We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Irish Hospiality”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Cuan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cuan
Ranked #1 of 2 Strangford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wrexham Wales
Level Contributor
133 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Irish Hospiality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

I stayed at the Cuan for three nights whilst I was attending a Motor Sport event at nearby Kirkistown Circuit.

I was made to feel welcome from the moment I arrived and was taken to my room which was spotless,with all the features you would expect at a four star hotel.

I dined in the restaurant each evening and was spoilt for choice from the menu which featured local produce including fish from the area.

I needed to make a 7 o'clock start on the first morning, breakfast is normally served from 7.30, however the staff ensured that I did not leave the Cuan hungry.

An interesting feature of the restaurant is a wonderful model of a Galway Hooker, hanging from the ceiling, just to make it clear that is a deep keeled fishing boat which is unique to Galway Bay.

When I left the only surprise was my bill which showed what great value for money the Cuan is.

Highly recomended

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAYKAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear RAYKAV
It was a delight to read your detailed review of your stay at The Cuan and to see that all the little touches add up to make a very special experience. We look forward to your next visit.
Regards
Peter, Caroline & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    64
    15
    9
    2
See reviews for
104
192
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Sebastian de la Gomera, Spain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Great find. The Cuan is located a stones throw from the picturesque Harbour of Strangford village. Two excellent pints of Guinness served as an aperitif to a really nice meal. The menu was mostly seafood and very interesting. I chose the dressed crab as a starter followed by scampi. Both were delicious. Other choices were mussels which I sampled a couple and found them also to be delicious. I suspect that no matter what we had chosen from the attractive menu we would have been week pleased. Staff were friendly and helpful and prices were unbelievably low given the quality and presentation. Wine was also very good value. I didn't see it on the menu but the couple at the next table received a seafood platter which looked amazing and they most certainly enjoyed every mouthful judging by their reaction.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank andypsion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear andypsion
Delighted to see that you had a wonderful time at The Cuan during your trip to Ireland. There are many more delicious dishes awaiting you on your next visit. The seafood platter was on the next page of the menu!!
Thank you for sharing your experience with the rest of the world andyprsion.
Regards
Caroline, Peter & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lislevane, Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Booked The Cuan for a 2 night romantic break with my husband. This is exactly what we got. The Cuan was so relaxing. Peter and staff are very nice and friendly but not in one's face. When hearing our plans for a day trip, on a wonderful route, recommended by Jerry (hope I have name right) Peter offered us a packed lunch, fruit, water etc. On our second morning on noticing a neck complaint, he brought 2 pain killers and gel to help. This was much appreciated. He really did go the extra mile. The food was lovely - we ate in the restaurant both nights. We wanted a break away and this is exactly what we got. All the staff were lovely.Even in relation to the bill £3.25 was knocked off to bring it to an even figure. It wasn't the money but just the little gesture that made us feel The Cuan sets out to make sure one has a good experience in every way. Clonakilty to Strangford is a long way but it was great to go there. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siobhanmur1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Siobhanmur1
It was a delight to read that we had made such a difference to your romantic break, your final sentence sums it up!!
"Clonakilty to Strangford is a long way but it was great to go there. Would highly recommend"
With the great new roads hopefully we will see you for some more "R & R" soon.
Many thanks
Caroline, Peter & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Small cute little place. Peter the owner was very friendly and helpful with all types of questions. He also served us a Guinness upon arrived which was a nice welcome. We really enjoyed our stay. We stayed there during a bread festival which was lovely also.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rejser2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Rejser2012
Many thanks for taking the time to do that lovely review on The Cuan. Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay hopefully we will get the opportunity to do it all over again soon.
Regards
Peter, Caroline & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We came across The Cuan quite by accident but am very pleased we did, the rooms are spacious and bathrooms very modern and immaculately clean. We had a beer in the bar, then dined in the restaurant where we met the legendary Colman Rooney, what a character he made our night even more special. Food was excellent and we had great service, breakfast the next morning was terrific also. So pleased we had the opportunity to stay at The Cuan and meet Peter and Caroline and their wonderful staff! A truly special place to stay! Jill and Greg

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank partyburkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear partyburkes
Thank you for your delightful review, Colman certainly is a legend he keeps us well entertained on a daily basis. It is lovely to know that we really made a difference to your visit.
Regards
Caroline, Colman, Peter & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I have stayed here 5 or 6 times over the last number of years. There is always a friendly greeting. We arrived and were promptly shown to our room. The rooms are always extremely clean and quite spacious. There are tea/coffe making facilities in the room and the girl who showed us to our room brought up a jug of iced water for us (it was quite warm out).

Strangford is a small quiet village but the Cuan is the perfect place to go to recharge your batteries. We booked at short notice but got an excellet deal to include Dinner B & B. The food was typically fabulous (it always is) and Peter the owner always makes a point of speaking to everyone personally. Breakfast was lovely and we enjoyed a chat with Coleman who was telling us about how he celebrated his 80th birhtday over a year ago now and he is still working away - what a legend!. We always enjoy our short visits to the Cuan and will definitely be returning. Keep an eye on the website - there are lots of events throughout the year to entice you back. On checkout we met Peter's wife and co-owner Caroline who was equally as pleasant as her husband and very nice and appreciative of our custom.

I would not hesitate to reccommend a visit to this lovely family run hostelry.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123xilef123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear 123xilef123
I have to say that reviews from repeat customers are particularly rewarding as it demonstrates to the public our consistent commitment to you, our guests, plus the fact that we really do enjoy what we do. We look forward to the next opportunity of helping you 'recharge your batteries'.
Many thanks for the review 123xilef123.
Peter, Colman, Caroline & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We were out for a long drive with the kids and went a little too far and arrived in a lovely village called Strangford. We parked the car and had a stroll around and immediately spotted The Cuan it stood out in the village very crisp and clean looking from the outside, we looked at the menu and it had a great selection so we decided to go in and ask about accommodation for the night also.
There were 5 of us, 3 kids and 2 adults and we were greeted by a lovely women called Dolores and asked could they accommodate the 5 of us which they said no problem and gave an excellent price also because the kids were all under 13 we didn't want them in a separate room so they set up a family room to take the 5 of us. We went down to the bar for a drink and a very friendly bar man called Liam answered all the questions the kids had for him (there were loads of questions :-) ) we then went into the restaurant for a meal and we were ordering starters and a sea food platter and were told that we wouldn't need the starters because the platter had loads on it, thought this was a very nice touch and they weren't wrong and I have to say every bit of it was melt in your mouth food, full of delicious flavours even the kids got stuck in as well. I could write so much about this place in the short stay we had, its a family run business and it shows with the friendliness of all of them and how good they were with the kids. The next morning breakfast was another delight the fry was one of the tastiest ones I've had for a very long time and the kids had fresh pancakes of which there was no shortage of them. Overall this was a lucky find for us and we will definitely be back and couldn't recommend this place more to anyone 10 out of 10 for food, hospitality and friendliness

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Terry h
A FANTASTIC read!!!
Thank you for such a detailed and complimentary review with a wonderful closing summary:
"Overall this was a lucky find for us and we will definitely be back and couldn't recommend this place more to anyone 10 out of 10 for food, hospitality and friendliness"
We certainly look forward to your return visit - lots of pancakes at the ready!
Regards
Peter, Dolores, Liam, Caroline & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strangford
0.7 mi away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
19.5 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
16.1 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
17.1 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Fiddler's Green Bar and B&B
Fiddler's Green Bar and B&B
#1 of 8 in Portaferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cuan

Property: The Cuan
Address: Strangford Village, Strangford BT30 7ND, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Strangford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Strangford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cuan 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Cuan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cuan Hotel Strangford
The Cuan Strangford, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing