We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great hidden find in a beautiful village and...”
other travellers have booked this property
Main living area with kitchen, breakfast bar and extensive lounge area (4 seater/2 seater/sofa bed)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main living area with kitchen, breakfast bar and extensive lounge area (4 seater/2 seater/sofa bed)
Living area Main living area with kitchen, breakfast bar and extensive lounge area (4 seater/2 seater/sofa bed)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Main living area with kitchen, breakfast bar and extensive lounge area (4 seater/2 seater/sofa bed)
Living area
Main living area with kitchen, breakfast bar and extensive lounge area (4 seater/2 seater/sofa bed)
Four-seater sofa
Dining area with fridge, microwave, breakfast bar, toaster, kettle utensils etc.
Complimentary tea /coffee
Kitchen with fridge (continental breakfast) / microwave / kettle / toaster
Dining area with fridge, microwave, breakfast bar, toaster, kettle utensils etc.
Welcome! Decorative entrance and seating area to the front of the property
Double bedroom with en-suite / Wardrobe / Drawers / Hair dryer
Double bedroom with en-suite / Wardrobe / Drawers / Hair dryer
Doubled bed room with ensuite
En-suite bathroom
En-suite - power shower / toilet / sink
Complimentary toiletries
Timber decked stone walled courtyard and outdoor seating through double patio doors
Listed building - original stonework
Listed building - original doors
Timber decked stone walled courtyard and outdoor seating to the rear of the property
Patio doors to seating area in the walled courtyard
Decked seating area
Stonework / Lentils
Lobster pot in the courtyard
Strangford / Portaferry Ferry crossing the Narrows
Sunset on Strangford Lough
A view across the Narrows
Northern Ireland Tourist Board approved Guest Accommodation
Water sports / Sailing on Strangford Lough
Strangford Lough
Strangford castle is a simple 16th century Tower House built to control ships entering the lough
Strangford Quay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Strangford, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Irsihpete
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A great hidden find in a beautiful village and surrounding area.”
Reviewed 29 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I found this place by accident and am so pleased I did. A great find . The hosts are amazing and make your stay very inviting. The apartment has everything and the space you get is clean, modern and full of all new equipment in a period building . Will definitely stay at it again. Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort of having your own home in Strangford!
Liked least: Only staying one night!
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
october-h...
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just Perfect”
Reviewed 24 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

After trying to find local hostelry in Strangford, a kind publican recommended that we try The Castle Apartment. We booked through TripAdvisor's 'Request to Book' page and were contacted within hours to confirm that the apartment was free. With a few emails from the lovely owner Ian regarding check in times etc I arrived to a cosy warm haven away from the cold, rain and wind currently being experienced by my partner who was taking part in the Last One Standing Ultra a couple of miles away at Castle Ward. The fridge was full with lovely breads, cheeses, fruits, orange juice and milk which was a thoughtful touch. Little chocolates on the table were hard to refuse with my many coffees, which I enjoyed alongside the free wi-fi and Sky TV making it very hard to leave to do the dutiful partner bit over at Castle Ward. When we both returned very late and very tired (one more so than the other), the shower was one of the best we have used, powerful and hot ... perfect after being outside for several hours. A decent nights sleep made our visit at The Castle Apartment perfect in every way, you will not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The shower/The sofa/The free wi-fi/Sky TV/Little Chocolates .... everything
Liked least: Nothing not to like.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidrand...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 27 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Charming apartment in a lovely little village. We stayed for a few days around our wedding, which was held at Old Court Chapel. I would recommend staying here.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albert Ed...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful apartment well furnished and nice location, highly recommend it.”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

On arrival we were given a lovely welcome from Ian and Karma and informed us of local amenities which could be of interest. The accommodation is well fitted out and a nice decked area which is private and gets the sun in the afternoon to the rear of the premises was a nice place to chill out. We dined at The Lobster Pot in the evening which is only 2 minutes walk away and the food was excellent. Overall we had a lovely stay and hope to be back in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely welcome from Ian and Karma , everything in the apartment was excellent.Nothing.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scenic736...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed for one night for a wedding at nearby Castle Ward, we were met by the friendly owners who had kindly stocked the fridge with fresh fruit and bread breakfast. The apartment is really spacious and was immaculately clean, the living room area was large and cosy and had access to a sunny courtyard. We would definitely recommend if you're visiting for a wedding or to see some Game of Thrones sites!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caoimhe H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We book in for one night during gala week for our wedding night. On arrival I was greeted by the fabulous owner and welcomed in. The accommodation was second to none and we will definitely be staying there again in the future. Beautiful rooms with added personal touches that helped make our already special day that bit better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda C
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First Class Stay!”
Reviewed 15 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Castle Appartment using it as a base to explore the beautiful area of Strangford.

The Appartment is perfect for anyone looking a very comfortable and well equipped place to stay - it could not be better located.

We hope to return soon.

Colin and Linda
Enniskillen

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing