We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean Hotel with Friendly Staff”
Review of Hotel Villa Europa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Europa
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Gargnano
Certificate of Excellence
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very Clean Hotel with Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed here whilst looking for venues for our wedding in 2014.

After a horrible experience at the camping del garda in peschiera, we booked this hotel the same day and turned up a couple of hours later to a very friendly owner.

The hotel is easy to find, just off the main road, and had it's own car park, though this was a little cramped.

The hotel was very clean throughout the reception, hallways, dining room, toilets and bedroom. The bedroom itself was downstairs and was equipped with a large double bed, dressing table, bed side tables, cupboard, safe, TV and en-suite with toilet, sink and shower.

The buffet breakfast was good with plenty of choice and plenty to go around and whilst I never ate in the restaurant for tea, the local town is less than 5 minutes walk away with some nice eateries.

Unfortunately, there were some negatives: the walls were quite thin and I could hear the TV and laughter fom the room next door; the pillows were like bricks and the bed was pretty solid. Having said that, I'm sure the owners would have sorted something out if we had asked before booking or mentioned something when we were there

Overall there were some good points and some bad points about the hotel and I would call it an average hotel with above average staff.

  • Liked — The friendly and helpful staff and cleanliness
  • Disliked — hard bed/pillows and thin walls
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    29
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
51
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This hotel is run to a high standard by 3 sisters, Liliana, Silvana and Domy. They make you most welcome and are very helpful during your stay. Gargnano is a lovely lakeside village and the hotel is a short walk from the centre. However beware there is a fairly steep but short hill to the hotel if on foot. The car park is adequate but small and at times it is a difficult manoeuvre onto the main road. During our 7 night stay we had the first night in a first floor room with a balcony and lake view and the remaining nights on the second floor with no balcony or lake view. However we preferred the second floor room as it was much larger and has easy access to the roof terrace which has adequate seating and fantastic views. Breakfast is good and plenty of tea and coffee are provided. Overall an excellent stay that we would recommend to others.

Room Tip: Book a room on the top floor as the views are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TerryFindonValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed for a week at the Europa Hotel in August 2013. We had a room with a lake view which provided a panoramic vista over Lake Garda; owners and staff extremely helpful; great breakfasts. The swimming pool is a 2 minute walk but is in a idyllic location amongst olive groves. Gargnano is a lovely village; very unspoilt and good restaurants.

Room Tip: Recommend Lake View room; quieter and for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnR1924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

This is a relatively small family run hotel and during our stay we've been made to feel very welcome. The staff will speak English if you need it, or, more frequently, German to the many German guests here.
Our room was a standard double. It was spacious and comfortable and cleaned spotlessly every day. Although we had no air conditioning a ceiling fan has three speeds and, though I feared I wouldn't sleep for the heat, I had no problems in sleeping through the night.
Breakfast is in the form of a buffet and there was plenty to choose from. Four different cold meats, a variety of cheeses, tomatoes, cucumber, olives, cereal, fruit, muesli, yogurt, home made jams, bread, Danish pastries and fruit juices. Served with your preferred coffee and a boiled egg if you want. We didn't eat lunch on any of our 15 days' stay!
The swimming pool is lovely. The sun loungers are really comfortable, offering a face shade if you desire. The pool is set in delightful grounds in a large walled garden. It's tiered and loungers are by the pool or dotted about around the olive trees.
The hotel is on a busy main road, so if you're not used to traffic noise at night it could be problematic. Also, the pool is across and a little way down this road that has no pavements.
The free Wi-Fi is rather patchy. It dropped out quite regularly, sometimes for 10 minutes at a time.
The car park is not big enough to comfortably accommodate all cars easily, however, if the owners know the car park is getting full, they listen out for cars pulling in and ask you to block other cars in, providing you let them have the car keys in case they need to move it. It wasn't a problem, and their solution is the best compromise, allowing all guests to park in the hotel grounds, but it's something to be aware of.
Finally, not all rooms have a balcony or terrace. But for those that don't there are many tables at the front of the hotel, several on the breakfast terrace and more on the hotel roof that has stunning panoramic views.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fluffychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights. There were four of us and we booked two rooms, one on the first floor and one on the second floor. The second floor room cost a little more than the first floor room because the upper terrace lake view was on the same floor. The rooms were clean and tidy, but the bed in the second floor room could have been better - it gave both my wife and I backache. The staff were very friendly and helpful and they did what they could to improve the bed. The breakfast and the service were excellent and you can eat inside or out on the lower terrace with a lake view. We drove to Lake Garda from Venice in a hire car and although parking was never a problem the hotel car park is quite limited with a tricky exit on to a busy road. On the whole we were very pleased with the hotel and the staff and we would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a second floor room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed at this lovely small hotel for 6 nights in the very pretty village of Gargnano and fell in love with the place. The hotel is run very well and to a high standard. All the staff are friendly and helpful and we were made to feel extremely welcome, nothing is too much trouble. Our clean and comfortable room had fantastic views over the lake and the generous buffet breakfast on the patio was a great way to start the day. The pool area over the road is set in beautiful gardens. We had a fantastic time at this great little hotel!

Room Tip: Go for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I stayed at Hotel Europa for a few days during a business conference. I was very pleased with the room. It was very clean, tidy, and comfortable. I had a balcony that looked up over the mountain-side. I was pleasantly surprised with the attentive and friendly service. There was always someone at the front desk, whether it was 6am or 11pm. For a small family-owned and run hotel, this is exceptional service, especially in Italy, where 'normal' business hours seem to be from only 9am to 2pm. Also, they have free wifi, which I have also found to be scarce in Italy relative to the United States. My only complaint would be that the walls are a little thin, but that is not unexpected in an older villa this this one. Overall, I think this hotel is a great value.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GotMilkanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gargnano
0.9 mi away
Hotel Gardenia al Lago
Hotel Gardenia al Lago
#3 of 19 in Gargnano
190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meandro
Hotel Meandro
#7 of 19 in Gargnano
178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garni Bartabel
Hotel Garni Bartabel
#18 of 19 in Gargnano
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Palazzina
Hotel Palazzina
#11 of 19 in Gargnano
62 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garni Riviera
Hotel Garni Riviera
#9 of 19 in Gargnano
85 reviews
15.9 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Europa

Property: Hotel Villa Europa
Address: Via della Repubblica 38, 25084, Gargnano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gargnano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Gargnano
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gargnano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Europa Lake Garda/Gargnano, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing