We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (510)
Filter reviews
510 results
Traveller rating
402
77
17
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
402
77
17
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgame of throneschowdersmoked haddockcastle wardbread and butter puddinglovely villagelasagnawarm welcomefirst classwell worth a visitnext morningards peninsulanorthern irelandsecond to noneshort drivebirthday treatfew drinks
Filter
Updating list...
398 - 403 of 510 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Just came across The Cuan and booked in for the night. Good food and comfortable lodgings. Nice people.

Room Tip: Visit local National Trust property whilst there and leave on the ferry to travel north towards Belfast and the Titanic museum.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Dear Brian 1946
Many thanks for taking the time to feedback on The Cuan through Trip Advisor.
We take great pride in The Cuan and are delighted to boast about our Special Award from Taste of Ulster as their top scoring restaurant for the past 3 consecutive years:
98% in 2010; 99% in 2011 and 100% in 2012!!
I hope you have another opportunity to call with us Brian 1946.
Regards
Caroline, Peter & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2413
Reviewed 24 May 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I celebrated my 40 th birthday at The Cuan last weekend- 19 of us had a great weekend in Strangford. Nothing was a problem for Caroline and Peter - the dinner menu was perfect and we loved having breakfast together the following day too.
I've stayed in hundreds of hotels across the world, but can honestly say that the warmth of the Cuan is unrivalled!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gcmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2012

Dear Gcmcg
What a delight to read your feedback - now don't be waiting until another significant birthday to call with us again!!
Regards
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Decided to grab another night away at this idyllic place, second time in as many months. What a wonderful place, EVERYTHING is perfect - from the quality of the accommodation to the food in the restaurant. Special mention must be made of the customer service - everyone is so friendly and welcoming. A first class experience. Peace and quiet pervade, it really is a piece of heaven and sets the standard for the hospitality industry. Caroline and Peter should train others in the industry, if they did then our reputation would no doubt improve. Thanks again for a wonderful short break.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear Coz_11
What can I say?! I am honoured by your heartfelt feedback. Our heart and soul are in our business and this acknowledgement is better than any award we have ever achieved.
THANK YOU Coz_11.
What about an excuse for a 'Third time around' review?!
Many thanks
Caroline, Peter & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Just the two of us and two Golden Retrievers our visit was for three days in April 2012. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left the welcome was warm, friendly and genuine. The food was excellent apart from Peter's homemade wheaten bread - which was fantastic!

Our bedroom was comfortable and had everything we needed. Even the family room was cosy and welcoming whether you wanted somewhere to read or watch tv.

All the staff we met were delightful but you have to hand it to Colman he went the extra mile!

The location, in the heart of the village, was very nice and a good base to explore that part of Ireland.

We had a lovely stay there, so much so that we have already booked a short stay for 2013.

The Cuan is one of those little gems that we feel lucky to have found.

Thank you Peter and Caroline and all your staff.

Rob and Angela and 'the boys'

Room Tip: My guess would be that all rooms are of the same standard and restful.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobAndAng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear RodAndAng
What a FANTASTIC review, delighted you took the time to share your experience with the rest of the world! We look forward ot your return visit in 2013.
Regards
Caroline, Peter, Colman & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews