We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tasteful , well designed home from home !”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
76 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Strangford, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 76 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

D8973ZZri...
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tasteful , well designed home from home !”
Reviewed 28 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Just back from a great 4 day break at The Red Door in Strangford visiting family in the area and we loved the place.
Big enough for my 2 daughters to have space in great sized bedrooms, spacious kitchen with dinning table and chairs and a great living space with patio doors out to the garden. Well connected digitally throughout the house with a great mix of retro and modern furniture and good kitchen appliances.
Great host really amenable with tasteful knowledge of the local area. Thanks for making our time at the Red Door really enjoyable and hassle free. Richard

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space the property offered
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2016
Hi Richard, really appreciate your review. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay, that's our aim! Hope to welcome you again in future. Marty
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blair R
2 reviews
“Excellent Place”
Reviewed 21 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This house is set up great for couples or families. Right in the village, close to pubs and restaurants.
The house is beautifully and intelligently designed. Well equipped to self cater if desired.

I really enjoyed my stay here and have nothing I can add to make it better.
The one constructive thing I could suggest is bring an HDMI cable if you want to output to a TV.

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bright living room and location
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2016
Hi Blair. Many thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Great suggestion re HDMI cable - we just placed one in the TV cabinet.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre L
1 review
“Fantastic Place!”
Reviewed 11 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed at the Red Door for a week and loved everything about it. The house was spotless comfortable and had everything we needed and more. The owners made us feel very welcome and you can see that they take a lot of pride and care. \

The town of Strangford is beautiful, friendly and safe with lots to do and see. my wife and I along with our 8 and 10 year old kids had a memorable experience there.

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: very comfortable beds and rooms with lots of space to chill and relax
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2016
Hi Pierre, glad everything went so well! Hope you made it home safely. Many thanks for your review. Marty
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliemV92...
Canterbury, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday home”
Reviewed 9 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

It was our first time in Northern Island and to Air bnb. We couldn't be happier with our experience and with the friendly welcome from Marty. The town is 40 minutes by car from Belfast ( longer from international airport) but Marty gave us great directions. The house was immaculate, with every modcon. We wish we had longer to enjoy the local attractions but we were able to visit the nearby Castle Ward which was very impressive and the local restaurant Cuan was lovely. Thankyou Marty, we will definitely recommend your home to our friends.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It had everything a family needed for a lovely stay
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2016
Hi Julie, thanks so much taking the trouble to post your review. Very happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay. Hope the rest of your trip to Europe went well. Good luck!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Z7485GDcl...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful house, in a picturesque seaside village made for a fabulous getaway!”
Reviewed 19 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have just had a fantastic few days in the Red Door House! It is a beautiful property, in an ideal location in a lovely seaside village, well set up, with lots of thoughtful little features that other properties we have stayed in have lacked. The owner was welcoming and helpful, with a wealth of local knowledge and an obvious passion for his property and its location.
Couldn't have asked for more, five stars ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️, highly recommended!

Date of stay: August 2016
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2016
Thanks a million Claire. Hope to see you next year. Marty
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Aug 2016
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. Glad to hear you had a great stay. We do make an effort to cater for the little ones so especially great that they were happy. Look forward to seeing you next time. Ps. The Portaferry Aquarium re-opens next week.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Aug 2016
Many thanks for your review. We will also be very happy to welcome you back next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.