We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another fantastic stay at The Red Door!”
other travellers have booked this property
Traditional exterior, spacious modern interior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Traditional exterior, spacious modern interior
Comfortable living room with stove Sheltered patio just off living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Traditional exterior, spacious modern interior
Comfortable living room with stove
Sheltered patio just off living room
TV / DVD, Chromecast, Bluetooth speakers
Multifuel stove, fuel provided
Fully equipped modern kitchen
Dining area
Entrance hall, coat rack, shoe storage, umbrellas
New for 2017: King size bed in master bedroom
2nd bedroom, double bed, built in wardrobe
3rd bedroom, 3 single beds
Modern bathroom
Bathroom: bath, shower, good water pressure and lots of hot water
Children's equipment available on request
Children's equipment available on request
Sheltered patio off living room
Enclosed south facing garden
Garden
Bike wash and lock up at rear
Very central village location
Village playground 100m away, linked by footpath no roads to cross
Village playground
Castleward Bay on edge of village
Strangford quay
Ferry to Portaferry every 30 mins
Castleward: Game of Thrones locations, forest trails, café, Clearsky, adventure playground
Castleward trails for walking, running, cycling
Killard beach, 5 min drive
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Strangford, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anna M
Sidney, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Another fantastic stay at The Red Door!”
Reviewed 3 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Just back from our third trip to the Red Door. Our kids just love the house and garden and we really enjoyed the easy access to playground,shops and restaurants. The Red Door is warm, comfortable and the owners provided everything we needed to enjoy our stay. We'll be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2018
No better compliment than return visitors! Its great to park up and have lots to do and see close by on foot. See you next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan M
2 reviews
“Beautiful house, perfect facilities, excellent location”
Reviewed 18 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Our family of 6 enjoyed a perfect stay at the Red Door - it's a truly special place to visit.

All the amenities we could have hoped for, lots of space for the kids to play and a toy cupboard to keep them entertained.

Clean, cosy, comfortable - the Red Door was our home from home for the duration of our holiday. Loved the extra touches such as logs on the fire of an evening.

The location is ideal for exploring the beautiful countryside, beaches, National Trust parks and Strangford Lough. Also made the short trip into Belfast to see the excellent museums.

Memorable times spent in Strangford village with charming restaurants and pubs and the ferry across the Lough to Portaferry, which the kids loved.

Can't wait to go back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2018
Nathan - great to hear you had a great stay at The Red Door. You crammed a lot of highlights in there! Looking forward to welcoming you back. Marty and Melanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catpipfra...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Just right”
Reviewed 9 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Great location, lovely house with everything thought of from tea bags to logs for the fire. Very modern, clean and deceptively large inside. WiFi and smart TV excellent for teenagers. Hosts very friendly and helpful. Couldn't fault it.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2018
We are really happy to hear you had a great stay at The Red Door. Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We'd love to have you back, get in touch anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flembinho
Lisburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect family friendly place for an escape in Strangford”
Reviewed 18 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Beautifully styled, well equipped modern and spacious terrace. Great location, in walking distance to shops restaurants, and local attractions in a beautiful part of County Down. Marty and Melanie have thought of everything you might need, and offered first class hosting. Highly recommend this place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2018
Thanks guys - really appreciate your review. You know where we are now, hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaylebree...
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend away”
Reviewed 19 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Just back from a lovely weekend in strangford with my husband and our dog, we stayed at the red door and i can honestly say it was the best dog friendly house we have stayed in northern Ireland. The house was spotless with everything in it we could have needed, hosts Marty and Melanie are lovely and very helpful. Strangford is a lovely village, house 2 minute walk from the ferry and less than a 5 minute drive to castle ward, would highly recommend and will definitely be back, thanks again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2017
Thank you very much for your review. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Red Door. We would love to welcome you back, get in touch anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian B
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Fabulous Half Term Break”
Reviewed 5 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We decided - on a bit of a whim - to take a short break down to Strangford over our half term holidays. And what a stay we had! The Red Door is a beautifully appointed little cottage with everything we could possibly have required for our 3 night stay. What’s more, we were travelling with our 11 month old daughter and we didn’t even have to bring a travel cot or high chair - all was provided by Marty and Melanie who are wonderful hosts.
We fell in love with Strangford and the surrounding area - autumnal walks in Castle Ward, exploring Exploris and a stop off to Mount Stewart on the way home made this is a holiday to remember. Thank you Marty and Melanie - we cannot wait to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2017
Hi Sian, really appreciate your review and so glad you had a great stay. We are very lucky in Strangford, as you say it is a great family location with lots to do close by. Get in touch anytime, we would love to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 1 November 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had a fantastic stay at The Red Door. Marty and his wife Melanie were more than accommodating and super friendly. The house is a stones throw from town so we could walk in for drinks and dinner if we didn't fancy a night in at their beautiful house. Thank you for a lovely stay, Sarah and Andrew.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2017
Really appreciate you taking the time to review! We are so lucky with lots of great options to eat out a short stroll away. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;