We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem of a hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Lac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel du Lac
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Gargnano
Certificate of Excellence
Storrs, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A gem of a hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Although we booked too late to get a room with a view of the lake, we enjoyed our stay at Hotel du Lac in Villa di Gargnano. The beautiful terrace and dining room are right on the water. Our room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. The proprietor, Valerio, spoke excellent English and was extremely helpful about things to do and travel arrangements. The breakfast buffet was ample.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DONALD B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    27
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
143
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walldorf
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Spent 4 beautiful nights at the hotel and same amount of days in around the area. Hotel has 11 rooms. We had room nr . 10 top floor, no-one can look down at you from above, you can look down at others but wouldn t disturb me if was on one the lower floors, 3 floors in total, no lift. Owner was very nice and offered to cary the suitcases upstairs. Fantastic terrace out on the lake where you can lie in the sun, have drinks and dinner. Food was good, had 4 breakfasts and 2 dinners there. Breakfast room is out to the lake as well and there are some tables on the outside too for good weather. Can highly recommend the hotel without exception. The area is ideal for hiking, activity on the lake, taking the local boots to other towns on the lake, no car needed really.

Room Tip: I would always take the top floor, rooms 9 and 11.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simon g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

We visited Lake Garda back in September 2013 and it was a truly relaxing experience. Hotel Du Lac is an absolute gem of a hotel in a tranquil part of the lake. It is a small and intimate hotel and the staff are friendly and very helpful. Equally they will leave you alone if you just want to chill out on your private terrace/balcony - the perfect hosts!

Gargnano is a really lovely place to stay and there are many wonderful places to eat all within walking distance from the hotel. However, the Hotel Du Lac also has a restaurant and we ate there twice during our stay and the food was delicious. Breakfast was really good with lots of choice and the local ducks bob around on the lake outside the terrace, absolutely charming!

There is a good ferry service from Gargnano that will take you to many other towns on the lake so no need to hire a car. We enjoyed our trips out but were always glad to return to the peace and quiet of the village. There are a couple of little beaches within walking distance of the hotel and swimming in the lake was very refreshing! I would definitely recommend that you visit the tourist office in Gargnano, they are really helpful and gave us some very nice local walking routes to explore.

Overall, we would highly recommend staying at Hotel du Lac if you want a truly relaxing holiday in style and comfort. We wish we were still there!

Room Tip: Worth paying a little extra for a lake view - you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayhill, New Mexico
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

This was our first trip to Lake Garda and our experience at Hotel du Lac was excellent and we will definitely return. It was raining when we arrived and our host graciously moved his car from in front of the entrance so we could unload our luggage without getting too wet. And then the maid carried our bags up to the room. This is a beautiful hotel, the food is great, and the staff very friendly. Our room was clean and comfortable. Valerio was very helpful with sightseeing suggestions and ferry schedules. We had a great dinner on the terrace. There are also excellent places to eat within a short walk of the hotel. Gargnano is a good base for visiting the lake and a quiet retreat after a day of getting out among the crowds in the larger villages along the lake. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lcbulldog66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Wonderful location on the quiet side of the lake. The hotel is well cared for with a charming and relaxed ambiance.Very good breakfast with fresh coffee, some unusual fruit choices and yummy pastries. No elevator but they are quick to help with the bags. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keepercoming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Perfectly positioned at the water's edge, this lakeside hotel is an ideal base from which to explore the delights of Gargnano and the many other Lake Garda resorts. We stayed for a sunny week in September and loved every minute of it. The Hotel du Lac has old fashioned charm. It is a cosy, family run hotel where you will be looked after in a friendly and efficient way. Our knowledgable host Valerio was always pleased to answer our many enquiries and questions about the area. We had a top floor room (9) overlooking the lake with wonderful views. The rooms are comfortable and well kept and the staff always happy to assist with one's requirements. Check out the hotel's website for details and photographs. An earlier review complains about the lack of restaurants and pizzerias in the area. Well that is complete nonsense. There are many excellent places to dine within easy walking distance. As for the necessity of hiring a car to get about that is also unrealistic. The many ferries on the lake make the use of a car unnecessary. There are also buses to many locations passing through Gargnano. We're most definitely intending to return next year!

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms are highly recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tekeela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We returned to this beautiful small hotel following our sensational stay last year. We requested and occupied Room 9 again (lake view - three flights of stairs but well worth the climb!). Once again, we were utterly bowled over by the location, the welcome from the family and, as before, the antique piano. Liz Taylor's diamonds could not sparkle more brightly than the early morning sun on the shimmering lake outside our window and throughout the day. We returned to the Lemon Grove Walk just along the lane and enjoyed an almost personal tour (only one other Italian couple) from the owner himself, a wonderfully knowledgeable and modest elderly gentleman who refused to accept payment, and whilst none of them spoke English, it was huge fun translating the sign language with the help of a few French words thrown in! We hope to return to Hotel du Lac again and again as Gargnano has totally captured our hearts and minds. Thank you, Valerio, and family.

Room Tip: Submitted by Gabriel, Surrey
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gabriel1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gargnano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gardenia al Lago
Hotel Gardenia al Lago
#3 of 18 in Gargnano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Meandro
Hotel Meandro
#7 of 18 in Gargnano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Europa
Hotel Villa Europa
#6 of 18 in Gargnano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baia D'Oro
Hotel Baia D'Oro
#13 of 18 in Gargnano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Garni Riviera
Hotel Garni Riviera
#8 of 18 in Gargnano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garni Bartabel
Hotel Garni Bartabel
#17 of 18 in Gargnano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Lac

Property: Hotel du Lac
Address: Via Colletta' 21, 25084, Gargnano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gargnano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gargnano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gargnano
#4 Family Hotel in Gargnano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Du Lac is a small hotel, almost a private house, full of atmosphere, peace and comfort, and it is the ideal spot for an absolutely relaxing stay, steeped in the gentle atmosphere of the lake, and cradled in our magical old-world charm. The bedrooms are charmingly appointed with original period furniture. The hotel also has a restaurant where traditional local and national dishes are served accompanied by genuine wines from various Italian regions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Lac Lake Garda/Gargnano, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing