We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So elegant”
Review of Hotel du Lac

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gargnano
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel du Lac
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Gargnano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Have you ever taken a boat ride a round a lake and spied a lovely hotel with a beautiful balcony and guests clearly enjoying a glass of wine and the view? And then you think to yourself, 'Wouldn't that be lovely?' Welcome to Hotel Du Lac. What a wonderful place! We had lake view rooms, each of which has its own little balcony. The rooms are well appointed and, for such an old building quite spacious. Absolutely gorgeously furnished with real antique suites - very comfy bed and pillows. We ate at the hotel restaurant twice for dinner. The service was impeccable and the food was brilliant, very generous portions. Our host was incredibly helpful and very friendly. I honestly can recommend it enough. It was the perfect place to spend our 20th anniversary treat to ourselves.

Room Tip: I would definitely go for a lake view room. Rooms 1 & 2 open out on the main balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel for its name and its lakeside location on the less touristy western shore half-way up the lake. The water laps at the breakfast terrace while families of ducks, swans and fish swim just a yard away. Obviously the lakeside rooms have better views but our top-floor back-facing room was very comfortable and recently renovated and perfect if you are out most of the day. It has been in the same family for 3 generations and Valerio its current custodian speaks several languages and is very accommodating and helpful with information and advice. Dinner on the terrace named after the beautiful long boats that train before your eyes as you dine is excellent. A short stroll in either direction takes you to a harbour or beach and Gargnano itself is well placed to visit the rest of the lake or explore the mountains behind. We loved it all.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We were so pleased with our choice. The owner was amazingly attentive. Owner speaks English well. Food so good. We even ate there when we moved to another hotel as they were full. Lovely traditional rooms with small bathrooms and English tv channels. Beautiful views. Pefect for our family holiday as we took our elderly parents(85 yrs plus). Helpful staff. Small hotel. We booked too late to have a room with a view but don't let that worry you. We tried to catch the Ferry to Limone but the ticket man thought it very amusing to leave us(four people who had just paid) on the side whilst the ferry left the shore(we thought our ferry was still coming). Quick to take our money but not interested to help at this government run ferry service. He was the only person I swore at in Italy and he deserved it!

Room Tip: Front room but the back ones are good too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChintaSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Had four nights here. Fantastic place, small, quiet & relaxing. All the staff are excellent & friendly, nothing is too much trouble. The restaurant is great. You can sit on the lakeside & feed the ducks & swans whilst you eat....
Parking is nearby for the car & perfectly safe. Gargnano is just 5 mins walk up the road where there are lots of other restaurants on the harbour front. All in all a wonderful relaxing stay.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel is real find! From the moment we arrived we loved the ambiance of this hotel. We were looking for a quiet break by Lake Garda. Hotel du Lac is a very special hotel. It is situated away from the main road, right on the lakeside. It has 12 rooms which are beautifully decorated with period furniture and all have air con. The rooms with views over the lake are best. During the day there is a lovely terrace with parasols and sun loungers and a dining room / terrace for meals. The "a la carte" menu is excellent with plenty of choice and those on "half board" choose from a very good special menu. All of the meals which we had were excellent; as was the wine list. The hotel owner Valerio, the Arosio family and all the staff were very helpful and offered excellent advice and service. We felt as though we were house guests. We were so thrilled with this hotel that we spent most of the days on the terrace looking out over the lake. You can swim in the lake; there is direct access from the hotel. It is a very good base from which to explore the Lake Garda region by car or ferry. We cannot fault this hotel in any way and we are looking forward to spending another holiday at this hotel very soon. Thank you, Valerio, for making our stay so restful.

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Just returned from 5nights at Hotel du Lac.lovely small hotel full of old fashioned charm. The staff were very friendly and helpful.the restaurant served excellent food. The dining room and terrace have superb views which made dining something to really remember. It is well worth paying for the lake view , as it was stunning at any time of day.
The village was very quiet but had lots of character and enough restaurants to keep anyone happy!

Room Tip: Go for lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Although we booked too late to get a room with a view of the lake, we enjoyed our stay at Hotel du Lac in Villa di Gargnano. The beautiful terrace and dining room are right on the water. Our room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. The proprietor, Valerio, spoke excellent English and was extremely helpful about things to do and travel arrangements. The breakfast buffet was ample.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank DONALD B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gargnano
0.5 mi away
Hotel Garni Bartabel
Hotel Garni Bartabel
#18 of 19 in Gargnano
24 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Tre Punte
Hotel Tre Punte
#3 of 3 in Navazzo
69 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Meandro
Hotel Meandro
#9 of 19 in Gargnano
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baia D'Oro
Hotel Baia D'Oro
#8 of 19 in Gargnano
51 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Garni Riviera
Hotel Garni Riviera
#12 of 19 in Gargnano
91 reviews
16.7 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#3 of 33 in Torbole
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Lac

Address: Via Colletta' 21, 25084, Gargnano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gargnano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gargnano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gargnano
#4 Family Hotel in Gargnano
Price Range: £96 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Du Lac is a small hotel, almost a private house, full of atmosphere, peace and comfort, and it is the ideal spot for an absolutely relaxing stay, steeped in the gentle atmosphere of the lake, and cradled in our magical old-world charm. The bedrooms are charmingly appointed with original period furniture. The hotel also has a restaurant where traditional local and national dishes are served accompanied by genuine wines from various Italian regions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Lac Lake Garda/Gargnano, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing