We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely wee cabin for our weekend break”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Seal Cabin

View from Seal Cabin overlooking Strangford lough
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from Seal Cabin overlooking Strangford lough
Say hello to Stevie the Seal beside our welcome information folder The small kitchen is compact but has everything you'll need.  Countertop cooker, kettle, toaster etc
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
View from Seal Cabin overlooking Strangford lough
Say hello to Stevie the Seal beside our welcome information folder
The small kitchen is compact but has everything you'll need.  Countertop cooker, kettle, toaster etc
Why not have a cuppa from our tea chest
A cast iron 3kw living flame gas fire provides great heat when its chilly outside heats up in minute
A retro radio with facility to play music from iphones
Welcome basket and honesty box for our latest guests
Welcome onboard to Seal Cabin
View from patio doors
View from dining/kitchen
View from kitchen window
View of Seal Cabin from drive way
Sean Island can be seen across the lough from Seal Cabin
Walk to Castle award take In the views
Strangford village at Christmas
Bottom of lane from Seal Cabin, walk across road and walk onto pepple beach
Fancy trying some kayaking.  View from setting off from pepple beach
Kayaking on Strangford lough from Seal Cabin
Lane way to pebble beach
Pebble beach
View from top garden of hosts house
How about some rowing - Strangford
View from Cabin
Pebble beach at bottom of drive way of Seal Cabin
Rowers out practicing today
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Beach Rental -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Strangford, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Grglyttle
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely wee cabin for our weekend break”
Reviewed 15 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Lovely wee cabin for our weekend break. Our stay was a present to ourselves as a treat for the end of the first week back to work and school after the Christmas holidays.
The cabin was cosy and well equipped for a short break. Enough room for us and the two kids, but would be a bit tight for four adults.
Spent the first morning poking about in rock-pools on the beach across the road and went for a walk behind Strangford village in the afternoon. Castleward on the Sunday.
Sonya was very welcoming, explaining everything in the cabin and had offered to pick us up from the village when we thought we were going to have to get the bus down. We hope to stay again in the late spring. Would definitely recommend to others.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2017
Hi George, many thanks for your lovely Review we really appreciate it. We are delighted you all enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you all again later in the year. Sonya and Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia...
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Cosy cabin....”
Reviewed 2 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Beautiful cabin in an amazing location. The cabin was decorated to perfection with great facilities, everything you could need and more! The owners were lovely very friendly and helpful. They had left us a selection of children's DVDs and fishing nets which our little boy loved, very thoughtful. The cabin is cosy and warm so great for winter breaks too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2016
Hi Patricia thanks very much for your Review we really appreciate it and look forward to welcoming you all again the future. Sonya and Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveNewma...
1 review
“Lovely little place”
Reviewed 16 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Charming little cabin, everything you need is there for a short break with amazing views and countryside surroundings. Friendly hosts nearby if needed. Would recommend this for anyone who wants to stay in a compact cosy and well maintained cabin.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2016
Hi thanks very much for your Review we really appreciate it and look forward to welcoming you again the future. Sonya and Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan M
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect ”
Reviewed 11 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Oh my, what a perfect little cabin in a perfect location! We were looking for a 'bolt hole' for some much needed chill out time and found Seal Cabin just outside Strangford. Not only is the location great, peaceful, fantastic views over the lough, clear night sky for star gazing but the cabin itself is just magic. An awful lot of love, care and attention has been put into making this cabin a joy to spend time in. Spotlessly clean, bright and airy, warm, well equipped inside and out, the list could go on and on! The attention to detail is lovely, little things but important things to make your stay carefree and easy. Dinky and Delightful! Sonya is a lovely lady and made us very welcome, well done to Sonya & Mark, a fantastic idea, beautifully carried out. Will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2016
Hi Joan and Sandy, thank you so much for your lovely Review we really appreciate it and are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope the 'star gazing' went well. I especially loved our little surprise of a thank you card, a nice touch from lovely guests. Look forward to welcoming you both again in the future. Sonya & Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia P
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“I love this place!”
Reviewed 5 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This darling cabin is situated overlooking the water, in a rural setting. It is very small and cozy but has everything you would need. The owners are right nearby if you need them, but you have privacy at the cabin. There was a generous amount of food, including lots of fresh fruit.
The bed was very comfortable. The cabin would be tight for more than 2 people, but could sleep up to four in a pinch.
Nearby there are castles and parks, and beautiful ocean drives.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2016
Hi Julia, thanks for your lovely Review we really appreciate and look forward to hopefully welcoming you again in the future. Sonya & Mark McAllister
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tippy L
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend break”
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed for 3 nights at the start of October and was blessed with good weather and some sunshine. Mark picked us up from the village as he was available that Saturday which was really good of him. The cabin is very quaint with everything you need for a self catering break, very comfy and cozy. Sonya left us some eggs, bread, tea, coffee, cereals, milk and butter. They operate an honesty box for what you use and you can just donate what you think is fair. The cows were very friendly and were all glad to see us one night when we got back from the village. There are 2 available bikes for guest use for a fee and we rented these to cycle to Castle Ward one afternoon. Overall, we really had a good break, we loved the peaceful surroundings of the country and the views were fantastic from the cabin. We were sad to leave which only means we will be coming back for sure. Mark and Sonya were wonderful hosts. Highly recommended for people wanting to switch off and unwind for a few days...or a week!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2016
Hi Tippy, many thanks for your lovely Review. We're delighted you and George enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you both back again in the future. Sonya & Mark McAllister
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holliec83
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
“Perfect Stay, amazing location!”
Reviewed 15 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Absolutely loved this place, exactly how it was described when booking on holiday lettings.
Sonya got back to my emails straight away and it was important that everything ran smoothly as it was a surprise for my partners birthday.
This place was what I expected and so much more.
The hosts were amazing and hung up happy birthday banners for my boyfriend.
We visited for a Game of Thrones tour and i'm so glad we stayed here and not in the town close by. The location is beautiful, we would definitely visit again. I've never been to a place like it.
The only faults I would say, as mentioned previously, there is no where to hang clothes and we got rained on one day so would've like to have hung clothes but we hung them on the chairs and dried them from the beautiful gas fire :)
Other than this maybe a socket or plug extension close to the mirror.
These were really tiny faults though, hardly worth mentioning. I would highly recommend this place, it is the best place I have ever stayed and I have travelled a lot!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and decoration/furnishings (good taste!)
Liked least: bathroom was a bit cold in the morning
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2016
Hi Holly, we're delighted you both enjoyed your stay and look forward to hopefully welcoming you both again in the future. Sonya and Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing