We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for a relaxing stay with good food and lovely rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Stapleton Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Stapleton Arms
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect for a relaxing stay with good food and lovely rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2011

Possibly the most laid back place I've ever stayed in but with great attention to detail - fresh coffee & magazines in our room, very good food, lovely breakfast, modern decor all hidden away in a sleepy village. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeziahLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    43
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
26
81
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2011

In many cases the actual experience does not match up with what is promised on the web-site. In this case it did, and if anything it exceeded our expectations.
Our room was well appointed with a large comfortable bed and the bathroom had underfloor heating (an unexpected treat) whilst the very large showerhead gave us a lovely drenching! Excellent facilities, - we also had fresh milk for our tea in our room.
The Stapleton Arms has done very well in creating a modern open space in its bar/restaurant, whilst still retaining an air of antiquity.
Our meal, again was first class and the service very good and attentive as well.
We would recommend the Stapleton Arms to anybody. It is not cheap but it is certainly value for money

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard101_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2011

We booked The Stapleton Arms for a countryside weekend away and had a fantastic time. We were shown straight to our room when we arrived, which was big, clean with lovely White Company linen, and had a gorgeous bathroom with underfloor heating. Despite facing the road, we slept like logs both nights we were there.
The restaurant was very quiet during our stay so we ate in the bar area both nights - the food was fantastic, and the cooked breakfast was so huge and tasty we felt like we needed a lie down afterwards!
The homemade pork pies and Scotch eggs on the bar were delicious and went down well with the local ales and ciders they served.
The staff were helpful and chatty and provided maps for local walks (needed to burn off all the food!). I would recommend to anyone looking to get away for a couple of days.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misspingu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

We wanted a stop over after a trip lightning trip to Devon for a ball. We were very tired, very hungover and wanted nice food and a comfy bed. We got far more than I hoped- great dinner in the charming restaurant, lovely wine, welcoming charming staff and a room that was like staying in someone's extremely nice guest room. Particularly loved the huge roll top bath. Really really nice and I'd love to go back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonJessR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Stapleton in July this year - what a find! Our room was lovely, comfortable and cosey - all that and still pretty trendy! We were made to feel at home right away - Sam, the charming bar manager showed us up to our room and has us in stitches before we even made it up the stairs! A great start! He gave us 5 hot tips on 'how to survive in the shire' - very imaginative!

Dinner was beautiful and tasted great too - quite pricey but worth it, I had a lamb dish that filled me up to bursting! Breakfast was brilliant, a properly cooked farmhouse brekkie was a great way to start the day.

If you're thinking about it - dont! Just book!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulES186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

My boyfriend and I spent 3 great nights at the Stapleton Arms and both have been raving about the place ever since! Both of us are very fussy guests in our own way, having decided to holiday in the UK we chose the SA as our base having had it recommended to us by friends. Neither of us were prepared to fall in love with the tiny village of Buckhorn Weston and feel so at home with people we had just met. We stayed in room 4 which was very big and split level with a great walk in shower. I managed to see the other rooms while we were there and all of them were equally nicely decorated and of a good size. The staff were fantastic and totally made our stay. Nothing was too much trouble for them and their recommendation of Stourhead was spot on, it was the perfect last day to our holiday. The vast amount of bottled beers from around the world and huge venison burger had my boyfriend in heaven which brings me onto the food. I am quite picky with food and absolutely everything from the breakfast to the dinners that we had there were delicious. The chefs were amazing and really friendly, on our last night when I had eaten all my favourite things on the menu they let me mix and match my favourite dishes - the braised lamb was out of this world! Having spent hours there playing cards we got to meet all the staff and they were all lovely and friendly, helpful and couldn't do enough to make our stay warm and welcoming. The length of this review and complete lack of any complaints speaks for itself. We are already planning on heading back there for a winter weekend!
Thank you to all the staff from the card playing couple who came back to Room 4!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piccina31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon
Level Contributor
128 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2010

The Stapleton Arms charges higher end prices for its accommodation and in return offers a very high quality service in a very relaxed atmosphere. It seems unfair to critisise but high end prices warrant high standards throughout and they shouldn't get complacent, a little more effort needed on maintenance and room cleanliness would keep this place at the 5 star mark. They certainly have all other aspects nailed.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GJgetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckhorn Weston
4.0 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Langton Arms
The Langton Arms
#1 of 1 in Tarrant Monkton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Holbrook House Hotel
Holbrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wincanton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hunters Lodge Inn
Hunters Lodge Inn
#1 of 8 in Wincanton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stapleton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stapleton Arms

Property: The Stapleton Arms
Address: Stapleton Arms Church Hill | Buckhorn Weston, Buckhorn Weston SP8 5HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Buckhorn Weston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Buckhorn Weston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stapleton Arms in Buckhorn Weston is a new style country pub with rooms situated on the Somerset / Dorset / Wiltshire border close to the A303, A30 between Shaftesbury and Sherborne. Close to Wincanton Races. The four individually furnished bedrooms offer supreme comfort with fantastic beds, Egyptian cotton linen and state of the art bathrooms. The menu which changes daily features great classic dishes all supporting our philosophy - quality food cooked with fresh local ingredients, sensibly priced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Stapleton Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stapleton Arms Hotel Buckhorn Weston
The Stapleton Arms Buckhorn Weston, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing