We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of The Cuan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cuan
Ranked #1 of 2 Strangford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
A TripAdvisor Member
33
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at The Cuan in Strangford recently. It's a delightful little hotel. Lovely spacious, bright, clean rooms. Great staff. Delicious breakfast. Will definitely return. Highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Member
It was a delight to read your fantastic review. Many thanks for taking the time to do it.
Regards
Caroline, Peter & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

We would happily recommend this small hotel with confidence. Our booking was handled smoothly. Accommodation spacious, spotless, comfortable and faultless. Breakfast, delicious and varied. Checkout smooth and professional.

Looking forward to our return visit.

Room Tip: Front of house views over village green.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beckysharper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear beckysharper
Many thanks for your very positive review, we look forward to your return visit. look out for our wonderful programme of entertainment over the summer.
Regards
Caroline, Peter & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

A friendly welcome from the proprietor.
A comfortable bedroom, as part of very good accommodation.
Helpful staff throughout.
Enjoyable breakfast after an excellent dinner the previous evening.
Good position in the village, with varied walking and views nearby, and easy access to so much else.
We shall return!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cymru2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Cymru 2012
Your feedback is worthy of a tourist information brochure! Many thanks for taking the time to feed back to us.
Regards
Caroline, Peter & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Just back from a weekend getaway at The Cuan. Absolutely first class food, accommodation and customer service. Peter and his team were so friendly and welcoming and couldn't do enough for us , We will definitely be back! Many thanks! Adam and Michelle - Ballyclare

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Adam D
Thank you for that delightful heartfelt review, we are not too far away from Ballyclare so hopefully we will see you soon.
Regards
Caroline, Peter & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed with Marie my wife and family for an overnight stay to celebrate my 70th birthday.
The proprietors Caroline & Peter are the perfect hosts not forgetting Colman who is a real character.
The staff are so friendly and helpful.
The bedrooms are tastefully furnished and very comfortable and clean.
The food was of a very high standard the breakfast was excellent.
We enjoyed the entertainment on Saturday night I must say that a good time was had by all.
We will be back and we shall bring our friends with us.
The Cuan has class stamped all over it

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francis m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear francis m
Thank you for taking the time to do such a wonderful review on The Cuan, I particularly like your line, " The Cuan has class stamped all over it". We look forward to your return visit francis m.
Regards
Caroline, Peter & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

After my nieces confirmation we had dinner at the Cuan. The food was beautiful, the service was excellent! Lovely friendly staff that went above and beyond to please. So welcoming and a card and gift from the the owner was very kind & thoughtful! Perfect!!! Thank u 4 a great end of a perfect day.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Carolineb27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Carolineb27
Delighted to hear that you all had a very special day for your niece's confirmation. I trust you will all hold on to those special memories for a long time. Many thanks for taking the time to feed back to us Carolineb27
Regards
Peter, Caroline & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I have just returned fro a 4 night stay at The Cuan. There should be a rating higher than is available on this site as The Cuan is easily the most friendly and customer focused place I have ever stayed at. For Peter and the team nothing was too much trouble and everything done with a smile. My room was extremely clean and comfortable with all that would be expected. A fantastic pace!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Phil
It was a delight to read your fantastic compliments, this is the essence of our success. We hope to welcome you again Phil B.
Regards
Peter, Caroline & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strangford
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
348 reviews
Dufferin Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Killyleagh
279 reviews
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fiddler's Green Bar and B&B
#2 of 8 in Portaferry
89 reviews
Barholm
#5 of 8 in Portaferry
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cuan

Address: Strangford Village, Strangford BT30 7ND, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Strangford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Strangford
Price Range: £93 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cuan 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cuan Licensed Guest Inn is a family owned and run hotel located in the beautiful conservation village of Strangford, on the shores of Strangford Lough. We offer a fantastic food experience, available all day, with a passionate commitment to sourcing local seasonal produce. At the Cuan, we believe in the personal touch that comes with a family run business – you give us our livelihood – we reflect that in the way we look after you. Plan a short break with us and explore the breadth of attractions and things to do in Co Down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Cuan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cuan Hotel Strangford
The Cuan Strangford, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing