We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Spinnaker - CLOSED

The Spinnaker
Price range: US$8 - US$24
Cuisines: British, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Cafe with contemporary retro luxury accommodation serving innovative breakfast,lunch and afternoon tea.Home-baked scones and cakes a specialty.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

The Spinnaker is gorgeous and have always had great food & friendly staff. Would defiantly recommend!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank _kbr0wn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    4
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“5* all round.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

This place is a hidden gem! Fantastic home cooked food, using fresh produce! The desserts are to die for! The staff really make this place so friendly and we were served quickly. Friendly atmosphere food was good. I have been here a good few times now and have not been disappointed!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Spot11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“High class food for reasonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Love this place!! Have been a few times and in my opinion it gets better and better! Homemade pate is gorgeous and comes highly recommended! The bushmills and pepper sauce that comes with the steak is so moreish! And as for the home made hand cut chips..just don't get them anywhere else..so make sure and order a portion!!
Being able to bring your own bottle helps cut costs and they don't even charge corkage which is another wee bonus!
Go ahead...don't drive past, call in.. You won't be disappointed.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank THEDUKE1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food good apart from that it was a joke!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

I took my father here for dinner during the week and were very annoyed by how we were treated the staff on were more interested in something funny as we stood waiting to be seated when all we could here was people laughing from out back after 5 mins we seated ourselves. The food was good but apart from that it was awfull the decor is very dull and basic and the music was very noisey and really annoyed us! There is a lot better places close by and would never recommened The spinnaker to anyone!

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sheena111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thespinnaker, Owner at The Spinnaker, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Dear Sheena111

I was very disappointed to read your recent feedback about The Spinnaker. This is not the standard off service The Spinnaker. There are however a few point's I would like to make about your review.
1. You start by saying you took your father out here for dinner during the week i find this quite Impossible as The Spinnaker is not open during the week for diner. Maybe it was another venue you took your father to.
2. You said you waited 5minutes and then seated yourselves. I also find hard to believe as i have an alarm fitted at the front door that goes off in the kitchen when someone walks past it should any of the staff be in the kitchen carrying out their daily duties.
3.You also mention that the decor is dull and basic. Well I cant agree with that my interpretation of being dull and basic would be all the wall being a dark colour and plain with nothing on the walls. The Spinnakers decor is a refreshing green with the wall behind the counter a purple colour. I would also like to point out the walls also have artwork from well known local artists. I don't find this dull and boring.

I believe this review to be subjective and false and I don't believe you have ever dined in The Spinnaker.

Kind Regards
Tony Quail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

Extremely well priced! Staff were amazing! The food was to die for! This place should start getting awards!!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannahstran84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Spinnaker also viewed

Strangford, County Down
Strangford, County Down
 
Strangford, County Down
Strangford, County Down
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing