We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay.”
Review of The Cuan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cuan
Ranked #1 of 2 Strangford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My wife and spent a week touring Northern Ireland this month. It was our first visit and loved the place! On the Wednesday we stayed at the Cuan on Strangford lough. We were given a very warm welcome by our hostess Caroline. The bedroom was lovely and the bar very friendly. we ate in the resturaunt and the food was divine. The speciality is sea food chowder and it was yummie.The next morning after a good breakfast mine host Peter came and introduced himself and entertained us with his charming Irish craick!! He had been baking scones that morning and insisted that we took some for our onward journey.he packed us four scones, jam, butter cream and knives and napkins. All this on the house!!!!Thank you for a lovely welcoming stay. Andy and Caroline Shield. Cheshire UK

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andymeatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Andymeatmah
It was an absolute delight to read your review this morning - what a lovely way to start your days work! The personal touch is one of the bonuses of staying in a family run premises, we really enjoy our livelihood. We look forward to your next trip Andymeatmah.
Many thanks
Caroline, Peter & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We visited here for the first time in years and hardly recognised the place, as always great service and fantastic food. Perfect for a family outing or gettogether. Well worth the visit we will be back

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willsbills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear willsbills
Many thanks for taking the time to do such a lovely review for The Cuan, we look forward to your subsequent visits - there is a fantastic programme of musical entertainment throughout the summer plus fantastic new summer menus going live this weekend (the favorites will still be there).
Regards
Caroline, Peter & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I've become a bit if a regular at this wonderful, relaxing bolt hole in the idllyic village of Strangford. Everything about this place can be depended upon, a rarity in this day and age. Cleanliness of the room, through to excellent WiFi, the Cuan delivers on all fronts. The food is second to none, with an imaginative international flavour whilst we were there. The standout though, is the friendliness of the staff. Definitely their strongest point, from owners through to everyone who plays a part in ensuring the customer experience is first class. I know its unfair to single any one out for special mention as its a team effort but I hope I'll be forgiven for mentioning Colman, who is just a sweetheart and the epitome of Irish hospitality, as well as rising star Ruairi, definitely a chip of the old block and a credit to his parents! The Cuan is a place that wins my vote, if you excuse the electoral reference! Very well done to everyone concerned. Can't wait to return.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Coz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Coz_11
What a delight to read this FANTASTIC review, it was wonderfully motivating to show it to all our staff and of course Colman was like a 'cat that had got the cream'!!
As you have pointed out Coz_11 these are the principals on which we run our business so all will be in place for your next visit.
Regards
Colman, Ruairi, Peter, Caroline & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Fantastic Hotel - great food and rooms. It is family run and they are totally dedicated to the finest hospitality of each guest. Breakfast is fantastic! Highly recommend a stay there lovely village and sea views

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irishcolleen49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear irishcolleen49
Many thanks for your heartfelt review, delighted to hear that you had a great stay and with Dublin being only 'down the road' hopefully we will see you again.
Regards
Caroline, Peter & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We had a lovely time staying at The Cuan !! The rooms were spacious and clean. The food was absolutely excellent (particularly the seafood chowder...). Most importantly, the thing that made our stay at The Cuan so special are the people who work there. If we are back that way we would definitely plan our trip to include another stay at this very friendly place

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Peter B
Many thanks for that wonderful review. Chowder is our signature dish and has been VERY favourably compared all round the world. Share the secret with all your connection in NC.
Regards
Caroline, Peter & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
33
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at The Cuan in Strangford recently. It's a delightful little hotel. Lovely spacious, bright, clean rooms. Great staff. Delicious breakfast. Will definitely return. Highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Member
It was a delight to read your fantastic review. Many thanks for taking the time to do it.
Regards
Caroline, Peter & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We would happily recommend this small hotel with confidence. Our booking was handled smoothly. Accommodation spacious, spotless, comfortable and faultless. Breakfast, delicious and varied. Checkout smooth and professional.

Looking forward to our return visit.

Room Tip: Front of house views over village green.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beckysharper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear beckysharper
Many thanks for your very positive review, we look forward to your return visit. look out for our wonderful programme of entertainment over the summer.
Regards
Caroline, Peter & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strangford
0.7 mi away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
364 reviews
4.4 mi away
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Dufferin Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Killyleagh
282 reviews
16.7 mi away
Strangford Arms Hotel
Strangford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newtownards
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Denvir's Hotel
Denvir's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downpatrick
113 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fiddler's Green Bar and B&B
Fiddler's Green Bar and B&B
#1 of 9 in Portaferry
96 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Old Schoolhouse Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cuan

Address: Strangford Village, Strangford BT30 7ND, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Strangford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Strangford
Price Range: £96 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cuan 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cuan Licensed Guest Inn is a family owned and run hotel located in the beautiful conservation village of Strangford, on the shores of Strangford Lough. We offer a fantastic food experience, available all day, with a passionate commitment to sourcing local seasonal produce. At the Cuan, we believe in the personal touch that comes with a family run business – you give us our livelihood – we reflect that in the way we look after you. Plan a short break with us and explore the breadth of attractions and things to do in Co Down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Cuan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cuan Hotel Strangford
The Cuan Strangford, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing