We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed bag”
Review of The Cuan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cuan
Ranked #1 of 2 Strangford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Stayed 20th August on the 1d&BB rate which is very reasonable. Booked the room about 3 months ago after having a wonderful lunch there and on this we decided to book in for our 12th wedding anniversary. We arrived early for the cooking demonstration which we thoroughly enjoyed. Peter is very funny and explains things simply. We then went into the adjacent room for lunch. We got in just in time as it was getting very busy and this is where the "mixed bag" comment comes in. We were given menus and we ordered mussels and the sea food crepe. We ordered a bottle of wine which was delivered to the table already opened. When we poured the wine, there was cork in it. We were not even shown the wine to ensure the correct one was ordered. Anyway, the food arrives and it is absolutely beautiful. While eating our lunch, my wife noticed there was a specials menu which we were not offered and on it was 4/5 fish dishes. We were disappointed that we had not been offered this. When we advised the staff of this, they just said sorry. We then asked for the bill and it took at least 20 minutes and asking 3 times. On the 3rd time I just went up to the bar and paid. We then got our room and we were glad to see it was the room we had asked for when we booked some months previous. The rooms are fine and comfortable, but the bathroom shower was leaking and did not have any power in it. My wife went to wash her hair and it took ages. Other than that, no issues. We then went to dinner and again a mixed bag. The service was up and down. First we were shown to our seats. 10 minutes before we got a menu. "2 other couples arrived in after us were ordering by the time. We got the menus and then we had to grab the boy and ask him for a wine list. We ordered and the service was good except for thew wine arriving yet again opened and with cork in the 1st bottle. However the food was simply amazing and we forgot all about the other issues. We had a nice nights sleep and went for breakfast next morning. The elderly gentleman serving us was great and very warm and had a bit of craic with him. The people working were all very attentive. We ordered some toasted homemade wheaten and this was brought out by the owners wife who went and gave it to another table. It took another 10 minutes to get anyone's attention and we finely got the bread.
I was torn as to what to give as a scoring. For food alone, it would be EXCELLENT, but however, the service let it down. The people are really nice and it would hard to complain about them but I feel they need to be just that little bit more professional.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanAndDebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YogaCoDown, General Manager at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

Dear AlanandDebs
Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to The Cuan, apologies for the disjointed service it is usually an area that we excell in. It was myself that brought the toast to the wrong table, The elderly gentleman (Colman)'s order crossed over with mine - we are only human!
We hope to see you on another ocassion.
Regards
Caroline, Peter, Colman and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 478 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2011

Was so excited about this trip after reading reviews on TA - what a shock we got! Overall decor is tired/dated - rooms had smell of smoke/dust - food in bar area/restaurant was overcooked and very poorly presented - evening was saved only by friendliness of waitress.Should have gone across to Portaferry for better food and much nicer setting. Hotel price for basic B&B

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank niamh c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YogaCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2011

Dear Niamh c
I was really disappointed to learn about your disappointing trip to The Cuan. In my roll in The Cuan I have the opportunity to meet most guests in the morning and I can not recall any disappointed guests. I really wish you had communicated it to myself or a member of staff to give us the opportunity to address your disappointment. In our defence this is the first report we have had of this nature, we take great pride in what we do.
Yours sincerely
Caroline, Peter & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

we stayed 1 night B&B + dinner as a birthday treat and enjoyed it. The Cuan has a long history ,was and is a local pub + restaurant with 5 bedrooms graded 3 star--so don't expect hotel type reception--whoever is handiest eg barman will book you in-but will do it efficiently and in a friendly and welcoming manner.
The bedrooms are quite tight with std. size comfortable double bed, but clean,bright and freshly decorated--the en suite is a good size and again very clean and bright--however it feels strange sitting on the toilet along side a plain glass window looking out to the main street--albeit through net curtains!!!!!
The food is excellent whether you eat in the lounge bar or restaurant -a good range reasonably priced,well presented and very very tasty--the owner is also the chef!!! The staff are very good--multi skilled, efficient, knowledgable, friendly and always ready to enjoy a bit of 'craic' with you
The bar and a very small residents lounge-1 2seat setee are the only areas where one could relax ----therefore I don't think I would like to stay for a week---but would thoroughly recommend for short breaks

Room Tip: if used to king size bed at home would suggest you request twin room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank douglas56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YogaCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2011

Dear douglas56
Many thanks for your very positive feedback, we take great pride in our premises and our work and are delighted that you had a wonderful time at The Cuan. We hope to welcome you back on another occasion.
Regards
Caroline, Peter & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

My partner and I stayed here for one night and had a brilliant time. The staff were wonderful, food fantastic and the locals in the bar made for a very entertaining evening. Special mention to Caroline and Colman who are an example of how friendly service should be provided.

Billy & Claire

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillyMis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YogaCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2011

Dear BillyMis
Many thanks for such fantastic feedback, it is people like you that make our industry all the more rewarding when we can see the difference we can make with our genuine welcome and gratitude for your business. Keep an eye on the exceptional events we have planned to complete our year long celebration of The Cuan's 200th birthday. We look forward to a repeat visit.
Regards
Caroline, Peter, Colman and Team!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Impossible to say anything negative about the Cuan!
We've stayed several times, with a group and on our own and have thoroughly enjoyed every visit. Welcome, cleanliness, food - everything A*!! Thanks to Peter, Caroline, Colman & team and we'll see you soon.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeany22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YogaCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2011

Dear Jeany22
Wonderful to hear your fantastic comments, particularly when you are a repeat customer. Look out for our special events to continue our celebrations of The Cuan's 200th BIRTHDAY!!
Looking forward to welcoming you to The Cuan again Jeany22.
Regards
Caroline, Peter & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We enyoyed our stay so much last year, we thought we'd try another couple of nights this year and were not at all disappointed. A very friendly atmosphere, comfortable accommodation and delicious food, much sourced very locally, set in a beautiful part of the country with plenty to do nearby. Caroline and Peter and their charming and capable team again made us and plainly all their guests and customers feel entirely at home and we'll happily make a point of staying with them again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brit_Abroad60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YogaCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2011

Dear Brit_Abro
Delighted to read your fantastic review, we really appreciate you taking the time as it is very influential in converting our new customers.
Looking forward to your next visit.
Regards
Caroline Peter & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Peter & Caroline - everyone is on first name terms at The Cuan - run an excellent guesthouse/pub/restaurant. We stayed for a 2 night getaway and booked The Cuan on the strength of the excellent Trip Advisor reviews. We were not disappointed. From start to finish we were made to feel like VIPs. The staff are friendly, helpful & knowledgeable. Our accommodation was spacious, spotlessly clean & comfortable. The food was top class, sourced locally & cooked and served with skill and pride. We had the seafood platter for two and I've never seen so much fish & shellfish on a plate. It would have served four adequately. We are definitely going to return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrankMoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YogaCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2011

Dear FrankMoran
What a boost to us all to read such a detailed and encouraging review - hopefully it will encourage more guests despite your sense of wanting to keep The Cuan to yourself!!!
Many thanks
Caroline, Peter & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strangford
0.7 mi away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
360 reviews
16.7 mi away
Strangford Arms Hotel
Strangford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newtownards
268 reviews
4.4 mi away
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Dufferin Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Killyleagh
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Denvir's Hotel
Denvir's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downpatrick
111 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fiddler's Green Bar and B&B
Fiddler's Green Bar and B&B
#1 of 8 in Portaferry
95 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barholm
Barholm
#5 of 8 in Portaferry
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cuan

Address: Strangford Village, Strangford BT30 7ND, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Strangford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Strangford
Price Range: £94 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cuan 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cuan Licensed Guest Inn is a family owned and run hotel located in the beautiful conservation village of Strangford, on the shores of Strangford Lough. We offer a fantastic food experience, available all day, with a passionate commitment to sourcing local seasonal produce. At the Cuan, we believe in the personal touch that comes with a family run business – you give us our livelihood – we reflect that in the way we look after you. Plan a short break with us and explore the breadth of attractions and things to do in Co Down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Cuan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cuan Hotel Strangford
The Cuan Strangford, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing