We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (510)
Filter reviews
510 results
Traveller rating
402
77
17
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
402
77
17
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgame of throneschowdersmoked haddockcastle wardbread and butter puddinglovely villagelasagnawarm welcomefirst classwell worth a visitnext morningards peninsulanorthern irelandsecond to noneshort drivebirthday treatfew drinks
Filter
Updating list...
401 - 406 of 510 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Decided to grab another night away at this idyllic place, second time in as many months. What a wonderful place, EVERYTHING is perfect - from the quality of the accommodation to the food in the restaurant. Special mention must be made of the customer service - everyone is so friendly and welcoming. A first class experience. Peace and quiet pervade, it really is a piece of heaven and sets the standard for the hospitality industry. Caroline and Peter should train others in the industry, if they did then our reputation would no doubt improve. Thanks again for a wonderful short break.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear Coz_11
What can I say?! I am honoured by your heartfelt feedback. Our heart and soul are in our business and this acknowledgement is better than any award we have ever achieved.
THANK YOU Coz_11.
What about an excuse for a 'Third time around' review?!
Many thanks
Caroline, Peter & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Just the two of us and two Golden Retrievers our visit was for three days in April 2012. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left the welcome was warm, friendly and genuine. The food was excellent apart from Peter's homemade wheaten bread - which was fantastic!

Our bedroom was comfortable and had everything we needed. Even the family room was cosy and welcoming whether you wanted somewhere to read or watch tv.

All the staff we met were delightful but you have to hand it to Colman he went the extra mile!

The location, in the heart of the village, was very nice and a good base to explore that part of Ireland.

We had a lovely stay there, so much so that we have already booked a short stay for 2013.

The Cuan is one of those little gems that we feel lucky to have found.

Thank you Peter and Caroline and all your staff.

Rob and Angela and 'the boys'

Room Tip: My guess would be that all rooms are of the same standard and restful.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobAndAng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear RodAndAng
What a FANTASTIC review, delighted you took the time to share your experience with the rest of the world! We look forward ot your return visit in 2013.
Regards
Caroline, Peter, Colman & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

My husband and I stayed here for the Easter weekend. First impressions were that it was extremely cosy and friendly. Damian who welcomed us promised us VIP treatment and this was exactly what we got. The bedroom was a good size as was the bathroom and the choice for breakfast was one of the best I we've had. All freshly cooked and nothing was too much trouble. We ate both Friday and Saturday night in the lounge and the food lived up to all the reviews i had read. In particular, the langoustines which i had not had before were fabulous. All the staff were so friendly that it felt like a local from the first night and we definitely plan to visit again!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 which overlooked the square. good for seeing what was going on!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolsbelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Dear carolsbelfast
It was such a wonderful pleasure to read this fantastic feedback and sharing it with our prospective customers is very helpful - many thanks.
The Cuan has been the highest scoring restaurant with Taste of Ulster for the past 3 years achieving the dizzy heights of 100% - never before awarded!!
The languistines are just coming in to season so you should plan a few more trips over the next few months.
Many thanks for your report.
Caroline, Peter, Damian & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

My wife and visited Northern Ireland for the first time last week. We began our journey in the north at Bushmills hotel and continued via the coast road for a night at Dobbins in Carrickfeargus and a day in Belfast we eventually arrived in the Strangford area. Having not booked anywhere and finding most places fully booked we headed for Strangford village. On entering the village the we appeared to have lucked out. The Cuan looked just like a Dales inn in the heart of N Ireland. From the first instance of stepping into the Inn my wife and I where made to feel like old friends as opposed to lost English tourists. We went for the DBB option and at £110 for two people it was a steal. The room was especially clean and spacious and the food was the best we had on the trip (all other food on the trip was also exceptional but this was superb). In short if you are in the area stay here, the staff are excellent and friendly, the location next to the car ferry is charming and the food excellent. The icing on the cake was meeting to lovely East Belfast lady cyclists who gave is great information.
thanks for making our first visit to NI JUST BRILLIANT. We will return in the summer with the kids hopefully without the snow.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ideal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Dear Ideal1
It is delightful to come out on the TOP of your travel experiences. Such wonderful feedback is a great stimulus to keep doing what we do with all the passion and commitment that goes in to The Cuan. We look forward to welcoming the family.
Many thanks
Caroline, Peter & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

My friend and I cycled down from Belfast and got such a warm welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. Staff are so friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and comfortable, food is great especially breakfast. I can't praise it enough. Fantastic value.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tourist186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Dear tourist186470
I was delighted to read that we were a just reward after all the energy expended during your cycle from Belfast. You were well rested and refuelled before setting of on your return journey. We look forward to a return visit by any means of transport!
Many thanks for the wonderful feedback.
Caroline, Peter & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews