We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning Setting and Superb Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lefay Resort & Spa Lago di Garda
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Gargnano
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stunning Setting and Superb Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

My husband and I have been to Lefay the past 2 autumns and will return again this fall. A mind/body "tune-up" is a great way for us to kick-off a 3 to 4 week tour of Italy.

The owners, management and staff of this spa resort aim for a very high standard of service and hospitality --- and achieve it.

Great consideration has clearly gone into every aspect of the property including its construction. In fact, the design and execution of the building(s) is both an achievement and a highlight. It is stylishly 'modern' but sensitive to its surroundings and where possible --- and to a high degree --- environmentally conscious in its use of sustainable materials. This, combined with its position on a hilltop creates a dramatic setting with stunning views of Lago di Garda and surrounding mountains.

The location is in a lesser tourist-frequented area of Garda and worth the slight detour. It is private and substantial property. There are a variety of great --- and vigorous --- hiking trails that lead from the hotel with some culminating at the most extraordinary belvedere's/mountain tops. Bring hiking shoes!

At its heart, Lefay is a Spa --- a serious one. The actual Spa facilities are superb and beautifully executed with 5+types of sauna/steam room --- including our favourite made from olive wood. The Spa services themselves are professional and therapeutic and my husband remarked he had the best therapeutic massages of his life from "Fernando" (and he's had 100's).

As others have noted the entire property, rooms and facilities are kept immaculately clean. The rooms themselves are large with very comfortable beds and great baths. We prefer the lower rooms with terraces overlooking the Lake (the upper rooms have balconies).

Food selection and quality range from very good to excellent and they have a very good wine cellar (it is an Italian spa after all). We chose to have a meal plan and overall value was high.

Both the general manager and a member of the owning family are seemingly always on property and ever vigilant. They are approachable and gracious with any requests or problems. We look forward to our return this fall!

Lastly, one Trip Advisor member posted a comment titled "Arrogant" to lament about being denied access to LeFay to "check it out". How is this a review and why would Trip Advisor allow the resort's average rating to be undermined this way? Coincidentally, my husband and I once popped down to the Villa Feltrinelli (where the reviewer was staying) and were also denied entry, but we would not for a moment have the temerity to denigrate on Trip Advisor that superb hotel simply because of their no visitor policy.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ajyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,891
    274
    60
    14
    12
See reviews for
247
1,596
56
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergamo, Italy
Level Contributor
125 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

Bear in mind this place is in the middle of nowhere and that it doesn't come cheap.
Apart from that, I have only positive comments. Spacious and clean rooms with a nice view, Sky TV available if you are a football fan. The SPA is nice, the resting area a bit small - it was very crowded when we were there. Heated outdoor pool, 4 different saunas plus an area only for women. I read of people complaining about the food: I really can't. Ok, it is not going to be a fast dinner - but is it supposed to be? Anyway, very nice buffet on top of a la carte menu - all included as well as the breakfast. We have been overall happy about the quality of food as well. Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bridgerobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2010

We stayed in the Lefay for 4 nights and would have loved to extend! It's such a beautiful Hotel, with a great location overlooking lake Garda. Rooms are superb, great Spa and pools. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eltrocador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

Our stay at Lefay was actually a gift from some friends for my partner's birthday, and this probably made it an even greater (and less expensive) experience. Location is astonishing and the view is wonderful, especially if you are looking at it from a heated pool: :) Service and food were also great (welcome drink, delicioud wines, etc) but the best was the shiatsu massage and other treatments of the SPA. The only point to be made is that outdoor walks are not clearly indicated and are difficult to find.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bipedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
128 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 512 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2010

The reason for my going to Lefay was because I successfully bid for a two night stay there at a charity auction for a childrens charity. The pictures in the brochure looked lovely so I bid for it with the intention of taking my friend for her birthday.
Once if had "won" the prize I read the reviews on Trip Advisor and was concerend that some were not very positive so didn't go with very high expectations at all.
How wrong those reviews were, at least from the experience we enjoyed during our brief stay there.
It was late September so it was quite quiet but the weather was perfect. The hotel was reasonably busy but you still felt your space was not invaded by the pools or in the restaurants.
When we arrived at the Verona Airport, Lefay had sent a limo to collect us and took us to the resort. Check in was friendly and informative and we were shown to our room which was lovely and well equipped apart from the lack of tea or coffee making facilities. I know this is a spa and therefore they encourage you to drink herbal teas but I do think tea and coffee should be provided in the rooms.
The room was very clean as was the bathroom and separate toilet and the beds comfortable.
Dinner was delicious and the service excellent. We went to the bar after dinner and enjoyed listening to the musicians while having a night cap before bed.
I am a light sleeper but did not hear any noise from the road which other reviewers have complained about, in fact it was very quiet.
Breakfast is good and caters for anyone really, there is a cook making eggs cooked to order and lovely crispy bacon as well as a wide range of continetal breads and fruits.

We spent most of the day by the lane infinity pool. Other guests ranged from a couple of families with small babies to retired well heeled healthy couples. There was plenty of room around the pool for everyone to have ample space. The only thing I felt the resort fell down on was service by the pool, there was none. The pool bar was closed and my friend wanted lunch. They brought a menu but it only consisted of ice cream or sandwiches, she ordered a tuna fish sandwich and expected something to arrive on wholemeal bread with a salad garnish and what she got was processed white sliced bread with no garnish at all, It was totally out of keeping with everything else about the resort and very disappointing. They really should have someone who can bring drinks to guests around the pool and offer a better quality poolside menu.

What Lefay really excells in is its treatments in the spa. I had a massage and postural treatment from the physiotherapist. I have suffered from a bad back for several years and have had numerous massages, and osteopathic treatments but my neck was never cured. The physio at Lefay is also a cranial osteopath. He was very gentle, no jerky movements at all and has completely cured my neck and back. This man truely has miracle hands.
My friend had two massages and she said they were amazing, both of us have been to spa's but none of the treatments matched the quality and benefits of those we received at Lefay.
We also enjoyed a 20 minute session in the salt water lake which is recommended.
Dinner the second night was again good as was the service, the next day we reluctantly packed and the limo took us back to the airport. Sadly our stay was not long enough

I would definately recommend Lefay Resort and Spa to anyone who wants a peaceful and tranquil relaxing holiday. It is 6km up the mountain from Lake Garda and therefore quite remote. The view and setting is spectacular but to be frank the treatments and spa are truely incredible.

I will definately be returning, often and soon.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slj60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2010

The facilities are spectacular, the service wonderful, the food terrific, the spa service to die for. I had the best facial of my life and I have had lots of facials. The facility is spotless. I have very serious allergies and this resort strives to reduce potential allergens. The hikes in the mountains were wonderful. The view of the lake amazing and the infinity pool over the edge of the mountain takes your breath away. We will return soon.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRCBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

hotel is fantastic and also the staff. especially at the reception.
The room is big, moder and it has all the confort.
the food is good. i really liked breakfast!
i have been in this hotel 3 times .. i feel at home!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonaaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gargnano
16.7 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#1 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
9.4 mi away
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
#3 of 70 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Aqualux Hotel Spa & Suite Bardolino
17.0 mi away
Aktivhotel Santalucia
Aktivhotel Santalucia
#1 of 32 in Torbole
5.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
16.8 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 32 in Torbole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lefay Resort & Spa Lago di Garda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lefay Resort & Spa Lago di Garda

Property: Lefay Resort & Spa Lago di Garda
Address: Via Feltrinelli 136, 25084, Gargnano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gargnano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gargnano
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gargnano
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gargnano
#2 Family Hotel in Gargnano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lefay Resort & Spa Lago di Garda 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lefay Resort & SPA Lago di Garda is located in Gargnano, one of the most picturesque villages on the lake. The Resort, the first to be awarded the prestigious 5-star superior rating on Lake Garda, is situated inside an 11 hectares natural park in the heart of the spectacular and renowned "Riviera dei Limoni", surrounded by gentle hills and natural terraces rich in olive trees and woods overlooking the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lefay Resort & Spa Lago di Garda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lefay Resort And Spa Lago Di Garda Hotel Gargnano
Lefay Hotel Gargnano
Lefay Resort & Spa Lago Di Garda Lake Garda/Gargnano, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing