybe just wanna chase away the mosquitoes. It could be a real beautiful golf course.

We were the only people in the hotel during our stay. We stayed there for 4 days 3 nights to attend a business trip in Muadzam Shah. The food is expensive and bad. Waiter and waitresses were not trained. Many food on the menu are not available. They came to our table 3-4 times just to tell that our choice of menu are not available. Funny but irritating at the same time. The nearest operating restaurant outside is probably around 30 minutes away.

The pool was closed during our stay. The beach is nice but has no one playing on it. You can't see it when the sun set. It is very dark.

The room is tidy but the furniture looked aging. The fan is not working, the balcony light is not working as well. The air-con sounds like it is going to break soon. I couldn't sleep on the first night because of the loud sound from the air-con. Water pressure is not very strong. Thankfully that we were the only guest and no one else was using.

It has a TV set in the room with a few channels. Not a very big TV, around 32-inches, if I am not mistaken. Didn't try to use the room service so I have no comment on that. We only get a newspaper on the third night.

The only reason why we didn't changed to the other hotel was that there were no other good hotels around. The one in Kuantan are way too far.

It could be a real relaxing place to be at if you are looking for leisure. Good place to have your extra marital affairs at. No people will bother about you.

Room Tip: Second floor will have a good view at the beach, but maybe will get lower water pressure. Air-cons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    6
    23
    4
    14
See reviews for
19
4
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

To begin, the resort is in a very nice location. Rooms are ok, some rooms leak so you have to inspect the rooms before you buy. The food is the worst I have ever seen in any hotel/resort in my life. They served us smelly rotten fish, when we complain they said that that's what it should smell like and did we take it from the buffet line, if it was smelly. We demanded a refund but was forced to pay the bill. Hospitality is atrocious. Further addidng to our dismay, me and many of my friends lost mobile phones, laptops, camera flash etc, not a single thing was found. Come at your own risk.

Room Tip: Inspect the room before staying in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mudtrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuala Rompin hotels

MY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

Booked for a weekend during a Paintball Competition, 5th to 7th October. The pictures and the actual experience is way off!!!.........The owners of the Resort needs to really have a good look at appropriate refurbishments!!!.......saw the normal rates and was shocked.....a Rip Off!!! Rooms were not very clean and the sink was stuck. This resort has very high potential but the Owners/Operators needs to have a wake up call!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SCCK1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

Stayed for two nights- 5th and 6th of October 2012- with a huge bunch of folks who were there for a large scenario paintball game.

Our room:
1. Stank and smelled like it had not been cleaned in a while.
2. Was damp as the air conditioning unit was leaking very badly.
3. Had a door that was almost impossible to lock from the outside.

The corridors were dirty. The beach was littered with broken glass, light bulbs and other things that can seriously hurt the barefooted.

The restaurant kitchen looked absolutely filthy.

Only positive was the ample parking.

Avoid.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laifer69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

Rather out of the way resort that may appeal to people playing golf. Limited facilities for families other than a pool and the beach so would not recommend for families. While the place is clean the facilities are starting to show signs of age.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sralls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

If you don't expect much from this backwater location then you won't be disappointed. Like everyone else staying we were going out on sailfishing trips in the daytime, so we're pretty tired by the end of the day and just looking for food and a comfortable bed. The setting is on a long deserted beach, nice, but similar to anywhere else up the east coast of Malaysia.

We stayed in the beach chalets which were fine, if dated. Food was limited, but the nasi goreng was ok for dinner and the eggs ok for breakfast. Don't mind the cats prowling for scraps in the restaurant!

Bring your own booze, there is none for sale here.

The golf course looks great, and was deserted, so would be a good location for a golf and fishing combo weekend.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Based here for 4 nights on a fishing trip.

Front desk service nonchalant & lack lustre. There is a LOT of staff there but none seem responsible for any sort of service. Got a 2br beach chalet for the 3 of us which was fine. Clean, large and great air conditioning. Funny little TV with 1 channel only, despite having a cable TV guide. Wifi was available in our chalet though very patchy with moments of high speed and extended periods where it didn't go at all.

Food was absolutely terrible. Quite honestly the worst meal of my life. Do not eat here. We had lunch on the first day. Ordered a hamburger at 2pm to be told 5 mins later that burgers had finished for the day. Got fish & chips. No one knew what type of fish was served but it was muddy and putrid with cysts in it and I ate 1 bite only whose to this day conjurs up a retch. My friend bit into his chicken wings to find it red raw and still bleeding. Disgusting and dangerous. Get a lift into Kuala Rompin town where there are some great restaurants.

Pool was a distinct milky colour and looked like it'd burn your eyes out. Stray cats walking around urinating on all the deck chairs so wasn't keen to hang out pool side.

The beach is fine, you can have a fire and by doing so might help to dispose of all the litter lying around, as is typical with many Malaysian beaches.

Upside was it's location very close to the pier where we met our fishing charter each day and the golf course which was fantastic and virtually all ours. Club & buggy rental available. They're pretty haggard buggy's but a few on the trot electrical repairs saw us through the day.

Best thing was you can juts slip the cleaners a few ringit to wash all your fishy gears and avoid paying any set prices.

Do not expect anything more than 3 stars from this place and aside from toast for breakfast, do NOT eat here!

Room Tip: get a beach chalet! That way the rustic nature of it will feel a little more expected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RiskyMcNugget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuala Rompin
14.9 mi away
Hotel Seri Malaysia Rompin
Hotel Seri Malaysia Rompin
#1 of 4 in Kuala Rompin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
24.3 mi away
Endau Beach Resort
Endau Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Endau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tanjung Inn
Tanjung Inn
#2 of 11 in Cherating
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Simukut Hill View
Simukut Hill View
#13 of 28 in Pulau Tioman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Lanjut Golden Beach & Golf Resort Kuala Rompin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanjut Golden Beach & Golf Resort Kuala Rompin

Property: Lanjut Golden Beach & Golf Resort Kuala Rompin
Address: Kg. Lanjut, Kuala Rompin 26800, Malaysia (Formerly Serai Beach and Golf Resort)
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Kuala Rompin
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kuala Rompin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lanjut Golden Beach & Golf Resort Kuala Rompin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Lanjut Golden Beach & Golf Resort Kuala Rompin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing