We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Vieux Logis Hotel-Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Yvoire
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sadly disappointing”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This hotel is very run down and in poor repair
We didn't feel particularly welcomed,and there was no offer of assistance on arrival
The room was sadly in need of refurbishment and was hot and noisy.The hand-held shower in the bath was from a bygone era

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Santaemilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    20
    20
    12
    6
See reviews for
20
45
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights, beautiful town and great old, historic buildling, but the rooms are unbelievably dated -- literally the light peachy-pink/pale green tones circa the '70s. Very unfortunate as this hotel has the potential to be marvelous, but is not. The rugs are in dire need of replacement. They're not just old and worn, but they are filthy. The beds need new mattresses -- just in need of a complete overhaul. Bathrooms were clean and large, with a tub. Our room had a balconey overlooking the main street, very nice feature. Wifi available at no charge in the common area. Didn't try the restaurant, except for a 9 Euro breakfast which consisted of coffee, one glass of orange juice, and bread/croissant with jam. No cheese, fruit, meat, etc. Staff were luke-warm during our stay. As noted previously, another guest was charged for parking that he hadn't used in error.

Room Tip: Wait until they renovate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BonRona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We absolutely loved this hotel, the view of the lake, and the charming village!

We booked a double and a twin room to house our family of 4 (not sure if they have any family rooms, but there were none available when we booked). Having to take 2 rooms added to the price, but we were very pleased with the overall value and did not find the rooms dated at all. The double room had a beautiful view across to the lake, with ivy and flowers all around the windows and the sound of chimes from the church tower. The twin room had french windows leading out to a small private patio area with table and chairs. Both rooms were large, comfortable and very clean. Access to the bedrooms was via a spiral staircase from the bar area.

Dinner was excellent - not cheap, but very good value for the quality of food served and attentive service. Good wine list. Breakfast above average. Wandering around the medieval village and down to the lake really added to the experience and we wish we had stayed for longer than one night.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jkde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed here, as it was the venue for our friend's wedding. The hotel is in a fantastic location in the middle of the medieval village of Yvoire. The room we had (room 3), whilst clean with quite a nice little balcony, had a very outdated bathroom with no overhead shower and was in need of replacement. Our friends were in rooms 1 & 2....the bathrooms in these rooms had been replaced and it was like being in a different hotel - very nice. The staff were very friendly and helpful, however I wouldn't bother with the breakfast.....€9 each for a couple of croissants, some jam and some coffee!
Overall a pleasant hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitty-Ten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands, UK
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Having stayed round the lake previously we decided to stay at Yvoire. It's an absolute gem of a town. We checked in to the hotel whilst they were serving lunch . The restaurant and the garden areas were absolutely packed. Room was clean but fairly dated although it was very comfortable with a good sized bathroom. We did not have dinner there but walked down the road to a neighbouring restaurant. Trying to sleep on our return was difficult - there was a game of football going on in the garden until after midnight. Breakfast was reasonable as were the prices.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolineMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, NL
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

I stayed in this hotel with my husband and our baby and we really enjoyed it. We had a room on the third floor (no elevator), which was quite cheap and had an absolutely beautiful view of the medieval town (which I understand most of the rooms have). The furnishing was quite outdated, but it seemed clean and served its purpose. Friendly staff and nice restaurant. The only thing that disappointed us was breakfast (limited to a few not so good pastries, bread and jam).

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neetje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2009

We stayed and dined at this small hotel (***) three nights (demi-pension) in late October 2007, and were practically alone for dinner each night -- quite a contrast from the crowds that we understand overflow the village in the summer.

Dinners in the cozy restaurant by the fireside were all very nice. One night after dinner, we were treated to a local singer who was belting out popular and traditional songs to an appreciative crowd in an adjoining larger dining/ banquet room.

Our bedroom had a fantastic view (see photo) but the interior felt rather tired in an early 1980s sort of way. The bathroom was pure 1950s, but clean and functional.

The owners/ proprietors were very pleasant and helpful, and gave us a bottle of our favorite liqueur upon departure. Note: It's fun to take a day-drive around lake Geneva . . . .

-- Jake (http://parisandbeyondinfrance.blogspot.com/ )

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PByF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yvoire
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Jules Verne
Hotel Le Jules Verne
#4 of 5 in Yvoire
144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Cecile
Villa Cecile
#2 of 5 in Yvoire
179 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hilton Evian-les-Bains
Hilton Evian-les-Bains
#4 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Zenitude Hotel-Residences Les Terrasses du Lac
Zenitude Hotel-Residences Les Te...
#3 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
502 reviews
7.4 mi away
Ibis Thonon Evian
Ibis Thonon Evian
#2 of 11 in Thonon-les-Bains
436 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hotel de la Plage
Hotel de la Plage
#1 of 4 in Amphion Les Bains
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Vieux Logis Hotel-Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Vieux Logis Hotel-Restaurant

Property: Le Vieux Logis Hotel-Restaurant
Address: Grande rue, 74140 Yvoire, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Yvoire
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Yvoire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Vieux Logis Hotel-Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Le Vieux Logis Hotel-Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing