We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel, fantastic location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Lac

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gargnano
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel du Lac
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Gargnano
Certificate of Excellence
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, fantastic location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We spent four days at Hotel Du Lac between travelling from the hustle and bustle of Milan and to the hustle and bustle of Venice; needing peace and relaxation, that's exactly what we got. We opted for a 'lake view' room and were lucky enough to have one of the two rooms with their own small terrace. Not that we needed to use it, as the sunbeds on the main terrace were never occupied.

Our host couldn't be more helpful, like the rest of the staff, and always very friendly. The breakfast was excellent and eating it whilst looking out on the lake just added to the charm.

When we return to the lake, this will be our hotel of choice - highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adamflewers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    27
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
143
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner have just returned from a four day visit to lake garda. This hotel is in a beautiful location, set right on the lake with no noise or distractions. Gargnano is a far cry from the hustle and bustle of limone or malcesine but has a convienient boat service to take you all around the lake. The staff are helpful and friendly. This hotel made our time at the lake so relaxing and peaceful. Couldn't recommend it more.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Have just returned from a five day stay at the Hotel Du Lac and have nothing but praise for the hotel, it's staff and the location. A charming retreat away from the busier resorts, unbelievably quiet even in August. It is ideally suited to couples who like us just wanted to relax in comfort with a good book enjoying the fabulous views from the hotels balcony and sun terrace, where we also took breakfast and dinner (both excellent quality and value for money). We stayed in one of the less expensive rooms without a lake view, but the room itself was spotlessly clean and comfortable. The decor throughout is unpretentious and homely and the hotels calm ambience means that you immediately relax. The hotel is right on the waterfront in the pretty village of Villa, with a smattering of good restaurants and one shop for provisions. A five minute stroll to The slightly larger town of Gagnano, equally unspoilt and laid back. Thoroughly enjoyed swimming in the wonderfully clear water of the lake, both from the hotel and the local lido. Thank you Valerio for a wonderful and memorable stay - we will definitely be back.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Return visit for 3rd time albeit was booked out when we dropped in last time without a prior reservation. A first class small private hotel so prior booking probably essential. Very welcoming owners and staff. In house dining on balcony in the evenings would be hard to beat for menu and view. We are from Australia and will try to visit again.

Room Tip: Lake front room if staying more than one night. Lower level desirable if you find stairs difficult.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
373 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We did not stay at this hotel, but one further down the road called the hotel Gardenia which is run by the same family. We came here to eat at the restaurant and we were not disappointed. The food here is just as excellent as the Gardenia and we had a great table overlooking the lake. The staff were attentative and friendly.

Definately one of Gargnano's best

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

We will certainly try to stay here again. Gargnano is one of the least-spoilt of the Lake Garda towns, and Hotel du Lac has a great lakeside position, so you can swim easily. Breakfast on the terrace is excellent. But what really makes it special is the friendliness of the family who run the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

The hotel came highly recommended to us and it did not disappoint. We arrived at 10pm after a rather frenetic car journey from Milan airport and, despite our being far too late for dinner, a meal was quickly rustled up for us on the terrace overlooking the lake and this, together with a couple of glasses of red, set us up for the rest of our 5 day stay. The food was wholesome whether at breakfast or dinner with a variety of options available but the main attraction at any meal was the lovely view of the lake with mountains in the background. Our room was spotless and well furnished but a lift would have been handy as we were on the top floor. The owner and his staff could not have been more helpful and attentive and i would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to our friends , in fact we have already done so.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gargnano
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gardenia al Lago
Hotel Gardenia al Lago
#3 of 18 in Gargnano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Meandro
Hotel Meandro
#7 of 18 in Gargnano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Europa
Hotel Villa Europa
#6 of 18 in Gargnano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baia D'Oro
Hotel Baia D'Oro
#13 of 18 in Gargnano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Garni Riviera
Hotel Garni Riviera
#8 of 18 in Gargnano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
16.7 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 32 in Torbole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Lac

Property: Hotel du Lac
Address: Via Colletta' 21, 25084, Gargnano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gargnano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gargnano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gargnano
#4 Family Hotel in Gargnano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Du Lac is a small hotel, almost a private house, full of atmosphere, peace and comfort, and it is the ideal spot for an absolutely relaxing stay, steeped in the gentle atmosphere of the lake, and cradled in our magical old-world charm. The bedrooms are charmingly appointed with original period furniture. The hotel also has a restaurant where traditional local and national dishes are served accompanied by genuine wines from various Italian regions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Lac Lake Garda/Gargnano, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing