We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of life's good experiences”
Review of The Cuan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cuan
Ranked #1 of 2 Strangford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 30 June 2012

A FIVE STAR EXPERIENCE! Set in the delightful village of Strangford, a stay at 'The Cuan Inn' is one of life's experiences that is not to be missed. The warm welcome is GENUINE. The food is truly delicious (worth all of their awards). We came as strangers and left as friends. We had a lot of fun together and shared a lot of stories. These people CARE about their guests. The old 100+ year old Inn is unpretentious - it's not five star like so many large impersonal 5 star hotels - but this Inn is FIVE STAR in hospitality - it is second to none (and we have been travelling the world for many, many years). A very big thank you to Peter, Caroline, Colman and all of the wonderful staff - each one very special and each one part of the reason that makes a stay at 'The Cuan' one of life's really good experiences. We recommend you try it - soon! Jennie T and Annette N

Room Tip: We had the family room at the front overlooking the village 'green'. It's a quiet villag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 July 2012

Dear JTDY
What a delight to read your fantastic feedback on your stay at The Cuan. We do care about each and every individual that choses to stay at The Cuan and enjoy the delights of all that this little part of the world has to offer. It is a pity that home for yo uis so far away but I have a feeling that you will be back nevertheless!! Thank you for all you shared with us JTDY.
Many thanks for sharing your experience with the world!
Regards
Caroline, Peter, Colman & Gang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 476 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights last week with 4 friends, following a hectic few days in the lead up to our son's wedding. Our time in Strangford was just what we needed to recover - from the moment we arrived everyone was helpful and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. We had some of the best food of our 10 day stay in Northern Ireland, 3 good nights' sleep and even experienced excellent weather to take in the local scenery. We enjoyed the walk round the headland, the trip on the ferry to Mount Stewart, and a drive up to Nendrum all in sunshine. Thank you Peter, Caroline and staff for giving us such happy memories to take home.

Room Tip: We had room 5, with a view of the village. Would recommend asking for this room as it was a good si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 July 2012

Dear JaniceT
Many thanks for your delightful and extensive review of The Cuan. It is very encouraging to get such positive feedback, our heart is truely behind our business. I hope you find another opportunity to come back to stay with us JaniceT.
Regards
Caroline, Peter and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Stayed just one night wish had more time for longer. Dog friendly room well thought out near an exit for 'walkies'. The food was superb, service excellent. A charming place.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karenclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Dear Karenclarke
Delighted to read your summary of The Cuan. Keep an eye on our calendar of events for lots more reasons for a repeat visit.
Many thanks
CAroline, Peter & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

My husband and I stayed here because we heard it was very good, and so it was. When we booked in we were told they were having a new boiler fitted and there was no hot water, and they would knock money off the price, so we stayed dinner bed and breakfast. The dinner at night was awesome, the fish was fresh and beautifully cooked. The owners and staff were fantastic, they made you feel like a long lost friend, coming home. The lack of hot water was not a problem, I would have thrown myself in the Strangford lough rather than miss the food. Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheila565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Dear shiela565
I REALLY LOVE your last line: I would have thrown myself in the Strangford lough rather than miss the food.
We thoroughly enjoyed the fun and chat with you and are glad to hear that the work on the new heating system didn't detract from your stay. See you soon.
Caroline, Peter & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I called in with my sister for a drink and had a chat with Peter who was serving in the bar. We decided to sail down the next day from RingHaddy with my brother-in-law, leaving the boat at the small marina in Strangford and wander across for lunch. No sign of the owners, but the staff on duty were equally welcoming,knew the history of the buildings and the town and generally made us feel both like locals they knew without dropping the service levels. Fresh fish had just arrived and we had a simple,beautifully cooked meal without the price tag you are often met with in better known establishments! Will be back. Ps the local Armagh cider is a find

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valhalla81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Dear valhall81
I really enjoyed reading your review, I agree with you 100% when you say "people make the difference" our ethos is to treat every customer as we would like to be treated our selves, to ensure that this is consistent throughout The Cuan we 'hire the attitude and, if necessary, train the skill'. We hope to welcome you again to enjoy some more of our exciting range of freah fish.
Many thanks for the review.
Regards
Caroline, Peter & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I could not fault my stay at The Cuan everyone was just so nice and welcoming, but if I had to choose a few members of staff who stood out to me was a you child call Conall and his mother Caroline. Overall a brilliant stay and I hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigTripper123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Dear BigTripper123
Conall was 'over the moon' to see his name in print on Trip Advisor, he is a great help to the housekeeping team and I am the proud mum! Many thanks for taking the time to share your memorable experience of The Cuan with the rest of the world.
Looking forward to your next visit.
CAroline, Peter & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Just came across The Cuan and booked in for the night. Good food and comfortable lodgings. Nice people.

Room Tip: Visit local National Trust property whilst there and leave on the ferry to travel north towards Belf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Dear Brian 1946
Many thanks for taking the time to feedback on The Cuan through Trip Advisor.
We take great pride in The Cuan and are delighted to boast about our Special Award from Taste of Ulster as their top scoring restaurant for the past 3 consecutive years:
98% in 2010; 99% in 2011 and 100% in 2012!!
I hope you have another opportunity to call with us Brian 1946.
Regards
Caroline, Peter & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strangford
0.7 mi away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
360 reviews
16.7 mi away
Strangford Arms Hotel
Strangford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newtownards
268 reviews
4.4 mi away
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Dufferin Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Killyleagh
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Denvir's Hotel
Denvir's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downpatrick
111 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fiddler's Green Bar and B&B
Fiddler's Green Bar and B&B
#2 of 8 in Portaferry
95 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barholm
Barholm
#5 of 8 in Portaferry
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cuan

Address: Strangford Village, Strangford BT30 7ND, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Strangford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Strangford
Price Range: £95 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cuan 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cuan Licensed Guest Inn is a family owned and run hotel located in the beautiful conservation village of Strangford, on the shores of Strangford Lough. We offer a fantastic food experience, available all day, with a passionate commitment to sourcing local seasonal produce. At the Cuan, we believe in the personal touch that comes with a family run business – you give us our livelihood – we reflect that in the way we look after you. Plan a short break with us and explore the breadth of attractions and things to do in Co Down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Cuan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cuan Hotel Strangford
The Cuan Strangford, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing