We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt like part of the family - hope we can stay here again!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tupungato
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Estancia Rancho 'e Cuero
Toronto
Level Contributor
71 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Felt like part of the family – hope we can stay here again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

If you are in the Mendoza area, I highly recommend taking a break from visiting wineries, and spending a day or two at this estancia. This ranch is owned by the Palma family and right from pick-up, they all make you feel like family. A huge thank-you to Paula, Leo and Tina for making our stay memorable. It was definitely one of the highlights of our Chile/Argentina trip!

We stayed for one night with 2 other couples in one of the two houses. Rooms were private complete with our own bathrooms. We went horseback riding the day we arrived and my husband went fly fishing. We had grilled meats for lunch and appetizers/crepes for dinner. Food and wine were all divine!

Scenery during the day was breathtaking, and the stars at night were out of this world. I don’t normally like going back to places I’ve already visited, but the Estancia was a great find!

Here are some notes if you plan on staying here:
- we paid 50% up front via wire transfer to a bank account in the USA
- you are sent a map to a meeting place where you can leave your car (you park your car at a school and the people who work there look after it for you)
- someone from the Palma family meets you at the meeting place and then drives you up to the ranch in a 4x4 (you cannot navigate the dirt roads in a normal car)

Highly recommend staying here.

Happy travels!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suman514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    1
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Takoma Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Riding horseback through these snow-capped mountains, and gazing out at them from a lovely terrace as we sipped wonderful local wine made us gasp at our good fortune again and again. Another happy surprise was the charming family that owns this vast and special place, and felt like good friends by the end of our stay. It is a rare but wonderful experience when traveling to have the opportunity to spend enough time to have meaningful conversations with locals, and the time with these delightful and interesting people was a highlight of our stay in Argentina. The beautifully designed and decorated small lodges they have constructed there, and the gourmet meals provided completed this exceptional experience. Our only regret was that we didn't have our whole family along with us.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucinda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed in the Estancia for 3 days as part of our Argentinian honeymoon trip. If you're after great hiking, horse riding and food then this is the place for you. After trying more than my fair share of meat on the trip I can say the meat here was the best I had. The horses are beautifully trained and the mountains magnificent. Great hosting by the family and the highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dickinsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

If you are looking for an authentic ranch experience look no further. Our stay started with our host Juan picking us up and driving to Rancho Cuero. Its a beautiful drive esp the last 45 mins and once you reach the ranch the beauty takes your breath away...Acres and acres of hills with a small river passing through...some wild animals...horses..everything a ranch ought to have and more. Juan was the perfect host..your every wish is granted.
One of the highlights of the trip was horse riding in the Andes..rolling green hills...beautiful blue stream and there were a few snow flakes coming down..beautiful...the horses are well trained and Juan went out of his way to make us feel very safe. Pedro, the gaucho will point out animals from a mile away.
After riding we had a scrumptious meal...We started with wine, cheese, bruschetta with quail eggs...while our steak was being cooked outside by Pedro, the best Gaucho ever...
The steak was excellent...my husband claims its the best steak he has ever eaten. All this was followed by homemade dulce de leche pancakes and of course lots of wine.
During our stay we constantly felt as though we were visiting a friend and staying at a friend's house. We got a great local perspective from Juan. He answered all our questions patiently.
The room was extremely comfortable..it has a rustic feel yet comfort has not been compromised....very clean and the sheets are so soft..there is a gas heater in the room.
The shower pressure is very good and unlimited hot water.
Excellent home cooked food..had some home made gnocchi for dinner..
Juan really went out of his way for us...we wanted to get money changed and he called his money changer to check the rates for us...we went for a hike and my scarf was filled with thorns which ca only be taken out by hand..Juan helped me with that...
We put our shoed out to dry and we see Pedro has put them next to the fire where they are cosy and ready to be worn again...these small instances just made the trip extra special.
In the end I would like to say:
Beautiful property
Comfortable house
Yummy food and wine
Great service
Amazing adventure options
Excellent host

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LKC008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

On our first trip to Argentina we had encountered several setbacks that delayed the "Mendoza" portion of our vacation, so by the time we reached the Estancia we were a little worse for the wear. The most challenging aspect of this portion of our vacation was finding it...as the roads & driving in Argentina are mysterious at best (road signs appear to be optional)...you may consider opting for paid transport or a hired car from the city to reduce traveler stress. Upon arriving at the meeting point (all guests are driven into the ranch in 4x4 vehicles which are needed to traverse the rugged terrain and access the secluded ranch), every second of our time on the ranch was absolute perfection. We felt we had arrived in the one of the most picturesque, breath-taking landscapes with the most gracious hosts who quickly felt like family friends. We travel a great deal and there is no hyperbole involved when we say that every need you anticipate is already taken care of in this idyllic, private getaway. While the cost is not nominal, it is well worth every penny to be assured that you are getting the best cuisine, bottomless wine, company, and experience. Based on our entire time in Argentina (11 days), we unanimously agree that this ranch experience was the absolute highlight. The typical travel anxiety of the unknown and unanticipated is completely removed and all that remains is the warm, accommodating, friendly, unique experience of spending memorable time in the middle of the Andes with an extraordinary group of people. Juan and Ana were the most gracious and personable hosts. On our second day on horseback, we arrived at a glacier where Pedro (the resident gaucho) cooked several filets over an open fire which were paired with fresh, warm bread, arugula, red peppers, and locally procured wine packed in on horseback. With no exception, we can honestly proclaim, that the meat we shared in the Andes that afternoon was the best filet mignon we have ever had the pleasure of consuming...sweetened, no doubt, by the exceptional hosts and bucolic landscape. For all our meals back at the ranch, Roxana (sp?) prepared ample, home-cooked meals of fine dining quality and variety (including hand-made gnocchi, fish, crepes, flan, dulce de leche, grilled local meats). Our only thought upon leaving this amazing place was how can we get back here as soon as possible with the rest of our family. The dual haciendas would provide the perfect setting for several couples (or families) to create an experience of a lifetime. We cannot thank the Palma family enough for joining us in creating such a beautiful memory.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chrisandchantelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

Our travel agent booked a day trip to this Estancia, a family-owned and run B&B where you can visit for a day of horseback riding, food and wine. The hospitality this lovely family showed us made this day one of the highlights of our South American trip. It began with pick up at our hotel and continued with the 1 1/2 hour drive, a lot of it off-road, to their ranch at the base of the gorgeous Andes. When we arrived we chatted with the family--parents, 5 daughters and a son-- played boce, drink lovely local wines, had a delicious BBQ and then rode their wonderful horses in the Andes. It doesn't get cooler than that!

There is the opportunity to stay at the Estancia and the guests looked very happy. I see from other reviews that this is so. Whether overnight or for the day, this is an experience not to be missed.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AsISeeIt37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Hill VA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

My family of four visited Rancho e Cuero Estancia as part of a 5 day visit to Mendoza. Our day with the Palma family at their stunning property in the mountains was the highlight of our 2 week trip to Argentina. From the moment Juan and Clara met us to navigate the private winding road to their estancia to the end of the day when we said goodbye- tired, sore (3 hours on horseback) and happy) our experiences were a dream come true.

Our day trip began with warm and delicious croissants, fruit, coffee and tea as we sat on their deck and watched the happy horses graze on the mountainside. We saddled up on the most beautifully groomed horses who obviously enjoy much TLC from the Palmas and Pedro, the gaucho. We are dog lovers, and also enjoyed the company and antics of Camel, a big and friendly Golden Retreiver who accompanied us on our ride.

During our horseback ride, we traveled over and through some of the most stunning scenery of all varieties-over crystal streams, through wildflower meadows, across desert terrain and beautiful long pampas grass. We were fortunate to see large groups of guanacos on the mountain tops, as well. The horses were beautifully behaved and responsive. At our turnaround point we could
see the glacier in the distance and played with Camel at the rushing waterfall. If you are a nature lover or photographer you cannot miss this experience.

After our ride, we were treated to Roxanna's delicious and abundant homecooked meal with empanadas, guacamole, fabulous Argentinian beef, sausage and ribs, fresh salads, a special vegetarian stuffed pepper for our daughter, dulce de leche crepes and amazing, non-stop Malbec wine.
Our conversation with the warm, intelligent and authentic Palma family was as enjoyable as the food; we felt we were dining with friends.
Our day was not cheap-in fact it was a real splurge, but completely worth it! Go!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank virginiafoodie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tupungato
8.9 mi away
Auberge Du Vin, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
19.2 mi away
Cavas Wine Lodge
Cavas Wine Lodge
#1 of 4 in Lujan de Cuyo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
22.6 mi away
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
#2 of 4 in Lujan de Cuyo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Estancia La Alejandra
Estancia La Alejandra
#3 of 10 in Tupungato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
8.8 mi away
Estancia San Pablo
Estancia San Pablo
#5 of 10 in Tupungato
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
4.4 mi away
Finca Atamisque
Finca Atamisque
#4 of 10 in Tupungato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia Rancho 'e Cuero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia Rancho 'e Cuero

Property: Estancia Rancho 'e Cuero
Address: Ruta 89 S/N | La Carrera - Tupungato, Tupungato, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Tupungato
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Tupungato
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privacy, warmth, tradition, nature, peace, adventure and entertainment live in harmony with nature in 3000 hectares of this fabulous land. Rancho ´e Cuero, which has belonged to the Palma family for more than 200 years, opens it´s doors to fulfill the most demanding visitor’s needs offering the most exclusive personalized attention.Enjoy our traditional argentinian barbecue and outdoor activities such as horseback riding, trekking, trout fishing and 4x4 excursions or just relax in this fascinating setting in the heart of the Andes mountains, home to diverse number of flora and fauna species such as guanacos, condors, foxes, hares and an amazing variety of birds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Estancia Rancho 'e Cuero Tupungato, Argentina - Province Of Mendoza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing