We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay and eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Cuan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cuan
Ranked #1 of 2 Strangford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Meadville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to stay and eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed here to go to the Van Morrison concert. Peter and Caroline were excellent hosts. Room was very comfortable, the pub cozy and the food was superb. I would highly recommend this to anyone who is traveling in Northern Ireland. You must also go to the Castle Ward - excellent walks.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Mark S
Delighted to hear that we contributed to your N Irish experience of Van Morrison with hospitality to match this internationally acclaimed artist.
Many thanks for your lovely feedback Mark S.
Regards
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    64
    15
    9
    2
See reviews for
104
192
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed here early in January 2014 on a three night break, we found the owners Caroline & Peter and their entire staff to be the most friendly, courteous helpful & professional people we have ever come across on our travels (especially Coleman who was fountain of knowledge and was extremely helpful). The rooms were very comfortable and thoroughly clean. The food was fantastic really something to die for. We will definitely be staying with them again and would certainly recommend anyone wishing to stay in this area to choose The Cuan.
Bob & Elaine, Northampton, England

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Elaine Q
It was delightful to read your beautiful heartfelt comments, as you experienced we are passionate about what we do and genuinely want every single guest to The Cuan to have a wonderful time. We look forward to your next visit Elaine Q.
Thanks you very much for your fantastic review.
Caroline, Peter, Colman & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Visited on Sunday with family everyone really enjoyed the food and excellent service. I spilt a small bottle of wine - it was replaced no charge !!!
Will most certainly return soon. I highly recommend this to all all enjoy seafood especially.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gretchenBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear GretchenBelfast
Many thanks for taking the time to do such an encouraging review on your visit to The Cuan. I hope we become a regular destination for your day trips from Belfast.
Regards
Caroline, Peter & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in December, I have to say it was just wonderful. The owners Peter & Caroline are just lovely people and make you feel so welcome. The food and staff are just great too, Coleman, Dessi to name just two. The food is great fresh and you get large helping too !! Try the crabs claws...wow just wonderful. If you are searching for that great pint of guiness look no further.........
There are not enough words to express how much we loved it at this hotel- try it, you wont be disappointed. We will be returning very sooooooooon. Peter & Caroline thank you again and your attentive staff for a wonderful stay. We will see you all soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Phil B
It was a delight to read your fantastic compliments, there is a wonderful sense of excitement and enthusiasm with your review. Many thanks and we look forward to your next stay.
Regards
Caroline, Peter, Colman, Dessie & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

In mid-winter, ourselves and friends drove to Portaferry and took a mini-cruise (the ferry) across the mouth of glorious Strangford Lough to the Cuan Inn. Gentle pub atmosphere, warming fire in the grate, a big Santa in a chair beside us - kept himself in silence to himself however, in contrast to the welcoming attention of the Cuan people. We had a delightful and very tasty bowl of their seafood chowder with Northern Ireland's famous oatmeal bread. After this leisurely lunch, we ambled round the picturesque village and harbour, leaving the many longer shore and country walks on hand for another time. A rather good way to fill the short winter days. Recommended. Looks like a good place for a weekend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAMES A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear James A
Many thanks for the wonderful review and the excellent summary of all the delights of Strangford village and the locality. We have copies of all the fantastic walks in and around the village, just ask!
Hope to see you soon James A.
Regards
Caroline, Peter and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

This was a lovely surprise we found in the dark of the afternoon that was very cold! We booked in no worries with the lovely owner for over 25 years Caroline and her husband Peter. Did a fantastic deal for B&B and a meal and well worth it! The room was large, fresh and clean and the bathroom was almost as big, being the same - clean and fresh.
We had a few drinks downstairs before dinner meeting a couple of locals and who were good fun and full of stories. Then we went in for our meal which was exceedingly large but so full of flavour - with myself having the Pork with Rice and my Hubby having the Monkfish! Delicious!
Breakfast was another full treat with all their products being locally sourced! The whole eating experience was super delicious!
If you happen to be in the area, I must push that 2014 for The Cuan is looking super sweet and fun! If you go on their website you will see a month by month activities that they are holding and for great prices and heaps of fun. We will return and hopefully on one of the great weekends they are holding!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Tamvon
What wonderfully extensive, detailed and complimentary feedback, it is such a positive feeling to know that we are really making a diference to the guests that visit The Cuan. I hope you travels bring you back on another occasion Tamvon. Thanks for the PR work on 2014 at The Cuan!
Regards
Caroline, Peter & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigavon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

My family and I enjoy the wonderful and service from Peter and Caroline and their team. Everybody is very friendly and helpful. The food is fantastic and cooked the way you like it. We always look forward to our meals and are never disappointed.
In 2012 Peter made me a special Birthday/Christmas cake for my wife - it had to be gluten free.
We enjoyed it so much that in September 2013 I phoned to ask if I could order the same for mid November. I asked for the same again.
When I phoned 2nd week in November, I was told that the cake was ready for collection. The gluten free cake is again fabulous. The icing and decorations are a delight to look at and eat. The fruit in the cake and the booze all blend brilliantly.
Well worth the 100 mile round trip to pick up the cake. Thank you Peter and Caroline.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TWHL324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear TWHL324
It was a delight to read your review and to learn that the Christmas cake was just the right balance of all things decadent. Thank you for your beautiful compliments it really does help start a day in a very positive way. Looking forward to seeing you in 2014.
Merry Christmas.
Caroline, Peter & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strangford
0.7 mi away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
19.5 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
16.1 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
17.1 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Fiddler's Green Bar and B&B
Fiddler's Green Bar and B&B
#1 of 8 in Portaferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cuan

Property: The Cuan
Address: Strangford Village, Strangford BT30 7ND, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Strangford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Strangford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cuan 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Cuan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cuan Hotel Strangford
The Cuan Strangford, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing